2/20 Baby G AMPS 282 PMPS 357 +2 350? +6 278

PMPS super disappointing. I just don't understand what's going on. She's eating very well, even eating more wet food again, and I haven't caught any low numbers that could be causing a bounce. This is stressing me out because it seems so senseless. :arghh:
 
He just needs to get to a good dose to break out of these numbers. If you are following TR, you can increase every 3 days till you see nadirs below 200.
 
I'm trying to follow TR but where we fail to 100% follow it is that she doesn't want to fully give up eating dry, but I'm paying attention to how much she eats of wet and dry so if there's a day she eats mostly wet, I can watch out that it may lower her numbers. Going to get a +2 check before bed and plan to get another test sometime during the night, probably a +6. Hoping to see some improvement. Just hoping that whenever she does break out of these horrid numbers, she won't do something crazy and drop like a stone. :nailbiting:
 
Took a +2 and had some testing strip issues; got a 485, tested again and got a 392; finally got a "good" sample and it was 350. :banghead:
 
And you said she won't eat low carb dry or they don't agree with her tummy, right? Young Again or Dr. Elsey's? Both have different flavours you could try.
 
I was going to try the Young Again but then was afraid to mess with her stomach since she's always been sensitive, but maybe what I should do is get a sample or small bag and just give it to her as a treat at first and see how she reacts.
 
The internal med vet said a few months ago if she's consistently over 300, to put her back to 3.5. Seems like that's the direction we're going. :( I hate that I messed us up by holding lower doses too long. That's the only thing I can figure.
 
I was going to try the Young Again but then was afraid to mess with her stomach since she's always been sensitive, but maybe what I should do is get a sample or small bag and just give it to her as a treat at first and see how she reacts.
Young Again has a LID variant which does not have chicken for cats allergic to chicken. Dr. Elsey's has half a dozen variants with different proteins. Cats often get a tummy upset from changing foods too soon. You want to phase out the old one slowly.


The internal med vet said a few months ago if she's consistently over 300, to put her back to 3.5. Seems like that's the direction we're going. :( I hate that I messed us up by holding lower doses too long. That's the only thing I can figure.
Yes. Holding doses too long when they numbers are high can lead to glucose toxicity - which means their body gets used to higher numbers and develops a temporary form of insulin resistance.
 
For the longest time I thought she was allergic to chicken but her current food she's been on since diagnosis (Purina DM) is chicken flavored, so not sure what to think. I see on the Young Again site the one you mentioned, as well as a Zero Mature.
 
With TR no dry is allowed. Since Baby is a long term diabetic and was DKA you could lower the reduction number though. Any lurkers be aware this is only suggested in certain situations and not for newly diagnosed. For most it’s best to follow the method you choose as written.
 
Back
Top