2/2 Stu AMPS 341 +3 266 Dose increase this evening??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=47086#p47086

Good morning and Happy Groundhog Day! We are now using the ReliOn Ultima meter for tests. It will be interesting to see how the ratios among the numbers compare to the True Track (which apparently is not reliable, as I found out from reading other posts). Stu is behaving normally, but continuing to drink a lot of water and produce a lot of urine. Ketones negative, as far as I can tell. This evening we will begin a new 3-day cycle. I am inclined to increase the dose because the bg numbers, although lower than when we began this 3-day period at 2.0 units, are staying pretty high (mostly pink). I would appreciate your advice. If it is determined that the dose should be increased, should I up it by .25 or .5? The go-slow approach (.25) might be the way to go at this point in Stu's "journey". Tilly Protocol could be read either way. Many thanks for your help. I feel that I am finally beginning to appreciate how tricky feline diabetes is!!! I wish I had begun home testing years ago instead of just going once a month to the vet!!

Ella
 
Re: 2/2 Stu AMPS 341. Dose increase this evening??

Hi Ella

no suggestions on the dose Q, but I will say let's see how the day goes and hopefully someone will give u feedback on that.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 2/2 Stu AMPS 341. Dose increase this evening??

Hi Ella,
this will be your 6th cycle at this dose. See what your nadir number is. That will be your guide according to Tilly as to whether you should increase by .25u or.5u.
Also going with what you feel comfortable with is important.

His numbers are heading in the right direction, really good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/2 Stu AMPS 341. Dose increase this evening??

You have had nadirs that are under 300 and Stu is not on a high dose of insulin.

Tilly Protocol said:
...if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

If you are following the protocol, Stu's dose would be increased by 0.25u this evening barring any blue or green numbers this cycle.
 
Hi Ella,

Things are looking really great!
I would agree with an increase of 0.25.

Keep in mind that there can be an increase on the second/third day after increase of dose. Might happen or not. :smile:
If it does, don't get frustrated.

Looking really good! Keep on going... :mrgreen:
 
Hi again and thanks for the advice. I really appreciate your input and your experience. I will definitely go with the .25 increase, not the .5. Today's +6 is 289 (but it may be a bit of a food spike, since he eats "lunch" about an hour before +6). I think he'll get lunch from now on (when I'm home and can monitor him) just after the +6 test. I'm encouraged by his numbers. I won't be able to get a +9 today, but will aim for a +10. Also, I just realized that after AMPS I have to be out for most of the day tomorrow and won't be able to monitor his numbers on the new dose until probably +9. Therefore, perhaps it would be best to postpone the dose increase for 24 hours, starting tomorrow (3 Feb.) at PMPS.

Special thanks from Stu to you all!

Ella
 
Just to clarify a learning point Ella.

The reason .5u was mooted was because since you stopped the 4u doses, you were still getting nadirs above 300.It's jut to move kitty into safer numbers quicker.
Your 279 was borderline and hence stating you needed to wait till +6. If that +6 has got a food spike number in it, then yep.25u good call.If he'd been over 300, then it would have been a .5u increase as per Tilly Protocol.

It's up to you, but with being in high yellows and pinks his increase in dose on his first shot is highly unlikely going to put him under 50 in the cycle.
However, it's entirely up to you, he's your boy and you need to be comfortable with what your doing.
 
Hi Ella
You are doing a great job with Stu. You will learn more every day and start to feel more comfrotable and some of the concepts of the protocol will feel more natural to you.
You should spend some time reading others people's condos just to get more of a feel what goes on.
You don't always have to post just read and look at ss's.
It takes a bit of time, but you have great supposrt here.
Good luck. We will be watching you and Stu.
 
Hi Ella and Stu,

I second (or third or forth) the 0.25 increase tonight - again, as mentioned, only if you are ready and willing and comfortable.

You may no see any immediate impact from the new dose until a couple cycles into the dose - but again, you might also get some new dose wonkiness. You take the dosecrease when you feel it's best.

Hang in there!
 
Hi! Thank you all for your advice and support. PMPS is 394. I decided to increase the dose this evening by .25 to 2.25 units. I have been reading other bean's posts and learning a lot. This is a wonderful group of caring people (and a great group of cats). I'm going to try to get in as many bg tests tomorrow as my schedule permits, but I probably won't be home to get the +6. Thanks again.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top