2/19 Stormy AMPS 189 +5 146 PMPS 167 Dose Reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

StormysMom

Member Since 2017
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-169-2-111-3-150-12-111.173367/#post-1899242

After skipping last night's shot I was really surprised to have a normal AMPS number. I'm guessing this is th depot working? Anyway, we're reducing to .25 units today to see if we can make a twice a day schedule work for our girl.

Side note: diet change makes a world of difference for some cats! Our vet thought she'd need a bigger insulin dose but we've done nothing but decrease over the course of a month
 
Diet change especially early on is key to possible remission. Stormy will need to turn mostly green numbers before she's ready for remission. This means you will likely need to get comfortable shooting lower numbers and monitoring. We're here to help and guide you. I hope she does well on the .25u!
 
Hopefully you'll get some numbers that you will feel comfortable shooting twice a day.

Bear in mind that the although the slgs guidelines at first talk about not shooting below 150 when you have not data, with time, confidence, data and if you can monitor, you may want to consider shooting lower in an attempt to flatten out Stormy's BG.

You can also use higher LC food to bump his numbers up to enable you to shoot twice a day and give some continued insulin support while he flattens out.
 
I'll certainly need you wonderful people to hold my hand through that. I'm terrified of a hypo!!! But luckily she never shows giant drops so that's some what reassuring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top