2/19 Smudge AMPS Hi (750+) Bounce PMPS Hi (750+)

Astexcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-18-smudge-amps-350-pmps-316.225830/

Hi all, last nights +8 was 273 so I'm guessing after that she dipped lower and her liver freaked out again.

Not that I have many increase cycles to go off of, but so far (2 of 2) this has happened around the 6th or 7th cycle on Levemir. I'm guessing that's when her depot gets fully stocked. It will be interesting to see if we have a similar pattern on the next increase.

Have a good day.
 
Any lower number could have happened yesterday or last night - it appears Smudge is used to 'high places' - perfectly normal reaction by her liver to unload - it'll get better as time goes on...
 
I'm just happy her SS is no longer only black numbers, and she is obviously feeling better/more active/grooming again, so I can see the progress. Her body is just fighting it every step of the way.
 
No fur shot this morning (or at least, I didn't feel wet/smell insulin) but is it possible her BS dropped so low again today during the day it bounced again? Definitely going to have to take some extra readings tonight....I'm officially confused now.
 
The problem with Smudge right now is she's so used to those high high numbers that anything in the 200's would probably be a shock to her system...and she continues to unload that stored up glycogen to 'save' her...

Please try to get a mid-cycle test tonight just to confirm that she is getting a beneficial dose - the dose will be bringing her down. I presume you're at work during the day and cannot test?

Also I can't tell which protocol you're using. Your SS says 'vet' in that spot...please read the protocols and choose SLGS or TR based on how often you can test, etc. looks like it might be SLGS? If so, tonight is the 10th cycle on this dose...I believe on SLGS you have to hold the dose for 14 cycles...so a few more days...

And one other comment, do you have a human meter? Human meters will show lower numbers than AT2 - all the protocols are written using human meters...you may want to try it instead of the AT2 and see if those readings change a bit...
 
Have the human meter, but they max out at 600, and since she was regularly reading higher than that, I was waiting to switch until most of her readings were under that. I suppose hi is hi, but I liked the additional relative scale of how high when using the Alpha Trek.

Yes, work during the day and so far she won't let hubby test her to pull middle of the day numbers so I try to grab extra data at night.

Updated the spread sheet so it's not listed with accurate information, unless there was something else I missed.

Again, I have to remind myself we just switched insulin's, and have only been working on this since December. It feels like forever, but really hasn't been that long overall.
 
Yes, the SS is up to date - I see it's SLGS now - thank you!

Yes, I see that you've just started Lev on 2/7 and have increased three times...so it looks like the next increase may be tomorrow - if held for 10 cycles without seeing a green number, I believe you can move up again.

Let's hope that's the dose that brings the magic.

Have a great evening!
 
We have you on a slightly accelerated increase schedule, due to the higher numbers and playing a bit of catch up from the transition to Levemir. Feel free to increase to 3.75 units tomorrow. A little more insulin can also help lower some of those higher numbers.
 
Back
Top