2/19 Oscar amps 97 +10 33 pmps 137 - Day 2 of Levemir switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36795&p=387023

Well we decided to go ahead and switch to Levemir now instead of waiting. Waiting a few weeks was only going to be for me to try to get more out of our lantus vial and not for Oscar. Ever since opening up that vial his numbers have been peppered with yellows.

So my boy apparently really likes the Levemir. I know it is still too early to truly tell, but we are in the middle of our 3rd cycle and the numbers look great! Our initial levemir dose was 2u, but that was looking to be way too much, so I dropped it down to 1.75u last night. I still may have to drop it from there once things even out. Our lantus dose was 2.75u.
 
Re: 2/19 Oscar amps 97 +4 134 +7 48 - Day 2 of Levemir switc

Good luck with the Lev., Kelly. Rusty likes it, too (he had already been switched from Lantus when he came to live with us, so I have no real basis for comparison, but it does seem to produce nice gentle curves). How's Yoda doing?

Have a great weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/19 Oscar amps 97 +4 134 +7 48 - Day 2 of Levemir switc

Yoda continues to be solidly OTJ dancing_cat

He still has a lot of issues with mouth inflammation/stomatitis though. I think this was the underlying cause of everything and the original owners didn't want to divulge the mouth problems. He got 4 depo shots with them, probably for the mouth, and that I believe is what sent him into diabetes. He had a dental back in August 2010 and has been on pulse therapy of clindomyacin. I started giving him coQ10 a few weeks ago, and this has helped some. The inflammation has gotten bad enough that he can't eat non-pureed food, and even then still hits bad spots in his mouth. I have to sit with him stroking his back while he eats so he associates food with good feelings.

There is a new compounded medicine coming out from the late Dr. Wigg's practice in Dallas - Dallas Animal Dental Clinic. Supposedly they have had a good success rate with this medicine, and we are in line to try it too. Just waiting on the non-disclosure statement and info to be faxed to our vet here in Indiana. If this doesn't work, then our other options are cyclosporine, or a full mouth extraction. :cry:
 
Re: 2/19 Oscar amps 97 +4 134 +7 48 - Day 2 of Levemir switc

Oscar sure does like Lev. Jazzy likes it too. :smile:

Unfortunately stomatitis is common in meezers, especially (for some reason) the wedgies. There are lots of beautiful cats running around with no toofies. It does seem to make them a lot more comfortable, though.
 
Re: 2/19 Oscar amps 97 +4 134 +7 48 - Day 2 of Levemir switc

Well he took a nose dive at +10 even with food in his system and went down to 33 :shock: So we lowered the dose AGAIN down to 1.5u. Hopefully that won't take him down too low. It was looking like he was going to bounce hard from that 33, but he is back down to 73 at pm +4. The number rise was only due to his regular food.... no MC or HC given because he tends to be carb sensitive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top