2/19 Missy AMPS 326 +2 301 +5 259 +10 367 PMPS 342 + 3 203 +5 130

DanaB

Member Since 2020
last post 2/17

Should i raise her dose?? My vet seems concerned that her BG will suddenly drop when the baytril kicks in...and that she is already being overdosed causing the bounces (I do not think she is being overdosed). This dose is not crazy high for her. And for the most part I can test and keep a close eye on her. I was wondering if I should raise the dose then give more carbs from +0.5-+3 if needed and see if she levels off a bit. Or do I assume that AM spikes are due to pain or discomfort. But even then her nadir is mostly in the 100's.

FYI - Missy started Baytril on the 17th for urinary infection - bacterial... and it might be also in her kidneys so we are doing baytril for 30 days. To prevent her dives I am continuing to give a little boost of carbs at +1.

This is my current daily rountine with her
gave 1/4 tsp of 9% at am+1, gave 1/4 tsp of 9% at pm+1, free fed 2%- 4%ps-+5, 0-2% snacks from +5-10 *Probiotics am, Baytril +3, Slippery elm PMPS

TODAY - She has been very hungry this morning... most likely because of her high BG. She did not eat all her food overnight, but she has eaten 2x 3oz cans in 2 hours this morning.

Im not sure why her BG is spiking overnight. Im going to try giving the slippery elm at + 7 to see if that does anything. I find she is sensitive to random stuff sometimes.
She is acting pretty normal.
 
She does look like she could use more juice. An infection can raise BGs. You test enough, so as and when her infection clears and her numbers improve, you can catch any drops and reduce her dose, as necessary.

@tiffmaxee
 
Hi there! I agree with @Bandit's Mom that she could use more juice . She has cleared the bounce from her recent green numbers . And as said , an infection will cause higher numbers. The AB should be kicking in by tonight or tomorrow so test enough to catch any sudden drops.
 
There is a small chance she didnt get her full dose today. She was quite squirmy... she doesnt not like being touched when her BG is high. Grumpy cat:(

I will raise her dose to 1.25. If she starts to trend low I may not wait for her to earn a reduction, depending of the situation I might play it safe and drop her dose when I think she needs it.
 
I totally agree that an increase is a good idea. You know the signs that her BG is dropping and infection plus not enough insulin is a recipe for problems. How is she doing with the Baytril? Eating and drinking enough?
 
I totally agree that an increase is a good idea. You know the signs that her BG is dropping and infection plus not enough insulin is a recipe for problems. How is she doing with the Baytril? Eating and drinking enough?

Yes... she was ravenous this morning, then eating pretty normal through the day. Also still pretty restless...although sleeping now. Its like she exhausts herself:( Im not going to give the slippery Elm anymore, maybe I'll revisit it later. I gave it earlier today to see if it affcted her BG. Im not completely convinced its causing the BG spike but it wouldnt be the first time she reacts to something random. (Only ingredient is pure slippery elm bark powder)
 
PMPS - she is only fasted for an hour. Because I knew she was already so high at +10 I gave her some water with a teeny tiny bit of food. I felt so bad because her number was so high and she was asking. She usually knows the routine so well so it was odd for her to be at her bowl. Rough times for her right now:(
 
It's good you increased. For cats used to lower numbers, higher numbers don't feel very good. Keeping her below the renal threshold will also be less strain on her kidneys.
It's okay to feed within the 2 hour window when numbers are high. The 2 hour window is more relevant for newbies who don't have experience with insulin or dealing with lower numbers.
 
Pm+3... I didnt get a chance to check her at +2 because we are having some plumbing issues. I'm feeding her some 6%carbs now. She definitely seems like she is feeling a bit better.
 
Back
Top