2/19 Kitty AMPS 101 - Skip Dosecrease, & Better news

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Member Since 2009
ETA: See below for dosecrease decision.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6691 - dealing with Kitty's post-dental return to eating.

101 is not bad for a kitty who missed TWO shots on Wednesday and ate 13% carbs for 24 hours. I'm guessing the 101 is both shed refilling and the impact of the HC food?

Today completes Kitty's 7th day (mostly) green, which would allow a dosecrease. One view would be we should stabilize a bit longer from the dental, let the shed fill, clear the HC food. The other view - :mrgreen: - is that Kitty's numbers through the dental were incredibly stable. He seems to be ready for less insulin.

Wiser minds advise, please!

p.s. He is eating the mashed up FF pretty well and has more energy. Gulping has pretty much disappeared.
 
Re: 2/18 Kitty AMPS 101 - Take scheduled dosecrease?

Kathy and Kitty said:
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6691 - dealing with Kitty's post-dental return to eating.

101 is not bad for a kitty who missed TWO shots on Wednesday and ate 13% carbs for 24 hours. I'm guessing the 101 is both shed refilling and the impact of the HC food?

Today completes Kitty's 7th day (mostly) green, which would allow a dosecrease. One view would be we should stabilize a bit longer from the dental, let the shed fill, clear the HC food. The other view - :mrgreen: - is that Kitty's numbers through the dental were incredibly stable. He seems to be ready for less insulin.

Wiser minds advise, please!

p.s. He is eating the mashed up FF pretty well and has more energy. Gulping has pretty much disappeared.

happy to hear the gulping is going away! how does he seem to be feeling today?

dose --- i think we'll have to take our cues from kitty. the AD has 13% carbs which *could* mean you'd want to stay at 1u a bit longer. i'm thinking out loud here so bear with me... you talked about the possibility of giving him some kind of a maintenance dose of bupe or something else for pain. are you doing that? just asking because we know pain/discomfort can also raise numbers. if you're giving him something to take away any discomfort he might be feeling... he may very well require less insulin.

there's really no cut and dried answer about decreasing at this time. you gave him 1u this morning. i'd get a mid-cycle spot check or two to see how he's doing and re-evaluate towards preshot time. we're going to have to watch him and adjust accordingly. there are some kitties who race through reductions after coming off dentals.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 2/18 Kitty AMPS 101 - Take scheduled dosecrease?

Jill, thanks.

No, I did not give Kitty any bupe. His numbers were low Wed., and I wanted him to eat; also, Jess pointed out that bupe is not a long-term pain management med. Once Kitty started eating yesterday, I thought I'd hold off.

Kitty IS feeling better today. He went on the porch, and he is now on his window perch looking at birds. He ate a good FF LC breakfast.

Maybe he is not in acute pain all the time from his condition. He has always liked to have his jaw rubbed; it may ache, but that wouldn't suggest acute pain.

Question: How long does HC food take to clear the system? I stopped feeding A/D around midday yesterday.

My gut feeling is that Kitty can handle a reduction, but he's been through the wringer. If he doesn't go low today, we can certainly wait another cycle or two.

I have to leave the house at some point this afternoon, but I'll get at least one check.
 
Re: 2/18 Kitty AMPS 101 - Take scheduled dosecrease?

oh good! it does sound like he's feeling better! :-D
see what you get at spot check time. i put a LOT of stock in a caregiver's gut feelings... especially a caregiver who has been at this as long as you have been. i doubt he'll notice a shave.

ps - i would *think* the effects of the hc would diminish today. unfortunately, i can't say for sure.
 
Re: 2/18 Kitty +2.5 78. Talked with vet tech

It's nearly +6, and Kitty just snacked. Will get anothe spot check after it clears.

I spoke with the vet tech who performed Kitty's dental cleaning. (The vet didn't want to talk with me until the specialist weighed in!)

She was so well informed, and so clear. I feel reassured that Kitty is probably not in severe pain from his mouth. Highlights:

- She said that often, cats with pain will have more tartar on one side, because they're favoring a sore side. Kitty's tartar was evenly distributed. As for pain for both sides, she said that his coat is good, and he is "in good flesh" ( :mrgreen: ) , indicating that he is grooming and eating, and therefore probably not in severe pain.
- She had examined the x-rays (radiographs). The teeth that have root resorption have no nerve left -- meaning that he is likely not in severe or chronic pain.
- The vet's notes discussed a "dangling" tooth, which made my skin crawl. She explained that he meant the root was completely absorbed. The tooth is sitting in the gum. Doesn't sound comfortable, but again, there is no tooth nerve left.

If this were her cat, she said she would not treat for ongoing pain.

She also raised the question of whether the inflammatory process was related to resorption or cancer; that's the big issue. With his bone in this condition, taking a biopsy big enough to determine this would be delicate, with a risk of injury to the jaw.

It is her understanding that there is one tooth that is an appropriate target for removal. The specialist will have more to say, hopefully on Monday.

Meanwhile, Kitty is eating, purring and watching birds. He clearly feels better. Me too. :smile:
 
Re: 2/18 Kitty AMPS 101 - Dosecrease, & Better news

i'm glad you were able to speak to her. this report makes me feel better, too. :-D
 
Re: 2/18 Kitty AMPS 101 - Dosecrease, & Better news

Very nice WCR, especially considering everything Kitty has been through this week. :)
 
Re: 2/19 Kitty +11.75 93 - hold off on dosecrease

Um, it's Feb. 19, not 18.

I think we'll hold off on the dose shave. He has been through a lot this week, missed two shots, shed could be refilling.

We'll consider it tomorrow.

He is doing MUCH better this evening! Sat on my lap to be petted and purred up a storm. Curious again, too. :-D
 
Glad to hear that he must not be in pain (with the nerve being gone). That must make you feel so much better. :mrgreen:
 
I like this condo today, it's much improved over yesterday. :smile: IMHO holding the dose for now was probably a good decision, there's no reason to rush.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I like this condo today, it's much improved over yesterday. :smile: IMHO holding the dose for now was probably a good decision, there's no reason to rush.

Now that I've proved I'm not racing to the finish line... how about a decrease tomorrow??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I like today's condo better too. cat_pet_icon
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Now that I've proved I'm not racing to the finish line... how about a decrease tomorrow??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

You tricked me!!!!

You can shave when you think he's ready.
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Libby and Lucy said:
I like this condo today, it's much improved over yesterday. :smile: IMHO holding the dose for now was probably a good decision, there's no reason to rush.

Now that I've proved I'm not racing to the finish line... how about a decrease tomorrow??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I like today's condo better too. cat_pet_icon

i think we should hang this pic in your condo permanently:

cats-animated-gifs-2.gif


lololololol!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top