2/19 Jax- Figures when I take the night off...177 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Wonderful People! ~O)

Where do I even start...? Last night I gave Jax 1.2u of insulin...was content with his +4 and decided to call it a night and miss nadir. I needed sleep, after all one needs more than 2-3 hour snatches of sleep at a time, no?

Well I wake up to a 177 AMPS. Retest was 184. What the heck took place overnight??

Super annoyed that I was duped. DH was up last night watching movies and I should have instructed him to get a +6 but I just hate how Jax's ears look after he gives a test. (Pretty red and irritated, so he gives tests on an emergency basis.) He always watches TV with Jax in the room so I know if anything was amiss he would see it... I hope. :roll:

Waiting on our +13 which I will take in a few minutes. Now what the heck do I shoot??!

Edited to add the recap:
PMPS 325 1.2u given and DM fed. Higher carb than FF.
+2 353 Figures this is the DM. I'm fine with that as I don't want him hitting nadir too low.
+4 245 Ok with this #. Going to get some sleep...
AMPS 177
 
That's great Lisa! Yay!
Well that's high enough you prob don't wanna skip so your choices are shoot a reduced dose or wait to shoot and keep testing. I never can figure out what reduced dose I should shoot, and I like to keep momentum going, so I usually wait and shoot. But that messes up the schedule. What are you thinking?
 
+13 is 203.

Not sure what to do in this instance. I really don't know...
Thinking about going with 1u but that did not hold him. This is a hard one.
 
203 is the lowest PS he's had in a while! Thinking about giving the 1u instead of waiting for the rise. I havent given anything yet.
 
You will be around to test today, right? And we know you can bring him up with food if you have to.
 
Yep. Going to stick with the DM and give 1u. Out at nadir for a facial ( out for 2 hrs max as it's close to home...5 mins away) but dh is home and knows what to do. He's been initiated into the hypo club. :-D
 
Yay! I am psyched for you guys! Fingers and pink kitty toes crossed for you here. Hoping for some good Sunday numbers!
 
Alrighty, Jax! Me likes the lower numbers, even if it does mean scratching our heads over dose. I think your logic is pretty darn good, Lisa, as always. :-D
 
Good morning to you both!

I too wish I had gotten up and found a nadir... but I did manage to get some of that ever-elusive sleep as well! So I guess it was a fair trade-off!

FWIW: When Gray has had a low pmps or is just starting to climb past my threshold of 200, I've always been instructed to do a 1/2 dose of whatever I've been shooting.

Lu-Ann
 
Grayson & Lu said:
FWIW: When Gray has had a low pmps or is just starting to climb past my threshold of 200, I've always been instructed to do a 1/2 dose of whatever I've been shooting.

Lu-Ann

Lu-Ann...please don't make me go crazy. :-| Just kidding...kind of. :lol:
 
A half dose is not a bad idea...BUT...with Jax' propensity for sky rocket numbers with too little insulin, I think dropping .2u was the right way to go. Especially since you'll be home most of the day to monitor. :-D (I think of it as a mini sliding scale.)
 
My family all call me TT. :-D (Short for Aunt Teresa)

I understand I tend to be a bit heavy handed with dosing...but it's important to me to try and keep BGs as low, but safe, as I can for the overall health of Poopy. If Jax were Poopy, I'd have gone with the 1u and not half a dose. When Poopy had a lower than normal AMPS, and I was normally shooting a 1.4u, I shot only 1u. It was too little. For me, dropping back a little works much better than dropping back a lot. (For me it's like a roller coaster when the dose is changed too much.)
 
not trying to make you crazy...

Grayson RARELY climbs fast, so I'm confident that's some of the reasoning behind the half dose recommendation I received. The way Jax's numbers run, it probably would NOT be recommended for him. More support for the ECID philosophy!
 
What I did to make myself comfortable in shooting low numbers
is really kind of experimenting...
every time I got a low number I would drop say .5 one time and see what happens
if he went too high because he didnt have enoungh insulin, so the next time
I would shoot .4...etc etc until I figured out what I could give him
ina low preshot safely.....(for the most part)
 
I decided to reduce to 1u today and it just wasn't enough to see him to the end. Let me recap the morning cycle:

AMPS 171 Waited till 203 and gave 1u and fed DM. I fed a little more than usual, just in case. I wanted that cushion.
+1.5 287 This is the DM
+3 228
+5 164 Liking this..this could shape up very nicely.
+7 147 Convinced he's going to surf some blues here...
+11 432 Whaaaat?!? Retested to 422. Goodness... :roll:

Can only say that I think the 1u did not have the duration it needed. Not sure what else could have happened. Shot early and fed. 1.2u given. Rats.

I think if I had to do it all over again, I would have made the same choices. It doesn't feel as if I made a bad decision... IDK I guess I should have waited another 30 mins to shoot the 1.2u. That would have been the solution. Pretty sure now that 1u is off the table. On all three cycles that I have given 1u he's ended up with a red PS#. Not enough insulin. Lesson learned.
 
I agree it was still a good call this morning. The cycle numbers weren't bad at all. It did peter out too soon, as you say. Poor Jax. That new vial really threw him for a few loops. It looks like he's settling in though. :-D
 
Hard decision, Lisa. Yes, it looks like being a little more aggressive is what he needs, but it's hard. You are doing a great job. Every cycle gives you a little more info for the next one.
 
Good Luck! It is all about gathering data and after today, you learned that 1 unit leaves you consistently with red preshots!

Hopefully tonight will be a GOOD cycle and you can get some sleep!
 
kse said:
Hopefully tonight will be a GOOD cycle and you can get some sleep!

Had a nice long nap during the day, was dreaming of a blue surf... :lol: Tonight, I'm not missing nadir.

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, it looks like being a little more aggressive is what he needs, but it's hard.

I agree. Dh kind of gave me 'The Look' when I got his last read. He leans toward the aggressive side with everything. Just a jump in there kind of personality. I woke him up to ask him what he thought in the morning. He was groggy and was mumbling, "1.2...go with 1.2...". Although I'll never admit to him that I heard it. :-D

He can't be right. :mrgreen:
 
Well, you had a nice day except for the pmps. We have to be a bit more agressive with our guy too (or at least we used to, who knows now), but it’s hard to advise someone else to do that nailbite_smile
More info gathering today, now you know.
 
Pretty good night!
and Jax had a good duration on the 1.2 with a nice yellow preshot!!
great call! you are awesome!

love the comment on the husband, I do that too!
"oh I am sorry honey, I didnt hear you!"

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top