2/19 Hogan PMPS 77

Hogan

Member Since 2018
Last Post (1/28)

Hi everyone! I haven't posted in a while as we have just been trucking along at a .25U dose and I've been catching up on work and sleep :bookworm::).

If anyone has any feedback on Hogan's SS, it would be much appreciated. I'm not sure if I should just keep on keeping on, or make any adjustments.

A few things to note:
  • I tried reducing him to < .25U on 1/29 but realized after a couple of days, that what I thought was < .25U was actually nothing. I started getting a couple of numbers over 150 on the AT2 so I decided to go back to .25U.
  • I looked at using digital calipers, but I don't think I'll be able to manage using them at the moment.
  • He started to have more blues than greens, so I decided to try bumping him up to .5U on 2/17, but he immediately went low, so I dropped him back to .25U.
  • His AMPS and PMPS are not fasting.
  • On 2/5, I started reducing the amount of food I'm offering him, and he seems to be staying satisfied for longer. I rarely see him coming to the bowl during the day now. I'm trying to get him to lose a little weight very slowly.
  • He usually eats after AMPS and then usually does not eat again until the +9 to +11 time range.
  • I've noticed the longer he voluntarily fasts, the higher his BG. Then after he eats, his BG drops back down. I don't understand that at all. Yesterday (2/18) is a good example. He ate after his AMPS, then didn't eat anything until +9. His +8 was 184 and his +10 was 105.
 
So today was an example of the BG rising as he didn't eat. He didn't eat from about +2 until +10. I tested him at +10 and he was 185. He ate maybe two bites of food and then left. I tested him at +11 and he was 157. After that he ate a good amount, and his PMPS was 77. I tested a second time right after just to be sure and it was 85.
 
Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-28-hogan-pmps-133.210041/
In between now and then, I notice that you had several tests below 68 on the AT while at 0.25 units. Even with TR, that would have earned a reduction to 0.1 units, much less with SLGS which has reductions earned below 90. For his safety, please reduce the dose. An inverted curve, with kitties on a small dose, can sometimes be a sign of too much insulin.

Can you count the number of drops in your 0.25 units dose? Try twisting the plunger to squeeze out a drop, try to make them consistent sizes. Then once you know how many drops in 0.25 units, you can do a dose with half those many drops.
 
I did link to my last post, but I see it's hiding above my greeting :)

I just tested this. I measured .25U and then pushed out three drops, the last one smaller than the size of the first two. I also tested if I just put pressure on the plunger, insert it into the pen, and let go and withdraw it, I get one drop. So should I:
  • Measure .25 and squeeze out one drop, leaving two drops
  • Measure .25 and squeeze out two drops, leaving one drop
  • Use pressure on the plunger to withdraw one drop
I'm also planning on switching to a human meter at this point. I'll make the changeover clear in the SS when I do.
 
With SLGS, that 77 again earned a reduction. I would try measuring 0.25 and squeeze out a drop. Call that 0.1 units. Save that pressure on plunger for a one drop dose, if you end up needing to go there. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Back
Top