2/19 - Harley - Do we shoot? PMPS 78

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
I don't know shootable numbers yet with Harley. At 176 a few hours ago he was screaming for food so we fed him, now 78. Do I wait a few and t test again and if he's going up shoot? Do I shoot a full dose or a token dose?

Right now I don't have the ability changing his schedule. Meaning if he looks good in an hour to shoot I can't change his time for his morning shot so I would end up skipping the shot.

Thanks for any advice.
 
I am also curious to see if he is still dropping. I sat dinner down and he only ate a little bit of it and then covered it with a piece of paper he drug over from my bedroom. So I'll wait a few minutes and test again and see if he's dropping if he continues to drop and since he won't eat dinner. Should I try to feed him a small pinch of kibble? Again that's only if he's still dropping...

P.s. sorry for random edits, on my cell phone.
 
Sorry no one got to you earlier. Under 90 is not shootable if following SLGS. 101 would have been, provided you could monitor and have plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case, and felt comfortable shooting this low. However, you fed him at that 78, so we don't know if that 101 is food influenced and higher than it would have been if you hadn't fed. In other words, we don't know if without food he would be at a safe number to shoot.
 
Sorry no one got to you earlier. Under 90 is not shootable if following SLGS. 101 would have been, provided you could monitor and have plenty of test strips and high carb food, just in case, and felt comfortable shooting this low. However, you fed him at that 78, so we don't know if that 101 is food influenced and higher than it would have been if you hadn't fed. In other words, we don't know if without food he would be at a safe number to shoot.

No worries at all! I do have the means... And so I made a decision tonight... My first actual decision I feel like so a bit nervous. But from how I know he reacts currently and such at +0.5 he was 110 so I did a token of 0.25 to give him something... Since he usually is no stranger to bouncing pretty decently. I have all the means to test him all night long and HC food if need be.
 
Next time, no matter how much he begs, don't feed him.....We need to know if his numbers are continuing to fall or if they start to climb on their own without food.

When you "stall", it's important that you don't feed (although you may have to go out for a walk for 20-30 minutes until it's time to test again!! ;) )

I'd plan on getting a +1 and +2 tonight so IF you need to intervene, you can do it early.
 
Back
Top