2/19 - Gen, AMPS 93, +3.75 66 (meter), +8 75 (Libre), PMPS 322

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Good morning, folks. Gen has been a bit more resistant to subsequent blood tests since that first one last night ... I'm not completely confident about this preshot value, especially as I did get a bit less blood (although it seemed ample compared to what I remember from all those frustrating attempts back in 2021). That said, I wasn't ready to earn a "balls of steel" award when I wasn't fully confident about my ability to monitor him properly afterwards, so I elected to shoot a half dose.

My vet doesn't open until 11 on Thursdays, and I'm not sure CVS will give me more sensors just one day later without the vet's office signing off. Also I'm still pretty wiped out; I had a lot of trouble getting to sleep last night after all that chaos. So my plan right now is to go back to sleep for a little while and then see if I can get a +3 test, and then try and get a new Libre. Sigh.

Wishing you all a pleasant day, and safe surfs to your kitties!
 
Congratulations on shooting your first green!! It doesn't matter if it's a half-dose; shooting greens takes courage. You've earned this...

1771517036903.png

Good luck with getting everything worked out with the Libre sensors. Hope you get some good rest and are feeling a bit better after your crazy day.
 
Yesterday

Good morning, folks. Gen has been a bit more resistant to subsequent blood tests since that first one last night ... I'm not completely confident about this preshot value, especially as I did get a bit less blood (although it seemed ample compared to what I remember from all those frustrating attempts back in 2021). That said, I wasn't ready to earn a "balls of steel" award when I wasn't fully confident about my ability to monitor him properly afterwards, so I elected to shoot a half dose.

My vet doesn't open until 11 on Thursdays, and I'm not sure CVS will give me more sensors just one day later without the vet's office signing off. Also I'm still pretty wiped out; I had a lot of trouble getting to sleep last night after all that chaos. So my plan right now is to go back to sleep for a little while and then see if I can get a +3 test, and then try and get a new Libre. Sigh.

Wishing you all a pleasant day, and safe surfs to your kitties!
Hi Allie, CVS should not give you a problem, you are not going through insurance or anything where there should be a limit on sensors. (Paws crossed they aren't idiots!)

Just be firm with your vet, you need this tool (as needed) and let them know there are many reasons the sensors fail and the script should be for 4 per month or AS NEEDED for 6 months or a year, That way you don't have to keep going back to them for more scripts all the time.

Hoping they understand how it's a very time sensitive situation.

We are sending you lots of good wishes and vines ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿ€ for a much better day!!
Safe surfing Gen, give your mom a break today!๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ„โ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿฅฐ:bighug::bighug:
 
So I was able to get a free replacement for one of the Libres from CVS - kind of unofficially, my pharmacist did me a solid. Didn't need a new script or the vet's help, though I will talk to them about an "as needed" prescription.

(Thankfully my two replacements from Abbott are due to arrive tomorrow, so then I'll have a couple of spares!)

The new Libre has been successfully installed, and Gen seems fine, although he has apparently had a very green cycle in spite of only getting 1u this morning! Which seems really strange, but I guess I won't complain! (Also I'll note that the greens I'm getting on the new Libre seem to be pretty well aligned with the greens I got via blood testing. Interesting.)

Lots of renewed respect for those of you who do all your testing manually, by the way. It's good to know I can poke Gen as a backup, or for comparison, but I genuinely cannot imagine doing six or more times a day, every day. I mean, I suppose we would adjust, although it would be really stressful for me with my job and his still somewhat erratic cycles!
 
Well, he shot high in time for PMPS, but that could be a bounce or it could be food timing. His shot time got a little messed up yesterday with the testing shenanigans, but I wasn't going to make him wait longer for his dinner, so he got it around +10. We do what we can; I'll get him back on track.

Goodnight!
 
Well, he shot high in time for PMPS, but that could be a bounce or it could be food timing. His shot time got a little messed up yesterday with the testing shenanigans, but I wasn't going to make him wait longer for his dinner, so he got it around +10. We do what we can; I'll get him back on track.

Goodnight!
Look at you getting an ear poke! Congratulations on that! Iโ€™m glad Gen allowed a blood test โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน

Great job Allie on everything going on ๐Ÿฅฐโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•
 
Back
Top