Re: Fred-AMPS=314; 2.5u (u100-Prozinc)
i don't think the timing matters - whenever you want to. just know that you'll be giving a smaller Lantus dose - something like 1 unit, as Carl suggested. I think you'll have to be very aware of this because someone might very well suggest a different amount of Lantus assuming that you're talking about "regular" Prozinc doses, which would be using the u-40 syringe numbers.
i can't advise on dosing with Prozinc. When I was using it i didn't know anything about FD or ProZinc, and wasn't home-testing. Perhaps Carl can suggest what you should do at the moment. But i don't think you need to get things (his BGs or weight) under control or anything like that before you make a switch.
It would be good to read the yellow starred stickies at the top of this forum. Especially read the one
Lantus and Levemir: Info, Proper Handling and Storage and watch the video on that page about how to draw your insulin out of the pen or the vial. At Fred's dose, you probably want a prescription for pens. the prescriptions for vials and pens are separate. You'll want to call around to pharmacies to find one that will break up a box and sell you just one pen. Some will but there's no rhyme or reason to it. you just have to call around. some big pharmacies will, some local independent ones.
You'll probably also appreciate getting the Lantus savings card for the pens:
http://www.lantus.com/sign-up/offers. Fred will need to have your last name and just fyi, he's over 18. ;-)
Just let your vet know that you'd like to make the switch to Lantus because you understand it lasts longer in a cat's body and can flatten out their numbers. Cats seem to feel better when their BGs are flat. Here's the link to the
Tight Regulation Protocol - go down about 4 "paragraphs" and download and print out the pdf "Management of Diabetic Cats" for your vet. it will provide the support you need to justify switching from ProZinc to Lantus or Levemir. Both are very good and either would work well for you.