2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338,+2/374,+3/391 - Not Pretty In Pink

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63991

Recap of yesterday's BG readings:

AMPS - 381, gave skinny .10 units Lantus (4th cycle)
+8 - 332
PMPS - 331, gave skinny .10 units Lantus (5th cycle)
+3 - 189


This morning's AMPS was 358 and I gave a skinny .10 units of Lantus (6th cycle).

Sunday is so much more awesome when you know you have Monday off from work! :mrgreen: dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-AMPS 358,+3/300 - Got in the dog food :(

I should have known last night that when Cini's +3 went to 189 that I should have gotten up later to test him again at +6. I think he must have dropped lower, maybe even close to 50 because I just discovered this morning that there are little piles of spit up dog food all around the dog's bowl. :cry:

I know it's not the dog doing it. This was Cini's "M.O." when he had access to dry cat food. Because of his throat problem, he can't swallow dry cat food and he'll spit up these little piles. The new dog food I bought is a small kibble, so Cini's able to swallow it and spit it back up.

I'll have to build a new routine in to my schedule and feed the dog only when I'm there and pick her food up at night. I should probably do that anyway.

I don't know how much just swallowing dog kibble and then spitting it back up will influence Cini's BG today.
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-AMPS 358,+3/300 - Got in the dog food :(

Oh Cini! You're not a doggie! Doggie food isn't good for super sweet kitties like you.
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338 - Not Pretty In Pink

Arrgghh!! I never thought the sight of pink would turn me off! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338 - Not Pretty In Pink

Yuck. Cini Mini. Just plain yuck.

Food Patrol is a pain in the gluteals. Curry will eat anything that looks like food. She's my little hoover girl.

How's the asthma?
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338 - Not Pretty In Pink

Hi Tena,

The asthma is fine. He hasn't wheezed since the original episode on 2/3. Still on the 220mcg of Flovent, 2 puffs twice a day and on Terbutaline syrup .5ml twice a day.

Since it's been two weeks since then, the Vet wants me to stay on the Terbutaline and try going to 2 puffs once a day on the Flovent.

Yes, yes.. I know. I am going to catch hell from the hardcore Flovent people. But before you guys start shooting me dirty looks I haven't done it yet and I am still weighing the decision. Ultimately I am the one holding the inhaler in my hand and I know my cat best.

Sorry if that sounds a little defensive but I've had a hard week at work and this Feline Asthma forum that I joined last week was not a good fit for me. It's not easy finding a support group with patient, knowledgeable people who make you feel like one of the family like you guys do here. *bawling my eyes out* :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338 - Not Pretty In Pink

Oh Cathy. I'm sorry the folks there weren't supportive. :sad:


Glad to hear that Cini isn't coughing. Do this FD dance along w/the asthma dance is exhausting. You are doing a great job w/Cini. (((((Cathy))))


One method of reducing the flovent to see if Cini Mini can tolerate less flovent is to give 2 puffs in the morning and just 1 in the evening for 2 weeks....if you see more coughing you can add the other flovent puff back in.....if not, then you can reduce the evening dose to zero and see how he does.

I remember trying this with Curry a year ago.....someone had suggested that to me at that time....just a thought and an option.

Lots more hugs for you. And have a restful day off tomorrow.

kitty%20--%20hug%20owo.jpg-600x450.jpg
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338 - Not Pretty In Pink

That has to be THE most adorable picture EV.AR!

One method of reducing the flovent to see if Cini Mini can tolerate less flovent is to give 2 puffs in the morning and just 1 in the evening for 2 weeks....if you see more coughing you can add the other flovent puff back in.....if not, then you can reduce the evening dose to zero and see how he does.

Yep, that's exactly what the Vet wants me to do but in reverse (2 puffs at night and 1 in the am). When Cini wheezes it's always at night. The Vet thinks it's because he's sleeping more and the fluid build up in his lungs makes him wheeze while he's laying on his side.

Thanks for being so understanding, you guys are the best ever!
 
Re: 2/19-Cini Mini-PMPS 338 - Not Pretty In Pink

Yes, that makes more sense. The kitties do tend to have more attacks in the early morning hours so the 2 puffs at night is a good idea.

Paws crossed for Cini.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top