Re: 2/19/13 Bear's mom needs advise
Betty
I usually am on the board at night to help out and I'm sorry I missed your posts the last two nights. We are usually scanning for the "?" or numbers. Last night, I just fell asleep before you posted. So I want to go back and try to answer your questions.
I guess I just wanted to believe what my vet told me for 3 reasons-1.)-It is hard to just go against what your vet tells you. I want and need her support-what do I do if Bear has a hypo situation? Tell my vet, oh by the way, I once again ignored everything you told me and did it my way, but do you mind treating my cat. It's a scary feeling going alone. 2.) Bear is extremely upset and I don't think it is helping her health. She had diarhea today and is growling and runs from us. I'm sorry, but I don't have one of those cats that comes running because I'm shacking the treat bag so she can get her ear poked. She associates the treats with something bad not good. 3.) I'm not a stay at home kitty mom. My husband and I are exhausted. We stay up until 1:00 am so we can get a +6 and have to be up at 5:30am.
We have an hour drive to work. We get home around 7:00, run over to the cat cottage, chase Bear down, do all our chores and get done by 8:00 if were lucky. I feel like the past 3 weeks all I've done is work and deal with diabetes. It's midnight and I'm sitting here typing this out , and believe me I'm not a very fast typist. I actually cried when I read your posts because I wanted so bad to believe what my vet said, but I know you are all right.
I'll address them as you numbered them above:
1) we ALL go through this. There have been only a few that did not have the same issues with their vets. Many of us have gone to our vets, as Sienne suggested you do, equipped with the protocol and other cats' Spreadsheets. My vet, who had been treating FD like your vet wants to, for years, couldn't believe it. That's when she stepped back and said she thought this board could help me manage FD better than she could. I had to switch vets eventually because she moved but my new vet is always wanting to learn from us and she's been in practice about 15 years. Bear is
your cat and you are her advocate. The vet is there to support you...not to dictate to you. Do not be afraid of someone who is working for you.
If you post here, you will not be doing this alone. There is almost always someone on this board 24/7. We teach you how to deal with low numbers so that Bear does not hypo. Do you think your vet will be available at 11pm to answer your questions on how to deal with a BG of 40? If you can post numbers here, when Bear's BG drops, someone will walk you through bringing the number up. If you have food and karo and you test, YOU are in control. You just have to have the confidence to know you can control the numbers. It's also important to test Bear and learn what her patterns are and how she reacts to food.
2) Bear will settle down as long as you are calm. My Gracie doesn't come running to get tested either. I could shake the treat bag all day long. But she is very, very good about letting me test her. Bear will be, too. There are alot of people in this group who have said the same thing you are about their cat. As long as you are calm and approach it calmly, she will get used to it. Don't act like it's a torture because if you do, she will sense it. Be lighthearted, sing to her, tell her the test is going to help her get better. She's your responsibility and you have to go into testing with a calm demeanor. It will help you keep her safe.
3) There are many, many members here who work and deal with FD and many are doing it alone: Sienne, Dyana, Deborah, Jo, Amy, Carla....just to name a few. Look at their condos and their SSs and see how they manage. Ask them questions about how they approach it. And it is a fact of life that we all have exhaustion....even those of us who do not work full time. But you can either fight against FD or you can accept that it is what it is and learn to deal with it. I worked the entire first year of Gracie's FD so I do know how difficult it is to work and deal with FD. And we all know what it is like to feel like you work and deal with FD. I'm just trying to say that we are empathetic to it because many of us have done it. It can be done. And I think Bear is so close to "possibly" not needing the insulin that why not give her the best chance to go into a long remission so you don't have to keep dealing with it?
Do any of you have any suggestions on how I can manage the testing? Do I have to stay up until 1:00 to do a +6. Someone suggested setting an alarm, do the test, and then go back to bed. Bear lives in a separate cottage on our property so I would have to bundle up, go outside to the cottage, and then go back to bed? How often does the +6 have to be done?
You don't have to get a +6 every night. What we usually tell people who work is to get the PMPS and a +2 test. If you are up past +2, then also get a before bed test. But look closely at the +2. If the +2 is much higher than the PS, she's probably not going to do anything and you can go to bed if that is your bedtime. If the +2 is similar to or much less than the PS, then you need to set an alarm and check her again. It depends on where she is and how much lower the +2 is as to when you need to test her. But is there any possibility that on nights that it looks like she will need more testing, you can bring her in the bedroom with you? That way, it would be easier to just set an alarm, get up, test, go back to bed until the next test. On nights I know I need to get up and test, I have Gracie and all the supplies right there. It takes me less time to test her then to go to the WC and we are all back asleep quickly unless I need to feed her.
Am I right that just because a dose is safe today doesn't necessarily mean it is safe the next
I don't think that most of us who have been here a while focus on this. The reason is because we know our cats and we know how to manage the numbers. Yes, Bear can be in the 200s on a dose one cycle and the very next cycle be in the 50s on the same dose. But you learn how to manage the numbers here. If we think a dose is unsafe, we will tell you to reduce it. So your thought about what is a "safe" dose might be different than we what really see as a "safe" dose. And we do take into account that you work, etc. Safety is number one here.
Sorry to whine-but just not sure how to manage all this. I actually felt like I had my life back after I hung up the phone with my vet. That may sound selfish but I have 12 other cats, a dog, and a 92 year old mother in a nursing home a half hour away from where I live. I used to stop by and visit her on my way home from work, but now it is the race home to test and shoot.
I wish I had an answer for you on this but remember that you can't help anyone....not Bear, not the other critters, not your mom, if you let this stress you out so much. You might have to be willing to make changes in the way you've always done things....like bringing Bear in your room at night. Just take a few minutes to think how to make things easier and try not to put up stumbling blocks in your mind as to why it "can't" be done. We've found that having a schedule and sticking to it helps us the most and keeps our stress down.
Does anyone have any suggestions on testing? We are getting worst at it rather than better. We heat her ear up but sometimes it just won't bleed. She jerks her head violently when we poke ,and then if we finally get blood it gushes. Her right ear seems to bleed better than her left, but it is getting scabby.
I wrote a post on
Testing and Shooting Tips. One of the things I found made a big difference for us was making sure the bevel on the lancet is up. That way, the sharpest end goes in first and you have a better chance of getting blood the first time. Don't stab....just gently poke. If blood is gushing, perhaps you are hitting the vein which is painful. Just try to catch the edge of the ear. I bought a pack of baby washcloths and wet one in cool water. As soon as I poke, I hold the cool washcloth on her ear and hold the spot where I poke. Then immediately put Neosporin ointment (not cream) with pain relief on it. Gracie has never had a scab. If Bear is jerking her head violently, maybe you are poking too hard or not enough on the edge of the ear.
We are here to help you....just ask and if you don't get a response in a reasonable time, open up your condo, click on "post reply" and just type "bump" in the text box so your condo goes to the top.