2/18 Thomas AMPS 284

Jenn ~ Thomas

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone! I know I have been MIA.... I have been doing the AMPS PMPS and doing insulin but literally flying by the seat of my pants for the past 2 weeks. I realize I don't have a lot of other readings but with this many higher numbers I am wondering is there is any reason not to give 2 units??
 
Any chance of a curve at some point, or at least some spot checks for a few days? I hope life is settling down some for you.

Higher numbers can be caused by bounces by him going lower, or by too little insulin. He has gotten into the 100's on this dose so he could be going lower. Or he could be developing glucose toxicity by being in higher numbers. Summary, we don't know if he needs more or less insulin without more recent data.A cat's insulin needs can change over the course of two weeks so we can't go by what he did before then. Hence the need for current spot checks and preferably also a curve. When following SLGS, you wouldn't increase by more than 0.25 units.

To answer the question, yes, there could be a reason not to increase at all, and you wouldn't increase by 0.5 units anyway.
 
Back
Top