2.18 Rufus AMPS 329, +3 265, PMPS 360, +3 489

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
Higher number this AM. He is licking / smacking lips this AM so not sure if the gabapentin wore off too quick. He did eat his entire can of food, so don't think it's nausea.

I see that he vomited water overnight, not sure what's up with that.

Also, I feel terrible because I didn't get any numbers overnight. Had a few beers with a friend and came home and slept the entire night! Usually when I wake during the night is when I'd grab a test.

Anyways, hoping that todays numbers fall into line...

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...243-4-157-8-247-pmps-267.191284/#post-2133992
 
Sometimes we all just need sleep! Don't beat yourself up.

Come on down Rufus!

I hope the lip smacking stops and that his tummy settles down. :bighug:
 
I think the nausea is very likely from the chronic pancreatitis. The dental likely brought it on. I can’t remember if you are giving daily ondansetron. When Max would act nauseous he got it nonstop until he was eating and back to his normal self for a few days. Then I gradually reduced from once a day to twice. If he started to eat less or act nauseous back to twice a day. There were times he needed it for months at a time.
 
I think the nausea is very likely from the chronic pancreatitis. The dental likely brought it on. I can’t remember if you are giving daily ondansetron. When Max would act nauseous he got it nonstop until he was eating and back to his normal self for a few days. Then I gradually reduced from once a day to twice. If he started to eat less or act nauseous back to twice a day. There were times he needed it for months at a time.
I'm not sure. The vet tech told me nothing abnormal found in the ultrasound, but haven't received any report. I know they sent it to my reg vet, but she's not back until Tuesday. They told me they we're looking at the pancreas and all that stuff. I don't know. He hasn't had an ondasetron Since Wed morning because they wanted me stop all pills unless absolutely neccesary fro 14 days. He's much better today. He has been eating deli turkey quite a bit, and I'm pretty sure that he's got an allergy to it. I know I shouldn't be giving it to him, but he so wants to eat everything and he's getting tired of the liquified food.

I'm also wondering if the gabapentin could make him nauseaus?
 
I’m hating to write this but be careful with deli turkey. It usually is made with garlic and/or turkey which can cause Heinz body anemia in cats and dogs. How was it determined what he’s allergic to? My vet said the test for allergies is expensive and not very accurate.
 
I’m hating to write this but be careful with deli turkey. It usually is made with garlic and/or turkey which can cause Heinz body anemia in cats and dogs. How was it determined what he’s allergic to? My vet said the test for allergies is expensive and not very accurate.
I only get the oven roasted turkey. Zero sugar and no onion or garlic.

Rufus has never been tested, same reasons as you stated. Last year from April until September Rufus ate royal canin rabbit wet and dry, hydrolyzed treats, cosequin (fish), and small amount of deli turkey each morning. I've gotten mixed reactions on if the cosequin could cause allergy, but almost all say it's not an issue. That leaves the turkey. When he was on this diet, redness and scratching were way down but still there. But the biggest thing was had a very severe ear infection at the end. The times ive reintroduced turkey he would have diarerra the same day. Now that his tummy is better, I gave some and while no diarrha, severe itching. And of course turkey is his absolute favorite.
 
Ok not sure if there is an answer to this, but why is running about 100 points higher on each test today compared to yesterday. Nothing else has changed, except lip smacking. But he's eating so not sure if it's nausea or pain, but he's had his gabapentin today...
 
@Wendy&Neko Any thoughts on being higher today? About 100 points each interval. He has pain and/or nausea going on. Also, He had dental surgery wednesday, and dose increase on thurs.

Also, normally curve would be done after 5 days, but since he still has inflammation (possibly) and pain, when would I do a curve then? 10 days out instead of 5?
 
He's bouncing from the mid blues he got to yesterday, maybe to a lower number if he went there last night. The routine of brush teeth, poke cat, turn out the light is a good habit to get into.

On SLGS, a curve is done every 7 days, but getting spot checks when you can are even better.
 
He's bouncing from the mid blues he got to yesterday, maybe to a lower number if he went there last night. The routine of brush teeth, poke cat, turn out the light is a good habit to get into.

On SLGS, a curve is done every 7 days, but getting spot checks when you can are even better.
But do think I should postone the curve because of potential influences from meds and possible inflammation?
 
But do think I should postone the curve because of potential influences from meds and possible inflammation?

If it’s possibly to get a few tests each cycle, curves aren’t even needed. ;) But if you’re worried about a bounce during a curve, you don’t have to wait 10 days, do a curve the next time you can when you don’t see a bounce happening.
 
If it’s possibly to get a few tests each cycle, curves aren’t even needed. ;) But if you’re worried about a bounce during a curve, you don’t have to wait 10 days, do a curve the next time you can when you don’t see a bounce happening.
I don't even know when a bounce is happening anymore! He went from reds to blues back to pinks. I guess I'll just keep on keeping on and around wed I'll re-evalute.
 
Also, specialist says Rufus should be between 150-250. Is that a good goal on a pet meter? Try to stay closer to the 150?
 
I would still try that curve. All data is good data. But if you find that his test after preshot is zooming up, then he is bouncing and you can delay the curve to another day.

Most vet's aren't used to people home testing so want higher nadirs. According to SLGS, between 90 and 150 is what you are aiming for.
 
Thank you all so much! I have another question, but don't want to make a new thread. Rufus was not given an antibiotic after dental. Seems most cats are given one. Should I question them and "demand" one? He's had quite a few antibiotics in the last 6 months so not sure if that is the reason why he wasn't given one.
 
Maybe call and ask, but don't demand. Depending on the tooth/situation an AB may not be needed. Are you going back for a recheck? I always had a recheck a week later, when the vet would check for healing and any infection or inflammation.
 
Maybe call and ask, but don't demand. Depending on the tooth/situation an AB may not be needed. Are you going back for a recheck? I always had a recheck a week later, when the vet would check for healing and any infection or inflammation.
Recheck is in 2 weeks. I'll give them a call tomorrow. I think he has inflammation or pain now.
 
I'm going to lose my mind. Thought we were going in a good direction yesterday. Now up today and way up tonight. Why?!?!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top