2/18 George AMPS 146, +2 75, +6 76, +10 91, PMPS 129, +3 150

Hammy

Member Since 2021
Good morning!
I didn't test him before I fell asleep. I just saw that message this morning. I'm sorry.

I just tested him and he is 146. Lower than last night PMPS. (No injection for 24 hours now)
I forgot and requested assistance, but remembered if under 200, to give .5, so I did.

I was hesitant at first because it was lower than what it was last night PMPS 153 (no injection tho)

Last Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ing-advice-please-advise.243267/#post-2743379
 
Last edited:
Those are very good numbers for 24 hours without insulin. Do get a +2 before you leave for work and post it here? Thanks! :-)
 
Those are very good numbers for 24 hours without insulin. Do get a +2 before you leave for work and post it here? Thanks! :)
Relieved and excited. Thank you! Do you think it needs to be exact 2 hours or could it be like 1 hour 50 minutes?
 
It can be 1 hour and 50 mins :)
He was 75. I fed him some more low carb food. Usually I feed him a whole can in the morning, as I was increasing weight. I only gave them a little more than a quarter, and I just gave him another quarter so he had a half can so far.

I can come home at +5 -7ish
 
My daughter is right now. On no. I missed this. I feel awful.

This was my draft that never sent
Is there a cheat sheet, so to speak, for what numbers I need to be testing hourly to make sure he doesn't drop? Which numbers am I looking for at each time? I understand on the spreadsheet the dark green is good, but we were checking him every hour to make sure he didn't drop that night. Then there's also the brighter green, I don't know if that's still good since it's not red or if that's bad.
 
The lime green means a reduction has been earned. If he’s under 100 and early in the cycle you need to check hourly or leave out lots of food. In the 70’s require mc for sure. I think he will be under 68 today. Any chance you can reach the kids to test? We will need another reduction tonight IF we shoot at all.
 
Which numbers should I be concerned vs panic?
When do I do the honey or emergency treatment?

My daughter hasn't done a test or BG yet. Only assisted. My son has been more involved so far. She is in online college class and anxiety.
I can be home in one hour to test?
Does that sound ok?
 
If he’s eating hc no need to rush home. If he drops under 68 it’s time for hc and a reduction is earned. So if in the 70’s and you are not able to monitor feed mc if kids can keep feeding. If nobody will be home feed hc and leave out lots of it. They would need to feed a few tsp of food every 30-60 minutes.
 
Hc actually works better than honey but if under 60 give both. Then you would need to feed and check every 30 minutes until in the high 70’s. After that hourly and withhold food to see if he stays up without food. Food takes 20-30 minutes to work but stays working longer. Honey or syrup works quickly but wears off quickly.
 
Elise, Heather is using a ReliOn meter now. She was using an AT but switched to ReliOn from 02/03. Please correct me if I am wrong Heather?
 
It is human meter. So that changes the numbers I should be concerned about?
By 10?

I'm planning ahead so I can give proper instructions when I'm home. Thank you all so much
 
With a human meter numbers below 50 earn a reduction. Numbers 50-99 are normal numbers and it's good for cats to spend time in them.

Did you change it for me?
I haven't but I can. Will need edit access. Do you have the link you use to input data into the SS? Can you PM it to me when you have the time? No rush.
 
I tested with smeared blood on my fingers and it says 85, then I decided to test again from his ear and out was 76. Giving him more low carb now. Showing my daughter the high carb and low carb to instruct to feed him again in about 2 hours or less?
 
The 76 was at +6? Is this after having high carb earlier in the cycle?

ETA: I see on your SS that he had HC at +4 and this is +6. Looks like even 0.5U may be too much for him!

And yes, feed him some more LC now.
 
The 76 was at +6? Is this after having high carb earlier in the cycle?
He had LC at +2. Some HC at +4.5. And say +6 76
I gave him some LCand told my daughter she might need to give him the high carb also. I am not sure if I have medium carb, or high carb. It was the higher carbs friskies Pate extra gravy salmon or fish
 
I think you can stick to feeding LC for the rest of the cycle since he's past his nadir.

This link will give you the carb content of most foods in the US:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

If you don't find your food above, this calculator will help you calculate carb%. Look at the last field - "Dry Matter Carbohydrates".
http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

Below 10% is low carb
Thank you. What percent is high carb? Then I'll know the inbetween is medium carb.
 
That's a nice cycle he is having.
Are you home around +10
If you can get a test in at around +10+11 and post if he is still running in the greens it gives you time to ask for some help and come up with a plan for shot time.
 
Yes, I can get a test at +10+11
I might have to run out during the +12. it will be my son's first time getting a test...

How important is it to be exact +hour? 15 min windows on either side ok?
 
How important is it to be exact +hour? 15 min windows on either side ok?
Just one test sometime between +10 and +11. (it can be any time)
If it was 30min after +10 record it as +10.5

The PS (or +12) if he does that 15 minutes before the shot? Is he doing the shot?
 
Just one test sometime between +10 and +11. (it can be any time)
If it was 30min after +10 record it as +10.5

The PS (or +12) if he does that 15 minutes before the shot? Is he doing the shot?
I was going to have him do the shot. He has done that before. He hasn't BG tested him yet
 
I should be back around 7 tonight. That would be just 15 minutes over 12 hours. It's snowing though, and I'm doing a 45 minute trip one way and another 45 back.
He is still under 100.
 
I don't have anything crazy going on this weekend, but my life has been crazy. I can't even begin. Like tonight I'm going to pick up my husband's younger brother from a hospital that we haven't spoken to or really seen in over a year. his mother is coming to pick him up tomorrow from our house. She lives in Minnesota.
 
I should be back around 7 tonight. That would be just 15 minutes over 12 hours. It's snowing though, and I'm doing a 45 minute trip one way and another 45 back.
He is still under 100.

It’s fine if you are 15, even 30 minutes late. Don’t stress.
 
I just finished a workout and am going to take a shower. If under 120 at PMPS I would skip. If 120-195 shoot .50 if you can stay up as needed, otherwise .25 or skip. If you skip we will restart tomorrow but get a +2. I’ll be back to check in about 15 minutes.
 
I don't think I can stay up with him tonight.
129. PMPS
Maybe. 25? Since it's close? I can get up early and do a +2 before I leave and come home for a +6
 
If you shout .25 there’s no guarantee he won’t drop. The depot might cause him to drop. Skip and we will restart in the morning.
 
Thank you. I can start earlier too. It's 750pm where I'm at. I'll aim for 615-630 again
 
Ok. He might go up snd shooting would have been fine but better a day or two higher than a hypo. He might also stay about where he’s at or go lower too.
 
Back
Top