2/18 Elian: AMPS 399; 272 +3; 211 +7; 128 +9

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399

Most cats really don't notice or care about the testing. Yes, they don't like to be held, but the actual testing is really no big deal to them. It is the humans that have the issues, interjecting our feelings of hurt and guilt onto the animal.

So, think about it in a positive way. By poking him you are keeping him safe and he is not a pin cushion. And even if he is a pin cushion - so what. do you think he cares? It is a momentary discomfort.

If you are home, great, get some more tests in and be sure to add it to your spreadsheet.
 
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399

Thanks Hillary - but actually, the holding part isn't a problem at all.....as soon as I tell him it's time he lays down on the floor and lets me lay out his "supplies". In the beginning he just let me do what I needed to do but now he folds his ears back and bobs his head, letting me know it's uncomfortable. But he lets me do it. I always massage him afterwards and most times he gets his favorite halo treat. But just knowing it's uncomfortable for him makes me a little sad - even though I know it's necessary and in his best interest. To clarify more - I think it also has to do with his three brothers always circling around to watch, knowing that they, too, get a treat. And they didn't have to get poked to get one. Jewish mom guilt!
 
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399

Hi guys .. sorry to see elian so high this morning .. fingers crossed he heads back on down .. make sure with the pokes you are giving treats .. that's all they are worried about anyways :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399

Yeppers! The Halo 100% chicken or 100% beef treat is there for him....and his brothers. It's like kitty crack to them. They just have to hear the container and they go crazy!!!
 
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399

Yes, the guilt is working overtime I say. You could always not give the others a treat. This way it is just a special thing for pokies only. Or test him in a room and close the door, so the others can't get in and circle.

It's great that he is laid back to make testing easier and you don't have to hold. Maui is the same way. Her treat of choice is a good brushing!
 
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399

Hillary & Maui said:
Yes, the guilt is working overtime I say. You could always not give the others a treat. This way it is just a special thing for pokies only. Or test him in a room and close the door, so the others can't get in and circle.

It's great that he is laid back to make testing easier and you don't have to hold. Maui is the same way. Her treat of choice is a good brushing!

I ABSOLUTELY agree with Hillary here. What's so special about the treats E is getting for being a good boy through all of this if everyone is getting a treat? Susie, you know better than that! This is more like he's being poked and no one else is but everyone is getting treats. What's that all about? :? Do something special for HIM then you won't feel so guilty cause it really doesn't 'hurt'.....
 
Re: 2/18 Elian: AMPS 399; 272 +3; 211 +7

I hear what you're saying about the treats and it being special for E but.......the situation here is a bit different. With my pet sitting business there are weeks at a time that my boys are all happily confined to my bedroom, hallway and bathroom with access to the screened in patio on some days. The patio goes across the entire back of my house which is all windows/slider doors, so some dogs go crazy when they see them and those are the days they stay in my room. But they've gotten so used to it over the years that even when there are no dogs and the house is wide open to them they stay in my room.

So with that said - they are always together and they all eat together, get treats together, sleep together - you get the picture. It would be very difficult to give Elian treats and the other boys get nothing. They surround him when he gets tested and his shots and they "support" him. So they all get treats. But I will say that he gets the biggest pieces or sometimes a second one.

I know....sounds crazy. But it is what it is. Elian never fights me - it's just that he bends his ear now to let me know he's not happy. But he doesn't run away. One of the upsides of him being a totally mellow, laid back kitty as opposed to my Dennis the Menace troublemaker - K.C.; my "you can pet me and cuddle with me but don't ever hold me" - Justin; or "you can do whatever you want to me but if I decide I don't like it I WILL bite you" - Remy.
 
Surprised to see that he dropped to 128 so late in the day. But if I'm understanding things better now then today has been a good day for him....after a high start.
 
Elian's SS is up to date and he's being weird today. Good, but weird. He's at 114 +11. I usually give him his shot at 9:30. I will not be here between 9:00 and 10:00. I was going to shoot early tonight but now that I see how low he is I'm guessing I need to wait until I get home at 10:00 and see where he is then. I've never seen him this low this late in the day. Hard to ask what to do until we see his number but I will need to know if I lower his dose; stall his dose; stay the same; don't give him a dose.....more confusion!!!! I will check back in while waiting for my daughter and again when I get home at 10:00. Thanks in advance.
I would check when you get home. I thought this might happen - his bounce is clearing and sometimes when that happens, they keep going down even at shot time. Waiting 1/2 hour should give him some time to turn and head back upward.

You don't need to reduce the dose. This is good!
 
Thx Libby. I'll be back home a little before ten and see where he is. I'm nervous .... and am afraid I'll have to be up testing him all night!!!
 
He went up to 128 so I gave him his regular dose, albeit 45 minutes later than usual. But that couldn't be helped. Will try to move him back earlier tomorrow but will be up testing thru-out the night tonight. FIngers crossed for smooth surfing.
 
nice shooting! I would start with a +2 tonight. That will give you a pretty good idea of where Elian plans to go tonight.

He will probably bounce at some point, but the good news is by shooting low, you got the insulin in almost on time and that should help him not bounce as high or maybe recover from the bounce more quickly. Good job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top