2/18 Curry pmps~129 Vet Behaviorist visit complete

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
All is well in CurryLand as long as she stays in the "time-out" room. She did see Sidney the other day....and was staring intently like she wanted to charge Sidney like a little bull. She doesn't display any other behavior before attacking Sid other than the intense stare.... She is doing well w/the FD....still on 0.25 units.....morning preshot number remain better than the afternoon preshot.

Dr. Lore Haug, Vet Behaviorist, is making a home visit today at 2:30. She will spend about 1-1.5 hours here. Should be interesting as to what she will recommend. And how she responds to the FD protocol. I'm hoping that down the road here I can have Curry and Sidney live in peace together again. Even though its calm and peaceful right now during this time-out period it is a bit unsettling not having the two kitties together in the same room.

Happy Friday.
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Good luck I hope the Behaviourist can broker a peace agreement btw Curry and Sydney.
Will look forward to reading what she had to say and do
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Good luck with the vet. I hope she can figure out what is getting Curry so annoyed with Sid.
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Aw, Kitty Peace Talks today. It's a Summit! I hope the VB can figure out what the problem is and find a way to resolve it. I think it's amazing that she's making a home visit, but that would be the best way to observe their usual behavior. Best of luck to you guys today! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Great AMPS for Curry this morning. My goodness....what a crazy thing to have to keep them separated like that.
You are doing such a great job Tena...and I am so hoping that the Behaviorist will come up with lots of great ideas for you all. Wishing you peace in your home again Tena! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

I have a feline aggression situation at home. My 5th adopted cat started attacking my two females, inflicting several serious infected bite wounds. I tried behavioral training, medication, everything. In the end, I did end up separating him form the other cats. He has lived in his own bedroom for many years. I was seriously bitten a couple of years ago, when I carelessly left his door open, and caught him just about to attack a cat. The situation is completely crazy. I hope your behaviorist is able to help.
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Morning Tena ~O)

Very nice numbers for Curry - it seems to be a good dose for her.

Good luck to day with the Vet Behaviorist. I hope it goes well, and can help you with Curry. Paws crossed. I look forward to hearing what she says. I hope too that she is on board with the protocol.
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

I can't wait to hear how your visit goes. That situation is so hard to deal with. :sad: I hope the VB can help.
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Good luck today, Tena! I hope that the Behaviorist will be able to help you. In the meantime, Curry has great AMPS!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

good luck with the behaviorist. How interesting! I always wanted to try a vet behaviorist with one of my GAs, who had litterbox issues her whole life. Never did it, though.
 
Re: 2/18 Curry amps~74 Vet Behaviorist visit today

Good luck; I'll be interested to hear, too, how the Vet Behaviorist is able to help. I know a good animal Behaviorist here in our area, but he isn't a Vet. He used to have his own radio show, and listeners could call in to the station and get help for their pets. It was a Dr. Fetko, aka Dr. Dog! You mentioned there aren't very many Vet Behaviorists.
 
129 - ouchie.....due to the pill pocket the Vet's assistant gave Curry (ingredients in pill pocket include wheat gluten and dried corn syrup). Oh well.

The visit was interesting....LOTS of information....She will be sending me a report along w/the written recommendations....links to various websites and items to consider purchasing.

Curry was set free for a few minutes in the living room.....Sid was in the bathroom. She really wasn't interested in the Vet and her assistant.

Basically I will start some behavior training w/Curry and Sidney.....Using exposure therapy for both kitties while trying to keep them in a calm state of mind. Punctuating the desirable behavior..... The idea is to try to get Curry to ignore Sid and get Sid comfortable around Curry.

She did give me some tablets, not prescription, for Sidney....Anxitane S....1/2 tab 2x per day. Right now Sid is fearful of Curry and Curry knows it....If the pills don't work for Sid then she may consider some anti-anxiety meds.....She didn't want to give Curry any meds right now due the diabetes. Then I will need to have Curry on a leash once we graduate beyond the baby-gates for the door and the crate. We need to find a safe way to restrain Curry and redirect her behavior.

This is going to be a marathon similar to dealing w/the FD....so its doable. Oh, will also start clicker training w/both....first associating the click w/food. Maybe I can teach Curry to shake and do a high five. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Then every two weeks I'm to email her an update on our progress.

So all in all it was a good visit. She couldn't guarantee that all will go well in the future, but she did say the prognosis is good since the behavior has not occurred over a long period of time. And she didn't ask about the FD protocol.....she was really focused on the behavior portion and giving suggestions specific to my apartment.

So here we go....Small kitten steps.
 
Good luck Tena - sounds like it was a good visit. It would be so nice to have those two in the same space again. I do hope it all works out. :-D

small kitten steps, yes!
 
What an interesting afternoon! Wow, you got lots of things to think about and to try. I hope that some of them will work and that Curry and Sid will get along again. You ought to tell them that you expect them to get along!

Ella
 
That is so neat you had a animal behaviourist visit. I with you the Best Of Luck.
It does sound like a lot of work, but I have the utmost confidence in your ability to persevere.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top