2/17 Tessa AMPS 82 +2 96 +4 85 +6 80 +8 89 PMPS 84 +2 81

tessa's mom

Active Member
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-16-tessa-amps-86-2-97-4-87-6-88-8-85-pmps-91-2-99.274253/

I had that "darker blood" thing happen again today and got 73 on the test for that. I looked closely at her ear and I think there's a faint bruise where I got that blood droplet. I moved further down the ear again and got a bright red blood droplet and the test came up 82. I'm going to try to be more careful about where I test so I don't get these false lows.

I noted both test results on the spreadsheet but I'm going to err on the side of caution and assume the higher test is the correct one.
 
I'm going to try giving her Tiki Cat for her +2 and +4 meals during the day since it's even lower carb than the Friskies she normally eats. Maybe that will help get the numbers a bit lower during the day.
 
If she continues all green today and tonight I would take a .25 reduction tomorrow. Beautiful ss.

I think I'm probably going to give her another day or two at 0.75 because she hasn't had that many cycles where she gets under 80. I'd rather play it safe than try to rush the reductions and end up chasing a good dose.
 
It’s up to you but she’s earned a reduction for being green for 7 days.

From what I'm seeing, she only meets half of the criteria for a reduction:

Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Maybe I'm wrong here but that statement makes me believe that she's supposed to be under 100 AND have a nadir below 80. The past few days have had nothing under 80. I guess the 80 today would count but I also gave her Tiki Cat which is as close to zero carb food as you can really get so I feel like I almost "cheated" to get her there if that makes sense.
 
It's entirely possible that I'm just being overly strict and dumb about this. I'm just afraid of messing up.
 
Some cats actually do better on slightly higher carbs while for othered that are carb sensitive might react to 7-9% as hc. It’s hard to say how low her nadir is at night as there are not any tests past +2. Nothing wrong with holding this dose longer.
 
From what I'm seeing, she only meets half of the criteria for a reduction:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Maybe I'm wrong here but that statement makes me believe that she's supposed to be under 100 AND have a nadir below 80. The past few days have had nothing under 80. I guess the 80 today would count but I also gave her Tiki Cat which is as close to zero carb food as you can really get so I feel like I almost "cheated" to get her there if that makes sense.

There is no harm in holding the dose a couple of days longer. The criteria is not that numbers have to be in the range of 50-80 all the time but that (a) numbers have to be under 100 mg/dl overall with (b) nadirs in the 50-80 range.

Looking at the AMPS, I think Tessa is going lower at night than she is in the day.

Just I get ready to post this, I see that Elise has said the same thing :-)
 
There is no harm in holding the dose a couple of days longer. The criteria is not that numbers have to be in the range of 50-80 all the time but that (a) numbers have to be under 100 mg/dl overall with (b) nadirs in the 50-80 range.

Looking at the AMPS, I think Tessa is going lower at night than she is in the day.

Just I get ready to post this, I see that Elise has said the same thing :)

Sorry I wasn't clear, I was meaning that none of her known nadirs were below 80 lately. I do think she's probably going lower at night, maybe I need to move up her dose times a bit so I can see a little further into the PM cycle. Trying to get overnight numbers sucks regardless of what I do because either I shift up the schedule and get out of bed way earlier than normal or stay up way later than normal. My husband has a 3 day weekend this weekend (he's off Sunday-Tuesday) so maybe I can convince him to get up and get some overnight numbers over the weekend and he can just take a nap the next day.
 
Some cats actually do better on slightly higher carbs while for othered that are carb sensitive might react to 7-9% as hc. It’s hard to say how low her nadir is at night as there are not any tests past +2. Nothing wrong with holding this dose longer.

I'm not sure if she's all that carb sensitive or not. Her normal food is Friskies pate turkey & giblets or mixed grill which are both supposed to be 5% carbs but sometimes they have more "gravy" than a pate really should so who really knows. I usually pour off that gravy in her sister's bowl instead of letting Tessa have it just in case.

I'm going to try to get some overnight tests this weekend. I won't get any tonight but I hopefully Saturday night at least.
 
Back
Top