2/17 Maverick - back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today

Good morning guys and good luck at the vets .. neither one of our cats do the car thing very well ... have a great day!
 
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today

Hi Karrie, good luck at the Vetty, and I hope the Rescue Remedy calms Maverick so that he's not too scared. It worked on my GA Siamese kitty, as he was so scared any time we had a Vet visit. Let us know later about the Vet visit.
 
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today

Sending calm vetty vines to Maverick this morning. Wishing you well!
Hope he turns out to be a very nice vet for you guys....
 
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today

A big heap of calming vines to Maverick today! I hope the rescue remedy works. Nothing would work on Chaos; he is embarrassing to take anywhere. Poops in the carrier, etc. I hope Maverick does much better. I'll be checking in to see how he does later on.
 
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today

Karrie...good luck with the vet visit; I hope it goes really well and Mav stays calm. Hope you are doing well, too.

Hey Maverick...do you need KTSS to get the vetty smell off????
 
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today - back.

Hi guys,

We are back from the vet. I think I need a shrink. I'd love some therapy - more at the end.

Overall it was a short visit. Nothing eventful. Maverick hated him but behaved for the most part. Lost of swiping and hissing and made the vet flinch a few times. Doing a chem3 and CBC and T4 just to make sure he's as well on the inside that he looks on the outside. This vet is behind the times though. Didn't know about adequin (spelling) for cats and arthritis. Wouldn't prescribe a Flovent puffer refill without getting his records, and would like Maverick to be OTJ and considers a cat in 8s and 9s in remission (144-162).

Maverick did not hyperventilate in the car but was very vocal both ways. Did not urinate or throw up either. And did not hide when we got back home. After a few short tail and ear down walks down the hallway he was lying in the living room and going to check out his food.

Now the therapy part.
* I get vibes off of people. I swear people have an energy that they send out. Didn't like his vibe. There are people that I feel instantly comfortable with (its hard to describe) but have yet to find a vet for Maverick that I like. I don't know why. Maybe I have too much baggage. So I need therapy to get beyond this.
* I avoid controntation like the plague and am not assertive but I am consciously working on this. But I still didn't stand up for the protocol as strongly as I should. I told him that I would be more comfortable with Maverick maintaining a non shot BG more in line with the protocol of around 6.5 - and explained that in a newly diagnosed cat it would improve chances at long term remission. And he disagreed twice, so I said sure we can try it and see what he does. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Smack me. And he wants me to report on his numbers. Now what do I do!
* And he's getting Maverick's old records. I did not like his old vet at all. I found him extremely intimidating and actually left his office crying the last time I was there. I had heart palpitations just calling and had to get psyched up from friends just to get the courage to deal with him. I cringe at what is in these records. I haven't been back since last year sometime. That last visit still makes me upset. I didn't explain it to the new vet. When I said the name of the clinic he went "we have a good relationship with them". And I said, good because I don't and laughed. He didn't laugh. Greaaat. Awkward. Anyways. I wonder if they diagnose their patients with personality disorders like I diagnose vets. I could save them time: General Anxiety disorder with a fear of confrontation. But no narcissism, bipolar or borderline. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/17 Maverick - vet today

wow. well it is what it is, and stick to your guns. You know maverick better than anyone, and as far as FD goes probably know more than the vet. I hear you on the "behind the times" part. My vet too considers cats under 200 to be regulated. I guess you'll just have to see how it pans out, and if you will stay there. Good luck with the BW - Hope Maverick checks out OK. I am glad too that he wasn't too upset with the trip.

have a great day guys!
 
My vet feels that 150-170 & under is regulated. I went in there with my SS Protocols printed out, didnt give them too much room for their opinions--If you dont stick up for him, who will??
If normal cat bg is 60-120, how could 162 be in remission?? Regulated? well that is a matter of interpretation..See if you can find another vet--You need someone to work with you--
Sorry, Hope all the tests are good! Have a better rest of the day!
 
Hoping that all the tests have good results.

My vet wanted me to put Blackie on Hill's Prescription wet food when she was on ProZinc. I tried that, but ended up with her going hypoglycemic on me, which resulted in an immediate decrease to 1 unit, and an immediate switch to Fancy Feast. The vet didn't want me to feed her the FF, and if I did, her dose would be increased from 8u to 9 at that time. NO WAY! Since the episode with Blackie, I stuck to my guns about her diet, and am now glad that I did. You'll do fine, hon. Just do what you believe is right for your kitty. After all, you live with him, they don't. You know him a heck of a lot better than others do. :) *HUGS*
 
My vet thought numbers in the 200's were "great numbers for a diabetic cat" and believes cats can't be regulated, so I know what you're going through. All you can do is continue to stand up for Maverick. If his bloodwork comes back OK then you know everything's fine. You're not going to take him OTJ, are you? If he wants you to report back, just tell him you decided that stopping insulin was not the best choice and report the numbers you get with the shots. I'm no stranger to anxiety so I know how hard it is to openly disagree with someone who is an "authority" in one area or another, but you can do it for Maverick. :YMHUG:
 
Oh man ... do I ever know what you are talking about feeling intimidated by people .. I just experienced the same thing with the vet that worked on twix the other day .. twix was the one who went in for a problem and somehow we got talking about mocha (never seen this vet in that office in my life) and I left feeling like the WORST cat mom ever for wanting to keep mocha under 100!
 
The last time Kazi was in we had to see the vet I hate. He couldn't figure out why I was even there since she was eating and behaving normally minus her blood sugar being high. He kept repeating that most cats don't even get under 350 and that her 280 really wasn't bad at all. ohmygod_smile I kept repeating that while that may be true it IS NOT the case for my cat - and therefore SOMETHING isn't right. He finally did bloodwork...and lo and behold she needed antibiotics. 24 hours later we were down to 90 from 280 and stayed right in that range from there on out.

I feel you on not finding the 'right' vet - I have yet to do that myself.
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
Maverick doesn't drive well.
ooooh. i cannot resist. i had closed the window, walked away, waited, but i eventually gave in and had to come back and post. tell Maverick he needs to drive well if he wants to get a driver's licence like Noisy's :razz:

* I avoid controntation like the plague and am not assertive but I am consciously working on this. But I still didn't stand up for the protocol as strongly as I should. I told him that I would be more comfortable with Maverick maintaining a non shot BG more in line with the protocol of around 6.5 - and explained that in a newly diagnosed cat it would improve chances at long term remission. And he disagreed twice, so I said sure we can try it and see what he does. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Smack me. And he wants me to report on his numbers. Now what do I do!
you ccould keep on doing what you intended to do, and then blame it on the spouse or significant other. or if there's not one, you make one up :razz: that's what i do. since DH hardly goes with me to the hospital anymore, i will tell vettybean that i went home and discussed with DH and he didn't want to do [whatever] and insisted we'll do [whatever] instead. you can soften it by acknowleding vettybean's concern and promising you will be extra-diligent in monitoring (you are, already, so that part is true!) :mrgreen:

eta - go with your instincts. if he doesn't feel right, keep looking. but don't burn your bridges, in case you can't find anyone who's better and Maverick needs to be vetted.
 
Poor Karrie. I'm so sorry you're going through this. I know how you feel, and I think you are 100% correct to trust your vibe. You want me to call and tell him like it is? LOL Send him your numbers, and if he asks, just tell him that after considering what he said, you felt your course of action is better, and that is what you will be following. period. obviously, you will need a vet at some point to refill your insulin, but beyond that, don't worry. If Maverick has some sort of crisis, no vet is simply going to turn him away.

Why is it this hard to find a decent vet?!?
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: Maverick driving? I did find that funny..
(((Kerrie))) I am sure sorry to hear about the vet visit & have sympathy with your frusturation...
I don't dislike Sadi & Baby's vet but I can't say I like them either.. however they do support & allow me to always choose their plan of care & give us what we need to be healthy (scripts, etc)
I agree, trust your instinct & persistence does pay off.. Maverick is looking great too! :mrgreen:
 
It's also amazing what you can forget to send/bring to the vet. You know, "Oops. I forgot to bring the SS. Silly me."

I usually intimidate the hell out of vets. I ask questions. Things like, "Can you send me the article where your recommendations are referenced? Or, just send me the citation -- I can always get the article." Or, "Is that the latest research? Here's what I read...." My vet always likes when she says she'll research something for me and then I either send her a relevant article or I call the U of IL vet school and talk to someone there who's a specialist in whatever area I have a question. I'm basically a little snot who knows how to read research and has access to med/vet libraries and relevant databases. Even with the MDs I deal with, asking for current research often shuts them down.

Most vets will consider a cat "regulated" at numbers higher than we use because most people don't home test. As a result, having a cat in higher numbers reduces the vet's risk for the cat having a hypoglycemic episode. It's an issue of liability. Not many people test like we do or know how to manage low numbers.
 
Hi Karrie, wow, I'm sorry you had to thru all that today, but you've gotten some good advice like "forgetting the SS" and my DH wanted it done like so and so. It's really hard to find a Vet who will work with home testing and the protocols we use.
 
Hi Karrie, Sorry about your crummy vet visit. But you do, after all, have to have access to a vet for things other than FD. I like some of the suggestions above for handling the vet!!!
Fortunately in Canada you don't have to have a prescription to buy insulin!
Don't let it all get you down. Just take each issue if and when it comes along. And you certainly don't have to "report" Maverick's numbers regularly. You know what they are and how to deal with them. Maverick is your kitty!

Have a good evening, and remind Mav. about the full moon party tomorrow night (it's a good thing that Mannie is going to drive, since Mav. isn't a good driver).

Ella & Rusty
 
:lol:

128886075881608860.jpg
 
My vet used to give me a hard time about how I was handling Emma. One day, after her umpteenth lecture on how I need to be careful not to increase her dose too often, and keep her from getting below 100, I told her I'm aware of all the risks, and that I'm an engineer and am OCD about everything I do. She said "ohhhhhhh...long pause....well that explains a lot". And she hasn't bothered me since. So, while that's true in my case, maybe it would work for you too! :smile:
 
I forgot all about my post the other day ohmygod_smile

Haha, love the comments about Maverick not driving well and the pictures - that got me laughing. I needed a laugh tonight too. Maverick needs a license now darnit! got me thinking about Tunces (spelling) the driving cat :lol:

I have been thinking lots and I am going to keep looking for the perfect vet. I will be practicing out loud before the next vet visit. I'll get my friend to help. I'll have some canned lines made up where I'll get things going where I want them to. I love the DH idea too - smart!!!! At least we have a vet for flovent refills. I won't do the dental with him though. And oops I forgot the spreadsheet good one.

I am sooo not taking him OTJ. We are following the protocol. I would have to make up numbers for the vet lol. Unless they can do a test to detect Lantus I'm cool. I want to find a vet that is more up to speed on newer treatments though.

I drove four hours yesterday to get 400 test strips for the Relion Confirm. Saved $160 and I used American money so didn't lose converting it to Canadian. I also bought a hoody sweater and some underwear at Walmart. HAHA. The cool thing is the border agent on the way back (after they searched the trunk) asked what I bought and she had the receipt with my passport. I explained I made the trip for diabetes supplies and she goes is that what this and this is. I said yes. She said I was cleared to go...no duty!!! Sweeeeet. $200 on a day trip. Normally I'd have to spend 24-48 hours to buy things duty free.

I've been crazy tired the last couple days too. So glad the weekend is here.
 
you've got the right idea on having practiced conversations beforehand.

you probably are well aware of this, but much of counseling is a practice called "driving the therapy"...defining a goal with the client, then devising a map to get there.
I always have pre-session practice sessions with myself...anticipating every possible situation that the client may create, and what would be the most beneficial direction to take the session...and firmly guiding them back in that direction.
It's not so much manipulation as it is navigation...and without navigation...we lose the goal.

hang in there, Karrie...and don't take a backseat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top