2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284,+8/362,PMPS 384,+4/293

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323

Just keep testing for ketones, but it looks like he is just going to take longer to settle than most. But then again it's a lot more for his body to unlearn from 600+ to 60, than where the average diabetic cat does, since most I've seen in my time on the board start around the 400s, maybe 500's.

I went back and looked at his spreadsheet, it looks like everytime he hits yellow, he bounces and when he does he goes HI, then he takes a couple of days to clear that bounce. But right has he clears one bounce, he hits yellow again and bounce...rinse and repeat. Honestly right now I don't think you are going to completely get away from seeing those reds and blacks. At least not until he can get use to making it into the yellows. But what you are going to want to look for is do those blacks and reds show up less and less often? Is he spending more and more time in the lower numbers. We know this dose will at least get him to yellow, now his body has to catch up in retraining his liver not to panic down there.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284

He seems to be fairly flat so far, if he continues along that line, would that suggest a need for a dose increase? I think It does, but I can never find the info when I need it.

Yesterday's AM dose may have been skinny, would that also cause the spike at PM? I wish I could load his AM syringe at night when I am coherent, but I understand Lantus should not be preloaded. I really shouldn't do anything that requires accuracy within 30 mins of getting out of bed. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284,+8/362

Looks like he may be hitting black again at PMPS.

At least if he's under 600, I have a number to go by. I HATE not knowing, since he was over 700 at the vet and they kept him.

Only reason they let me bring him home, was because I lost my job and I'm sure they were afraid they wouldn't get paid. It's all about the money any more. But that's another subject.

Keeping fingers crossed, we'll see what he does later.
 
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284,+8/362

I think I would holding him on this dose at least through this pm dose for tonight and see what his preshots look like. Let's hope he has cleared the last bounce and settled since it was an easy drop into the yellow today. If he doesn't bounce tonight or in the morning, then go ahead and take him up a quarter unit tomorrow am. If he does bounce again, I think I would hold the dose and let him quit bouncing on it, before going up again as long as he keeps testing negative for ketones.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284,+8/362

I agree Mel. Looking at his SS, I really think he has done better on this dose than any other. Although he has had a couple lower numbers, he is more flat now. Not that it is the 'right' dose, but I think his body is adjusting to having a little help, ya know? I don't like upping him at night anyway, I'd rather be awake to keep an eye on him, although at this point in his treatment, going too low is the last thing I have to worry about. ohmygod_smile

Did I tell ya that I have tested him a couple times without his towel?!?! :o As long as his ears are warm, which they rarely are, I can do it in a matter of seconds and he'll be still long enough. But if I have to warm his ears, he's ready to get down by the time his ears are warmed, so I need the towel to keep him still. Maybe come summer, I won't have to warm him. It stays 69-70 degrees in my apartment and that's not warm enough for his ears, I guess. Unless he has been sleeping on one of them, then it's warm and I can do it quickly. :-D
 
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284,+8/362,PMPS 384

Yeah, that's pretty flat. :-D I did get his pmps 40 min early though, but don't think it would have been much higher, had I been able to wait.

He had been fussing to eat for over an hour by that time and even a couple FD liver treats an hour prior, was not holding him over.

So I went ahead and tested and fed and will shoot at his normal time of 8pm.

Now he's fussing for his shot, since he knows he gets his shot right after dinner, along with his treats. ohmygod_smile :lol: He can wait 30 min. :lol:

Compared to his highs, I'm not at all upset over today's numbers, first time he's ever been 'flat' and he needs that. :-D

Come on boy, you can do this! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/17 Lucian AMPS 323,+4.45/284,+8/362,PMPS 384

Compared to most of his days lately today was absolutely beautiful!! :thumbup I'm curious to see what he will do tomorrow....

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Well, it looks like he may have come out of that bounce last night. :-D Maybe he's picking up the steps to that 'sugar dance' after all. ;-)

I'm tickled to death with his 'flat' curve today. flip_cat Keeping fingers crossed that he'll do it again for the next couple days, then we can increase slightly and maybe bring him down just a tad more. I've been waiting 5 weeks to see him level off some, I can't tell you how happy this makes me. :-D I'm praying his little body is starting to understand what's happening and he'll keep on this track. cat_pet_icon

Have a good night everyone!

Nite Mel :YMHUG:
 
If you find that drops to 200s cause bounces, feed tsp food every hour before nadir.... that way you slow down the drop and lessen any bouncing.

Also, about testing..... test number should be no earlier that 15min before your shot. A great deal can happen in 15min at the end of the cycle, so if you test and then don't shoot till 40min later, it's important to test before giving that shot. Give yourself 15min leeway between test and shot.
 
Hi Blue, thanks for the reply.

I normally do it back to back, but he was pitching a fit for dinner. He isn't eating as often lately, since his numbers are coming down a little, so when he wakes up and wants to eat, he's really hungry. Tonight he hadn't eaten in 7 hrs when I fed him and he had been fussing for almost 2 hrs, so I gave in. ohmygod_smile Yeah I know, need to be tougher.

I don't feed him within 2 hrs of his test, in order to get an accurate reading that isn't food induced, ya know? But would it be better to go ahead and let him eat and keep the test on schedule and just make note of it on his SS? I guess so, but not sure. :?: :?:

Thanks, I really appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top