2/17 Eleanor AMPS 258 +2 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63857

I'm sorry I didn't get back on yesterday with more numbers. I have Lupus and am having a "flare" which means I'm a mess. Stress from not getting enough sleep can cause a flare - uh oh! I'm basically in bed except when I'm testing etc Eleanor.
She was fighting tests and shot last night, which was awful because at the moment I'm in a lot of pain and weak and not able to control her well. She's being a sweetheart today though, purred through her shot. Sure hope it lasts.
I was happy to see the 258 AMPS, looks better to me than the numbers yesterday. She seems more comfortable, but maybe that's my imagination.
OH! Since I quit testing her on the bed, she's sleeping beside me again.
 
Re: 2/17 Eleanor AMPS 258

That's a little lower than yesterday, I hope she continues the trend. I'm sorry you are flaring, that's no fun! I hope as this whole thing becomes more routine you will be under less stress. But as for sleeping, the kitties call the moves, so I hope Eleanor develops a fondness for low numbers only during the day. Good idea to find another testing place. Bed is for cuddles. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/17 Eleanor AMPS 258

Aw, Julie...sorry to hear you're experiencing a flare up...
may it be gone quickly!

sending healing vines your way...and very glad to hear Eleanor is back to cuddling :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/17 Eleanor AMPS 258

Hey I got Eleanor's Profile up! Had a problem adding photos, my mind completely stopped working. Hopefully I can go back in and add them later.
Got a +2 on Eleanor, 274. Hoping it's a bit of a food spike. She was sprawled out half asleep and I said I was going to test her, and did, all she did was yawn. I'm going to remind her of this the next time she starts screaming and thrashing from the excruciating pain of getting her ear poked. :smile:
 
HOORAY FOR YOUR PROFILE!

you might laugh at this...
About halfway through our lantus journey, Binks started yipping and yanking his head during ear testing...
BEFORE I even got the lancet out of the box :? :roll: :lol:

I laughed him out of that behavior pretty quickly. :-D

of course...Binks LOVES laughter...my Adoptocat Smudge, on the other hand...HATES it.
if I start to laugh at her, she growls...which makes me laugh louder...vicious circle :-D
 
Julie

Great job today with the profile!!!! So glad the tests are going better, too.

I'm so sorry for the flare-up! I hope you start feeling better soon.

So....I think it might be time to think about a dosecrease for Eleanor. I say "starting to think" because it's your decision. Under SLGS, kitty stays at a dose for 5-7 days and then we reevaluate. Eleanor got into a little green. Even in TR, we wait six cycles to see if the bounce will clear. But it's been more than that now for Eleanor. And it has now been five days (after tonight's cycle) since she got into a lower number.

I'd like to suggest an increase of .25u to .75u in the morning if you are up to it and want to do it. ON SLGS, we'd probably suggest a curve with BGs every two hours to see what her nadir is but you've been doing a pretty good job with the testing....enough for us to see she is staying high and flat. You are still checking for ketones, right?

So...If you are ready, what do you think about taking her dose up tomorrow? She "might" see a little new dose wonkiness at first where numbers go a little higher but then if she likes the dose, her numbers would hopefully come down into blues and maybe greens....which could mean more testing. But I'd really like to see some lower numbers for her, again...if you are up to it.

This is totally your decision. We support you in whatever decision you make.

Please let me know if you have questions.
 
First I have to say, that is so funny about Binks!
I think Eleanor needs to have her dose raised. Of course you know I'll panic when her numbers come down.
I'm concerned, I'm about out of syringes that are marked correctly, can't afford to buy another box right now. Do you guys just eyeball it with the ones with incorrectly placed marks? Can't really trust myself to do that especially with an increase. I'll figure something out, I guess.
I'll increase her tomorrow, by .25.
I was trying to do a curve today, but after +6, I konked out. I'll do one tomorrow after the increase. I'll be so worried, I'm sure I'll stay awake all day (and all night....).
Thank you!!! I'll be posting tomorrow!
 
i agree with marje's suggestion. i'm glad you're up for a little increase. as far as the numbers, just keep reminding yourself that eleanor's "natural" BG would be under 100. that's where her body will be happiest. i've tested a couple of non-diabetic cats and gotten numbers in the 40's - and heard the same reported from cats going off of insulin. when a kitty hits 50 or below we start giving them high carbs to bring them up above 50 so they don't pop back down again. but it's not dangerous - a little nerve-wracking at first, perhaps, but not dangerous.

the cheapest options for diabetic supplies is online - most of us shop from ebay, Hocks, or American Diabetes Wholesale. i'm a big fan of buying local except when it comes to these - the strips that cost $67 in my local discount pharmacy cost $34 at ADW. you can't hardly beat that, especially when you have to buy a lot of these things. anyway, something for you to consider to help your budget.

accurate, consistent dosing is important with the syringes. maybe take one that's not marked with .5u, draw up some colored water or tea and save it as a model for the rest. a magnifying glass will help you see where you're going, too!

i'm sorry you're struggling with a flair up - that sucks. there are a surprising number of people on here with chronic illnesses - managing your own and a cat's diabetes is a lot to deal with. i'm glad you found us and can get support here. :YMHUG: as you learn more and get used to it, this will become so much less stressful. as jill says, after a while it's like brushing your teeth.
 
Hi, Julie! I'm so very sorry your Lupus is aggravated; I know it makes life very very hard. Congrats on getting up a profile--it looks great.

Both you and Eleanor will probably get used to all the pokes in time. I've gotten so quick with the ear poke that Mookie barely notices I've even done it. The shot is a little harder for me to do, which makes it harder for him, which makes it harder for me. Some days he's just more wiggly than others.

Good luck with the dose increase tomorrow. I'll be watching Eleanor's numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top