Re: 2/17 Cobb +3 427(.1R) +6 302 (R+3) +8 345 +10 292 PMPS 2
I hope Cobb has a nice safe blue surf tonight.
Suzanne, we aren't pushing you to hurry testing, just letting you know that it's harder to suggest strategy or answer questions about what is happening without test results. So until then, it's a bit of a guess.
Neko is both IAA and Acro which provides a bit of a conundrum for me on strategy. Sandy has described nicely what you do for IAA and it means being aggressive to spend time in green. For Acro, since there may well be a working pancreas, the goal is not to earn reductions and heal the pancreas but rather to keep kitty in healthy numbers as much as possible. For me, that means keeping Neko at a dose where she is below renal threshold as long as possible so as much blue and green time as I can. However, due to the IAA component, I do try to keep Neko seeing some green, because I've noticed she bounces more when she's not which results in time above renal threshold. For me, a dose that gets nadirs in the 70s seems to do the job. The tumor in an acrocat can wax and wane, so it is a moving target. But sometimes it holds steady - last year I held a dose for a couple months.
A second part of strategy that varies based on test results is how to handle low numbers. I do have to be cautious when Neko is in low normal numbers, because food can cause her pancreas to kick in and lower the numbers further. For Neko, that means using HC. I still have to test MC, but she refuses to do a nice mid level surf during the day where I can experiment while I'm awake. :roll: I know that a higher % carb LC does NOT work and can cause her numbers to tank. When acro kitties get into reduction level numbers we do have to be extra cautious. Kitties with just IAA or "regular" diabetes may be able to get higher LC or MC to bring them up. This is where careful notes and experimentation can be your friend. Just in case, be cautious the first few times Cobb hits the 60s or less.
And lastly, if Cobb tests positive for acro, there are some side effects of the excess growth hormone that you'll need to be aware of and monitor. For example, organs including hearts can get enlarged so need to be monitored more closely. Soft tissue growth in the throat means smaller diameter intubation if Cobb has to undergo surgery. For Neko, knowing that she had acromegaly saved her canine tooth. Regular vetty saw red gum and thought tooth extraction. Dental vetty thought soft tissue growth on the gum and just filed the tooth back a bit. Cheaper and saved a tooth.