2/17 Buster PMPS 111, +3 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 105
+3 91
+6 105
AMPS 159
+3 73


Slipped right back down into greens - woo! He's doing really awesome! Didn't sleep a wink last night for some reason - dragging my butt today. Still need to give the droolers a bath finish up domestic duties but all I want to do is nap with furries - ugh! Today is the last day DH has to work on Sundays - yay! Now we'll both be M-F and we'll be able to carpool again (we work at the same place). I gotta get some ~O) or something....

Hope today is a good one for you and yours!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 2/17 Buster AMPS 159, +4 73

COOL COOL COOL
Buster sure loves his lagoon time!! Surf it Buster! Hope you get a chance to drag your tush btb!! YAY that you and DH will be going to tbp together and off on the weekends! Then you can btb together. Have a great afternoon. xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111 - is it ok to stay at one dose?

I'm not even really sure what my question is...but, we're on our 15th cycle at .94u. He appears to be in absolutely fantastic numbers!! We're supposed to just chill out here and keep healing, right? Should I be pushing him harder? I guess my worry is that he'll get comfortable here and not ever go down. Are you supposed to kinda keep pushing so he doesn't get used to one dose?

Thank you for your thoughts!!
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111

His numbers are beautiful, that's for sure. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Hopefully, Marje or Sienne or another dosing expert will stop by to answer your question or you can send them a PM. I hope you got a nap with the fuzzy feet.
Liz
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111 - is it ok to stay at one good dose

Ideally, you'd like to see more green and less blue. Given how well you monitor, you could consider fattening the dose and see if you can get the pre-shot numbers to come down a bit more.

[url=http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm:1io5e376]Tight Regulation Protocol[/url] said:
Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111 - is it ok to stay at one good dose

Hmph - I think mentally I just don't want to go back up to 1u. When I put him up at 1u he usually earns a reduction after about 12 cycles but then he doesn't hold the reduction. Seems silly to keep bouncing back and forth.
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111 - is it ok to stay at one good dose

Buster's doing great. I share your thinking on the dose question. Hope you find your answer, Tara.
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111 - is it ok to stay at one good dose

Tara & Buster said:
Seems silly to keep bouncing back and forth.
We are doing the same thing. I just think of it as chasing a moving target. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111 - is it ok to stay at one good dose

Yeah - I'm ok with being stable, I just don't want to be stuck. He spent most of the day outside today, basking in the sun and patrolling the back yard. He seems pretty dang happy overall, which is really what it's all about!
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111, +3 128 - ok to stay at one good do

His numbers ARE great! A little more green is always good though ;-)
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111, +3 128 - ok to stay at one good do

it's perfectly fine to stay on a dose if you're happy with the numbers. If you were to go back to spreadsheets of the old-timers who don't post anymore (because they don't need help anymore), some of them have been on the same dose for many months. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. :mrgreen:

At this point I think you have a couple of choices. Either hold the dose and let Buster heal on his own terms, or increase the dose and try to bring the preshots down a bit (and monitor because bringing the preshots down will probably bring the whole range down, including the nadirs). Even if you hold the dose, you need to keep monitoring mid-cycle because at some point Buster will decide that this dose is either too much or too little and he'll force you to adjust the dose.

That is a great dilemma to have!
 
Re: 2/17 Buster PMPS 111, +3 128 - ok to stay at one good do

Thank you for the input, everyone! I think I'll hang tight until later this week unless his numbers start creeping up. I have next week off so it wouldn't be as taxing to deal with lower numbers. And no, I'm definitely not complaining!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top