2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ?s

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone!
Glad to see the board is back up and running!

We have been doing well here. We had to reduce a couple times since Asher likes to go under 40! We are now at 3.5 units.

I reduced a little more this time since we have a dental this coming thurs. I’d like to get him on track that I don’t have to feed him at night to bring numbers up (we have been doing that a lot lately) , since the night before the dental I can’t feed after midnight.

It is going to be yukky as per usual on Thursday so I can’t wait until it’s over. The cats are relentless when they want to be fed and I can’t feed them, and the car ride is a hell (45 mins) with a cat singing to me the entire way. And I feel terrible dropping them off and leaving them, I could just cry myself :cry:

We have been thru two dentals since diabetes, but those two were on ProZync. In the past I was advised to shoot a half dose or no dose in the am before the dental (depending on how low he is in the morning). They give insulin at the vet if needed.

Now that we are on Lantus, would anything be different? We have started low after the dental and worked our way back up (over a period of days) to the normal dose with ProZync. Do you guys do the same with Lantus?

Last time we used 72 hour injectable Bupe for pain and it made things very easy. I hope they can do that again for us. (Before we used Tramadol which was an awful experience with the mouth foaming, etc) Our cats chart is marked “no Convenia” also.

Spreadsheet is current, any dental info you guys might have would be mucho appreciated. We’ll keep you posted. Thanks! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

It's my understanding that some of the issues with anesthesia and food have changed. My vet asks that we hold food from 6:00 AM on rather than from midnight. I don't think she starts any of the procedures until about 10:00 or so. If your vet starts earlier, that may be a factor.

My vet also asks that I don't give a shot the morning of the procedure. I get a test as soon as I bring Gabby home and then again at her PMPS. Depending on where her numbers are and whether she'll eat, governs my dosing strategy. Since anesthesia can lower BG, I am cautious. However, i get her dose back to her previous level as soon as I can. Gabby's last dental was on 12/7. She got half of her usual dose at PMPS and I was back to full dose at AMPS.

Here's info on dental procedures if you need it.
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

Good morning. Sorry I can't offer any information on pre dental treatment since we haven't experienced a dental with PurrFace yet. I do see that changing in the future though. I don't envy you driving 45 minutes to the vet with a yodeling kittie. Do you have to take him into Allentown for the procedure? PurrFace does that when he's traveling to the vet. It does raise the stress level for us a little and it's just a 5 minute drive. I was born and raised in Schuylkill County...Orwigsburg/McKeansburg area.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

Thanks Sienne. I think my vet starts around 8:30 am. I know I drop off early.

I too have been cautious about the morning shot the day of the dental. The vet usually tells me half dose. If memory serves once I shot nothing and the other time I gave a token dose. I will have needles and insulin for him that day, so if they need to give something later they can, but I ask that they hold off if possible. It has taken Asher days to get back up to a normal dose in the past.

I have a new young vet now, at the same practice I have been going to for awhile. She spoke nothing about the diabetes at the last checkup visit two weeks ago. I think when I handed her my spreadsheet, she was kind of blown away, and didn’t offer any suggestions or anything. Fine with me but I thought it a bit odd. Better than the all controlling vets, which I have dealt with in the past. In any case, the day of the dental I will give them a note with my wishes on insulin and other things, since I am not sure they have much of a clue about FD at all.

Thanks for the dental link, I’ll check it out now.
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

Hi Donna, so good to see you and Asher and have missed you. That's good advice from Sienne. It's been a while since Mags had a dental. Maggie did have the oral Bupe for pain at that time. The Vets seem to differ on when to start holding the food. Sending good dental vines for next week. Have a great day.
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

Donna, (or John?) that is SO wild! I grew up in Sch. Haven so yes, I know where Orwigsburg and McKeansburg is!!!
When were you in the area? I left in the early 80s and have been in the Lehigh Valley and surrounding area since. But I’m up there every week to help my Mom.

I live in Kutztown and had a very bad experience with a vet here in town, so I started going up to the vet my Mom uses on RT61 just south of Pottsville. We loved her vet, but alas he moved to Jersey, so we have the new vet there. She is very nice and right out of vet school. But, I really would like to get a vet closer, just haven’t found one I like yet. I have heard about a vet nearby that does housecalls and the practice is 15 mins away. That is the next one I’ll look into.
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

J.D. had a dental a month ago, and the vet wanted me to bring his insulin and all his meds with me (it was a long drive for me too). I told them I had concerns if they were to give insulin the day of the dental what time they would give it.. because if they give it in the afternoon after the procedure our shot schedule would be way off.

Sending perfect dental vines to Asher for Thursday.
 
Re: 2/17 Asher amps 181, +2 182, Dental ???s

Thanks Dyana. I agree, so I would prefer they not shoot unless Asher is 400 or something high. Unless they give a token dose or something.
 
We used a vet that was located half way between Orwigsburg and McKeansburg. I believe his name was Dr. James Federici. He's probably around anymore, if he is he's older than dirt, but I believe his son, same name, has the practice.

I have a sister that lives in Haven and another one in Orwigsburg. My brother is a minister living 1/2 mile from McKeansburg. I graduated from Blue Mountain HS...Go Eagles. I left the area when I joined the Air Force way back in 1968. I did have a 4 year assignment as a recruiter in Lancaster, PA. We've been in Texas since 1982. I really miss the mountains and "real" trees.

Have a great day.
 
That’s even more wild b/c when I was growing up we used Dr Frederici for our pets too :-D I always thought the drive out there was so pretty. Didn’t know his son was around. My folks started using Sch. Veterinary many years ago and my Mom still uses them to this day for her cat.

We like to go to the McKeansburg Tavern for wings :lol:

Yes, the mountains and green trees (when they are green :? ) are pretty around here. The winters are a little rough for me tho, someday I will live someplace warmer I hope.

I’m so glad you said something. Indeed it is a small world!
 
Hi Donna -

It's been a while, but I just checked out Asher's SS. OMG!!! AWESOME numbers cover boy!!!

But I also observed something... you've become a "yellow snob"! :lol: I remember someone telling me that pretty soon I would see more blues & greens and would despise those pinks and yellows. Don't think I really believed them... and then one day... it happened! :o No more IHOP for our boys, or swimming in the deep pink sea all day long (unless an ear infection messes with you!). Glad to see he's doing so well on Lantus! Who'da thunk, right?

Hope those great numbers continue!

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top