2/17-1/18 Jax

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Breakfast Club! ~O)

Jax had a decent run lat night but I am still tweaking the dose. I think I know where I would like to go this weekend. (I hope my plans go well!)
Recap of last night:

PMPS 338 1.2u given and fed
+2 284 Nice start to the cycle
+4 176 Wish it was a little higher but still acceptable. Given his snack a mix of frozen and wet. He was complaining.
+6 84 Now this is where the fun starts, will he swing up or down.
+7 77 Hmmm...
+8 90 Calling it a night satisfied he is moving on up
+11 318
AMPS 341 1.0u given and fed

Decided to decrease to 1u because I didn't really like that he held low at +8. He ideally hits nadir at +6-+7 so this may indicate I should ease back as I thought the +8 should be in the 100's. Also, Jax settles in to a dose and when he does that he will naturally go lower. That was the pattern he established when he was getting 1.6 before the new vial debacle. I think if I reduce to 1u and hold he will settle in on his own.

Well, those are my thoughts anyway. We shall see what this run hold in store for us. Wish us lucky!

Edited to correct the time.
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

I think easing back to the 1u is a good idea, especially since he likes to settle lower and you don't really want him lower than he was last night. Great dancing steps! :-D
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

Looks Great! I like your thought process on going with the 1 unit.
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

Good Afternoon!

Providing a mini update with the reduction of dose to 1u. Not pleased with what's going on so far.
Recap:

AMPS 341 reduced to 1u and fed
+3 302 Not a good start
+5 230
+7 228 1.5oz snack fed

I knew the #'s would not be as low as his 1.2u run, but this? The difference between 1 and 1.2 seem to be worlds apart. :roll:
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

You know Teresa... I didn't even see that but you are correct! Thanks for pointing that out to me. I think I will hold on 1u tonight regardless of PMPS to see what takes place on the evening run.
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

Well, I'm holding even though I don't like it.
+11 379
PMPS 442 1u given and fed

We haven't seen a number like that in some time. Hell, he came in lower after his hypos. Go figure.
I also noticed that he didn't bother to finish his food. A few bites and that was all. Highly irregular. Wondering if he knows the food spikes the BG and he's feeling pretty crappy right now, as is. He's content to groom himself at the moment. He's a trooper. cat_pet_icon

Oh well...gave 1u. Let's see what the evening cycle has in store for us! Hope he gets with the program and adjusts. Come on extra sweet Jax. Come on down for Momma.
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

that is ugly...
hate when that happens,
could be that it just wore off faster because it was less insulin.
 
Re: 2/17 Jax

Morning All!

Boy, does it feel early. ~O)

I don't think it has enough duration for Jax. Recap:
PMPS 442 1u given and fed. Just ugly...
+3 206
+5 168
+9 329
AMPS 430 Still ugly...

Was thinking about holding one more cycle but dh thinks it just simply isn't enough to get him thru 12 hrs. After all, he was at 1.6 before the change of bottle. Also, reminded me of the good run he had on 1.2u and that was pretty much that. 1.2u given and fed.
I don't need two males walking around here upset. Right now it looks as if only my civvie Dooley isn't giving me grief. :roll:

We'll see what this does... I'm going back to sleep.
 
Barring the ugly red starting and ending #'s last night's cycle was really nice, you got about a 65% drop which is about perfect.

The reds are a little bouncy bounce from the blues and greens but as his body adjusts to the lower numbers again that will go away.

I hope today is another great cycle.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Barring the ugly red starting and ending #'s last night's cycle was really nice, you got about a 65% drop which is about perfect.

The reds are a little bouncy bounce from the blues and greens but as his body adjusts to the lower numbers again that will go away.

Thanks for putting it in perspective for me. It helps to see it wasn't a complete failure.

Well, today was a good day as I got my u100's from Walmart! Yippee!! :razz: I was down to the wire with the syringes I got from Lori and Tom so I was glad to finally get a 100 count box in my greedy little hands. :lol:
I certainly did not want to eyeball anything on a u40. So I'm pleased with that. Anyway, on to the recap:

AMPS 430 1.2u given and fed
+3 337
+5 307 Huh???
+6 267
+11 315
PMPS 325 1.2u given and fed.

Not sure what was up with this cycle but I'll take it as long as we stay out of red territory.

A couple of things...I know that nighttime can be scary as they tend to go lower at night. I am thinking...to give his night snack at +3.5 or +4 so it kicks in around nadir so he doesn't go too low. The diet and schedule I had him on previously feels as if it no longer applies to his situation so I think I may have to switch it up a bit. I really don't want a long trip into Scary Town tonight so I want make sure I keep an eye out for any detour signs.

Thanks to all for your help, advice and encouragement...it means a lot. We'll see what this cycle has in store for us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top