2/16Ravan/amps139/+2 211/+6 217/pmps389/+4 301/+6 200/+8 153/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15ravan-amps61-2-80-6-88-9-90-pmps92-3-114-7-94.210791/
thoughts.jpg

Great weekend.png
 
IDK, maybe someone more eagle-eyed than me can spy a reason by looking at Ravan's spreadsheet, but I can't see anything obvious.
Maybe it's just a blip and not a major trend upward today, I guess time will tell
I know you've probably heard this before but it's true, some cats are just more bouncy
When I look at Ravan's spreadsheet, I see a lot of progress. I hope you can feel good about that :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
What a great day he had yesterday! All greens :D And last night wasn't too shabby either. It does appear out of place that today he would bounce when on 2/3 he had an AM and a PM cycle of all greens and decent cycle the next day with no real bounce. The only thing I can think is that this is a consistency issue. Those dang syringe markings can be off as much as .25 of a unit. Without calipers, it is really hard to be consistent. Didn't you say you got some? I'm so convinced of their importance.

Not trying to nag....
 
Didn't you say you got some?

Yes, someone here was so kind to send me calipers she no longer needs. I've been so exhausted & so far behind in my house work I just haven't tried them yet.
I guess once I get the hang of it ,it will be easy but I'm trying to figure out how do I do it without a light under the syringe? I watched the video by Marje & she has a light box under it?
 
Yes, someone here was so kind to send me calipers she no longer needs. I've been so exhausted & so far behind in my house work I just haven't tried them yet.
I guess once I get the hang of it ,it will be easy but I'm trying to figure out how do I do it without a light under the syringe? I watched the video by Marje & she has a light box under it?
Do you have a small lamp that you could put at your testing area. That's what I do and use 3.0 reading glasses AND a magnifying glass before I am satisfied that the dose is where it needs to be.

And you are right, once you get them set up it is so much easier and takes all the guess work out of the equation. It's like anything else, it's a learning curve and feels uncomfortable at first, but then it becomes second nature.
 
the dose is where it needs to be.
I always draw the insulin into the syringe while holding it up under a bright light. I don't get how do you draw up the insulin & hold the calipers at the same time?
I know I've heard not to squirt any insulin back into the pen but I'm not in a financial position to just squirt it out in the air everytime I draw insulin. A pen usually lasts me 4 months.

Now I'm having a problem buying just one pen. The Osco drug was selling me one but now they won't open the box & neither will nearly every place I called today!
 
I don't get how do you draw up the insulin & hold the calipers at the same time?
Here's how I do it. I get my syringe ready by taking the plunger up and down a few times to move the lubricant around. Then put the plunger back up to the top of the barrel. I then take my calipers with the dose set and see where it falls on that syringe just as a visual. Then draw up the insulin under the lamp with my readers on and fine tune where it needs to be according to the calipers with my magnifying glass while still wearing my readers. :eek: So, you are not holding the calipers while drawing the insulin.

I understand about not wanting to waste the insulin, but the lubricant in the syringes can contaminate the insulin when you shoot it back into the pen or vial. And that will compromise the integrity of the insulin possible shortening the life span. I have gotten pretty proficient in my draw where I most of the time don't even to squirt any out and if I do, it's not more than a .50 unit. I find that using the calipers first to see where I need to stop drawing really helps. And I draw the insulin under my lamp very very slowly so I don't over draw.

Check your local Walmart pharm some sell one pen at a time as does Marks Marine Pharmacy, that is where I got my last singe pen and they beat out Costco and Walmart prices even with the S/H charge. You do not need to be a member of Costco to use their pharmacy.


ETA: I got ahead of myself. After you move the plunger up and down to move the lubricant around, keep the plunger down lower by a few units than the dose you are on. THEN check with the calipers where visually the dose will fall. THEN move the plunger to the top of the barrel. Doing it that way keeps the black plunger out of your visual field while checking with the calipers first. I am making sense?
 
Last edited:
not more than a .50 unit
Ravan is on 1 unit to squirt out .5 is not acceptable! That's half his dose!

Walmart & Costco here will not open a box to sell one pen.:(

So you're holding the pen & drawing the insulin,then laying the syringe down & checking the insulin with the caliper ?

When I go to Marks Marine Pharmacy & type Levemir The only thing that comes up is Box of 5 pens?

Can I ask about how much did it cost for one pen & shipping?
 
Ravan is on 1 unit to squirt out .5 is not acceptable! That's half his dose!

Walmart & Costco here will not open a box to sell one pen.:(

So you're holding the pen & drawing the insulin,then laying the syringe down & checking the insulin with the caliper ?

When I go to Marks Marine Pharmacy & type Levemir The only thing that comes up is Box of 5 pens?

Can I ask about how much did it cost for one pen & shipping?
Joy, I was forgetting you are using Lev not Lantus. I was quoting single Lantus Pens. It's worth a call to Marks and ask if they will sell one pen. I am sort of remembering that I had to ask about single Lantus pens.

Ravan is on 1 unit to squirt out .5 is not acceptable
That is the MAX that I ever have to express out. Most of the time I draw right where I need to be or maybe have to squeeze out a drop or two.

So you're holding the pen & drawing the insulin,then laying the syringe down & checking the insulin with the caliper ?
After I draw, under my lamp I hold the filled syringe and the calipers in a vertical position to check where I am.
 
One pen was around 85 dollars. If Marks won't break up a box, how about you post here if anyone is willing to sell you one of their pens? Someone just might be willing to recoup some of the $$ they put out.
 
anyone is willing to sell you one of their pens
I just called Meijer's Pharmacy They'll sell me a pen for about $100 I ordered it & can pick it up tomorrow, I kinda waited till last min to get another pen I'm really low. Next time I might get one from the Supply Cabinet I heard someone named Alan sells Levemir?

I read that China was one of the best regulated cats Did Chris use calipers? It seems most of the people here don't? I'm not sure i understand why a small difference in the insulin dose would cause a bounce?
 
Oh good! So glad that you are able to get a pen. Yes, Alan sells Lev, he used to sell Lantus and that is where I always got mine until it was too difficult for him to get.

Yes, China was a well regulated cats along with Bubba. I do believe that Chris also used calipers.

The calipers help with consistency in getting the correct amount of insulin into the kitties each time. Not over, not under, just right.
 
I just pull up a little more than Ollie needs. Then measure with calipers (my kitchen light is very bright, actually to bright for me) holding syringe in left hand perpendicular over white paper towel and calipers in right hand. Fine tune and check with calipers until it's right.
 
Why does it cause a bounce if it's not Exactly the same??
I don't think it would really be a bounce per say, but say the small inconsistencies of eye-balling doses could mean Ravan is getting too much one cycle and/or too little. It's my understanding that this could effect the depot and he could get, say, randomly lower numbers a couple few cycles later that seem out of the norm or some higher numbers that don't fit. I've frequently wondered about that with Lou here and there. I bought some calipers, but I just haven't started using them yet. I think after a while it all comes out in the wash anyway. Ravan has been doing so well, maybe he just wanted a break from the beach today. (Is that really a thing?! :rolleyes:). I hope he gets back to business soon!
 
Back
Top