2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=+6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS150+4=212

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
We are off to a good start. I wonder if he dropped even lower last night. His last test last night was 124. He seems to go lower at night than during the day. It's good that he didn't go back up this morning. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151

Some cats will drop lower during the day, and some will drop lower at night. Then, there are some that will drop low both cycles. All you can do to find out is by staying up one night and test him to find out when his night time nadir is. He's looking great, though! Keep up the excellent work! :-D
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151

I could have tested more last night since I couldn't sleep, but I didn't want to stick him any more. He finally came up on my bed for a little visit after the 12:30 a.m. and left but at least didn't go back under the bed again. Thanks.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151

most cats do go lower at night. there is something called a "dawn phenomenon" that occurs in people and cats both - i'm not sure about dogs. we release hormones in the early morning hours that increase blood sugar. i'm just guessing but perhaps that's why the amps is usually the last number to come down in a cat that's on its way OTJ.

Dawn Phenomenon

Dawn Phenomenon

All people have the “dawn phenomenon,” if they have diabetes or not.

The dawn phenomenon is a surge of hormones that the body produces daily around 4:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m.

People with diabetes don't have normal insulin responses to adjust for this, and may see their fasting glucose go up.

The rise in glucose is mostly because your body is making less insulin and more glucagon (a hormone that increases blood glucose) than it needs. The less insulin made by the pancreas, the more glucagon the pancreas makes as a result. Glucagon signals the liver to break down glycogen into glucose. This is why high fasting blood glucose levels are common in people with type 2.

Steps that may help:

Eat dinner earlier in the evening
Do something active after dinner (such as going for a walk)
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91

I was going to leave but he is still dropping so I guess I need to test again in an hour? Do they often go lower after 7or 7 1/2 hours? confused_cat
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91

What a fabulous cycle for Max today! :mrgreen: :-D I'd test in an hour then maybe go. If you are worried, you can always leave a little low carb food for him to snack on if he gets lower. As for whether cat's go lower later, it depends on the cat and their mood. :lol: Some nadir around the same time each day, some (like Neko) like to mix it up from cycle to cycle.

I celebrate daytime greens as they most often happen at night for us. :roll:
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91

Thanks, Wendy. I always leave some food for him when I leave in the afternoon as he usually eats between 1 and 5. Once I leave I won't be back until 6:30 or so. I like it when eats most of his food before I leave so I know he hasn't eaten after 5 as I test and shoot around 7. He is sun bathing and sleeping as I write this. His only greens since home testing have been at night as well. We got a 60 at the vet's before he stopped insulin in December. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91

Nice numbers for Max today. Doesn't look like he's planning to jump off a cliff, but ECID! Hope he surfs for you so you can get out without worrying.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2=73

Yikes he is still going down. No way will I leave him. He just ate so hopefully the downward trend will stop. :o
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2=73

Beautiful cycle for Max today! :mrgreen: But time to surf and rise gently Max. Don't worry your mamabean too much ;-)
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2=73

Kim, I love Twice's story ( or should I say the outcome!). That cat definitely used up a couple of lives but you made sure he won't lose any more.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2 =73+8 1/2 109

great cycle for Max today. The more time he spends under 120 - the better. 73 is a very safe number for him. don't worry about that - although it was good to keep an eye on where he was going. this is super!
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2 =73+8 1/2 109

I bet you were right that he went down into green numbers the night before he was 139 in the morning. I was just concerned he might continue to go even lower and go hypo while I was out. Would you have left him before I did and felt safe doing it? People I know with diabetic cats won't give insulin if they are under 200. My vet said to hold it if he is under 100. Of course he is thinking Alpha 100. I'm a little scared to see where he is at with his PMPS in about an hour. I will be heading home in about 1/2 an hour. Thanks Julie.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2 =73+8 1/2 109

i would look at where in the cycle the 70's number is - if it's early on, i'd be a lot more worried than late in the cycle. i'd look at how many points per hour the drop was since the last test - in this case, he went down 18 points in an hour. while the rate doesn't stay the same throughout the entire cycle - it is one more factor to consider. the drop prior to that was 28 points in a couple of hours, so roughly 14 pts/hr.

i'd consider how long between the last test and when i expected him to bottom out and hit his nadir.

i'd also consider if it was a bounce resolving, because that can happen regardless of the time in the cycle.

So i'd think about all of those things and try to predict what might happen while i was going to be gone. Then if i thought he'd go below 50, i'd leave food in a timed feeder to open every half hour or so while i was gone. i might put some low carb in some compartments and higher carb in others. i might also try to rearrange things so that i could run home to check him, depending on the rest of it.

I got a 5 compartment one at Petco for Punkin and it bought me peace of mind when we had to be gone. i'm thinking you have a timed feeder already, but if not, they really do help you feel more comfortable leaving when you have to go. This is the one i used: http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Electronic-Pet-Feeder/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

People who don't shoot lower aren't following the Tight Regulation protocol, probably don't know that a cat's pancreas can heal and the cat can go OTJ if you hold them under 120. they also probably aren't hometesting. with what you are doing, elise, you're able to follow it and keep Max safe.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151+6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS 150

Thanks for the info, Julie. I don't have a timed feeder because Max is afraid of his shadow and I think he would be afraid if it made noise. He can't even get used to his newer scratching post so I have to keep the old one for him to sleep on. I may have to get one and give it away if he won't use it.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40= +6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS 150

Max is looking good today! I hope he gives you a nice safe curve down tonight too :-D . Have a great evening!

(PS I didn't think Chyna would go near the autofeeder either, but we gave it a try when I was home to watch...once she found it had food...no problem :lol: )
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40= +6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS 150

Elise:

I've had a couple of different auto feeders, and I really like the Petsafe one Julie recommended. It does make a noise when it turns, but that is what alerts the kitty that it has turned and a meal is available. It used to crack me up to watch Cinco's head come up and see him hop down from his sleeping spot on the sofa and go trotting off to the feeder when he heard it turn. I did have to show him the first time or two that there was food there, but he made the connection soon enough. He does much better with small snacks every three hours or so, and I wouldn't be without that feeder!

Nice day for Max. Hope he surfs smoothly for you tonight.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40= +6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS 150

Thanks. I will check out the feeder. Max eats small meals often as well. I feed him several times a day and if I can't be home I leave out his food as he is a grazer.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40= +6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS 150

once it's turned, it's silent and the food just sits there - unless you have another time set and it rotates again.

punkin was a little leery of it at first, stretching out his head to look and see what had happened where that noise was, but once he figured out it meant food he was enthusiastic about leaping for it when the tray rotated. the biggest thing about that particular feeder is to make sure the tray is fully seated. when we washed it and put food in it, then we always pressed the manual button that moved the tray around one slot to make sure it was settled right. if you don't have it fully down, it might only rotate a little bit.

if max will graze you might only need to always leave out food. i don't know. punkin sucked up everything because of his acromegaly, so there was no leaving food out. this was the only way i could get food to him over time without being there myself.
 
Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=+6 1/2=91+7 =73+8 1/2 109PMPS150+4

Well his +4 is 212. He will probably come down in an hour but the question is how much. Not sure if I will test again or not.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top