Re: 2/16Max AMPS151 +4:40=119 +6 1/2=91+ 7 1/2 =73+8 1/2 109
i would look at where in the cycle the 70's number is - if it's early on, i'd be a lot more worried than late in the cycle. i'd look at how many points per hour the drop was since the last test - in this case, he went down 18 points in an hour. while the rate doesn't stay the same throughout the entire cycle - it is one more factor to consider. the drop prior to that was 28 points in a couple of hours, so roughly 14 pts/hr.
i'd consider how long between the last test and when i expected him to bottom out and hit his nadir.
i'd also consider if it was a bounce resolving, because that can happen regardless of the time in the cycle.
So i'd think about all of those things and try to predict what might happen while i was going to be gone. Then if i thought he'd go below 50, i'd leave food in a timed feeder to open every half hour or so while i was gone. i might put some low carb in some compartments and higher carb in others. i might also try to rearrange things so that i could run home to check him, depending on the rest of it.
I got a 5 compartment one at Petco for Punkin and it bought me peace of mind when we had to be gone. i'm thinking you have a timed feeder already, but if not, they really do help you feel more comfortable leaving when you have to go. This is the one i used:
http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Electronic-Pet-Feeder/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
People who don't shoot lower aren't following the Tight Regulation protocol, probably don't know that a cat's pancreas can heal and the cat can go OTJ if you hold them under 120. they also probably aren't hometesting. with what you are doing, elise, you're able to follow it and keep Max safe.