2/16 Karamelle AMPS 381 +5 187 +8 161 PMPS 337 +2 339 +3 367

JoM

Member Since 2023
Two days ago (didnt post yesterday, hectic personal day) 2/14 Karamelle AMPS 352 +3 343 +6 344 +9 295 PMPS 351 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Shes just not breaking this bounce from a few days ago, even tho I raised the dose back up to .5. I didnt test much yesterday, it was a rough personal day, nothing to do with Karamelle.
What should I be doing at this point? This is just the 3rd day after the raise. I got some yellow yesterday, but its back up really high this morning. I can test more today if needed. What would you recommend?
 
Cats can take up to six cycles to show you what a new dose can do. Today is cycle just 5. For now, keep on being patient. It is also possible she came down lower last night and you are seeing a new bounce. Those before bed tests are really important to helping us figure out how low she is going.

As long as you are following SLGS, you will hold the dose for a total of 14 cycles/7 days. You also increased the dose too fast to 0.5 units. You should have held the dose much longer. Even if you had been following tight regulation for dosing, you would hold the dose for at least six cycles. The hardest thing about Lantus and it's depot is learning to be patient and not rush things. You don't want to bypass a good dose.
 
Cats can take up to six cycles to show you what a new dose can do. Today is cycle just 5. For now, keep on being patient. It is also possible she came down lower last night and you are seeing a new bounce. Those before bed tests are really important to helping us figure out how low she is going.

As long as you are following SLGS, you will hold the dose for a total of 14 cycles/7 days. You also increased the dose too fast to 0.5 units. You should have held the dose much longer. Even if you had been following tight regulation for dosing, you would hold the dose for at least six cycles. The hardest thing about Lantus and it's depot is learning to be patient and not rush things. You don't want to bypass a good dose.
Thanks, I am aware I jumped the gun on raising the dose. We'll see how it goes with this dose. Im really doing my best. Yesterday was quite out of the ordinary. Ive been dealing with eye issues (mine) for a few days now. Yesterday all just came to a head and it turned out to be an extremely stressful day. I went to bed shortly after the pm shot. Plus having dilated eyes and trying to see that tiny line on the syringe was almost impossible.
Things have leveled out somewhat today. Those pm tests are difficult. I can comfortably do a +2, +3 is a little more inconvenient because I have to get out of bed, in middle of reading, but I can do it. +4 falls after I go to bed. Im a terrible sleeper and have to take something to make me drowsy. Having to get out of bed and come downstairs to test her just defeats the purpose as Im not drowsy anymore after that. I need to come up with some way of handling all this. I dont think Im there yet but Im still trying.

Edited to add, just tested +5 187, so it looks like she just broke the bounce.
 
Last edited:
A +2 before bed is a great test to get. For many kitties, it can give you a clue how the cycle is going. So if +2 is quite a bit less than preshot, it's going to be a very active cycle that needs extra monitoring and/or extra higher carb food to be left out.
 
+2 before bed it is then. Thanks. We have 161 at +8, still falling, but not too much.
 
Back
Top