2/16 Bubbas AMPS 56 PMPS 507

Bubbas and Katrina

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-bubbas-amps-297-pmps-174-3-110.286725/


AMPS 56

He has been super super picky the last couple of days with his food. He barely ate his dinner last night because he didn't like the taste I guess, ugh. I completely blame that, but I had to skip insulin this morning since I didn't have time to wait for his BS to go up before I had to go to work. Was forsure going to do a curve this weekend but i'm assuming its not going to be a good curve day, Saturday or Sunday.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-bubbas-amps-297-pmps-174-3-110.286725/


AMPS 56

He has been super super picky the last couple of days with his food. He barely ate his dinner last night because he didn't like the taste I guess, ugh. I completely blame that, but I had to skip insulin this morning since I didn't have time to wait for his BS to go up before I had to go to work. Was forsure going to do a curve this weekend but i'm assuming its not going to be a good curve day, Saturday or Sunday.
Hi Katrina, it was good you skipped since you are following SLGS and he was under 90 so that was definitely the right call. He’s been seeing more blues lately and it looks like there were no test last night to see if he went lower also last night.
You definitely want to reduce his dose downward to 1.25 units tonight.

What are you feeding him these days? I wonder if there’s a problem with the food if he’s all of a sudden turning his nose up.
Is there something else he likes that you can feed him?
 
Hi Katrina, it was good you skipped since you are following SLGS and he was under 90 so that was definitely the right call. He’s been seeing more blues lately and it looks like there were no test last night to see if he went lower also last night.
You definitely want to reduce his dose downward to 1.25 units tonight.

What are you feeding him these days? I wonder if there’s a problem with the food if he’s all of a sudden turning his nose up.
Is there something else he likes that you can feed him?
Yeah I went to sleep SO early last night. I’ve been unusually tired all this week and I’ve been falling asleep by 8pm. But honestly I’ve tried different brands, different flavors, he will like one food for a week or so then turn his nose to it and will refuse to eat it. I have to almost daily add fancy feast gravy mixed in with his food just so he eats it (not a lot, maybe half a spoon full). He is just becoming VERY picky and it’s getting annoying. I try to keep him away from food with fish in it, but that seems like fish flavor or food with fish in it is all he eats (when he decides to stick to a food for a week or two). I don’t really know much else to do with the food situation unfortunately.
 
Wow, Bubbas....give mom a break with that number! I agree with Staci, I'd reduce his dose and look into the food. When Jack gets like this, and the others are still eating, I give him a dose or two of cerenia for nausea...you could try that if you have any on hand. Sometimes that does the trick for Jack. Hope Bubbas has a safe surf today and you both have a good weekend. :bighug:
 
Yeah I went to sleep SO early last night. I’ve been unusually tired all this week and I’ve been falling asleep by 8pm. But honestly I’ve tried different brands, different flavors, he will like one food for a week or so then turn his nose to it and will refuse to eat it. I have to almost daily add fancy feast gravy mixed in with his food just so he eats it (not a lot, maybe half a spoon full). He is just becoming VERY picky and it’s getting annoying. I try to keep him away from food with fish in it, but that seems like fish flavor or food with fish in it is all he eats (when he decides to stick to a food for a week or two). I don’t really know much else to do with the food situation unfortunately.
have you tried no sodium chicken broth added to his food? I used that and it worked...for a bit. It's a challenge when they get picky...sending hugs and hope Bubbas decides to be more cooperative.
Great suggestions from Christine for you Katrina.
What brands are you currently feeding Bubbas?
 
Turns out you don't need to do a curve this weekend anyway. He told you this morning with that 56 that 1.5 units is too much insulin and you need to go down to 1.25 units. Good luck with the reduction.

I sprinkle crumbled freeze dried treats or food on top to get my picky one eating, at least some of the time. :rolleyes: If he's really that picky and changing his mind what food he want to eat, he could be feeling some nausea.
 
Turns out you don't need to do a curve this weekend anyway. He told you this morning with that 56 that 1.5 units is too much insulin and you need to go down to 1.25 units. Good luck with the reduction.

I sprinkle crumbled freeze dried treats or food on top to get my picky one eating, at least some of the time. :rolleyes: If he's really that picky and changing his mind what food he want to eat, he could be feeling some nausea.
Thank you! Ya I need to figure something out. Every time he goes low it’s always because he gets pucky and doesn’t eat so I need to do something to make sure he always eats
 
Wow, Bubbas....give mom a break with that number! I agree with Staci, I'd reduce his dose and look into the food. When Jack gets like this, and the others are still eating, I give him a dose or two of cerenia for nausea...you could try that if you have any on hand. Sometimes that does the trick for Jack. Hope Bubbas has a safe surf today and you both have a good weekend. :bighug:
Oh ok so if he gets picky you give him some Cerenia?
 
Mine, when he doesn't feel like eating what I give him, I do what Wendy told you I take his favorite sweets and crumble them on his plate. Sometimes it also works to give him the food a little warm. But the hydrolyzed treats work better for me. Just a suggestion.
 
Do you know where to get no sodium broth? I can’t seem to find it at any store near me.
Here seem to be a few on Amazon. Probably a local store would have them also.
upload_2024-2-18_16-32-37.png

upload_2024-2-18_16-32-52.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-2-18_16-32-37.png
    upload_2024-2-18_16-32-37.png
    132.4 KB · Views: 102
  • upload_2024-2-18_16-32-52.png
    upload_2024-2-18_16-32-52.png
    120.2 KB · Views: 101
Oh ok so if he gets picky you give him some Cerenia?
I'm so sorry for the delay in responding, life has been rather unmanageable at my place. If Jack doesn't want to eat, and the others are eating the same food, I'll try a different flavor, or the no sodium broth. If he persists for a few feedings, I will give him a dose or two of cerenia. That generally seems to help. Cerenia is pricey, so next vet visit maybe ask for the generic they have available now...that;'s what I plan to do. Hope Bubbas is feeling better by now, I'm just trying to catch up on messages and haven't gotten to check on any of the kitties yet. :bighug:
 
Do you know where to get no sodium broth? I can’t seem to find it at any store near me.
I get it at a local supermarket, but I see it's online too from what Staci posted. But, Wendy has a good point which I didn't think about, so if you can, homemade is best- I just have a time management issue so I guess I got lazy and bought at the store. Really hope Bubbas is feeling better.
 
Back
Top