2/16 Bella AMPS 340, PMPS 132, +2 102, +3 127

I have the right strips now.
@Sandy and Black Kitty : I feed her after her shot at 7:30, then usually around 11-11:30, although some days it's earlier or later, depending if I am home and if she is hungry. Then again around 19:30 after her shot, and 21 before I go to bed. some evenings she asks again and I give her a little snack around 22 or 23h. She usually has either a small piece of mozzarella or some kefir, then. She loves dairy.
 
She's 132 tonight with the human meter. I wanted to compare, but did not have enough blood and did not want to annoy her with a second poke.
She scared me, her back leg was tapping the floor really fast, like when she's scratching, but on the floor. But she's not too low, so I don't know what happened, maybe she just missed her head? Weird. She's acting normally now.
 
You want to feed her a little food 2 hours after the shot as well. The idea is to slow down the drop at onset which is typically at +2 (can be earlier or later for some cats). In cycles where she starts lower like tonight, you want to feed her a little at +1 as well. In active cycles, a spoon of food after every test helps keep them surfing good numbers. So it's a good idea not to fill them up at shot time in cycles with a lower preshot. They may have to eat a little every hour.

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Don't bother with comparing the 2 meters. It is an exercise in futility. Many of us have tried and not come to any meaningful conclusion. Human meters read lower than pet meters. The difference is not much in lower numbers but can be over a 100 points in higher numbers. Save the strips and the pokes! :-)
 
I tend to do that at night, I feed her a little less so that I can feed her again before I go to bed. Or she's asking and waking me up :) She's going down still, but slowly, 102 now, so I hope she won't be too low during the night.
100 points in higher numbers? That sounds like a lot. So if they are in the 300, they could be 400?
 
If you are up, please get a +3 as well? :-)

And yes, the difference between human and pet meters can be pretty high in the 400s and above.
 
Back
Top