? 2/16 Bella AMPS 288 Pancreatitis??

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetMR

Member Since 2017
Bella is on her second day of 1.0 unit Lantus. Still hanging in at yellow
Yesterday afternoon she was less than interested in eating.. had some retching an hour or so later.. no vomiting. I had tried to decrease her cerenia to 1/4 pill. Upped her back to 1/2.
Doesn’t seem to be related to Hairballs...she’s had occasions like this. That’s why she’s on the cerenia.
( vet didn’t want her on long term cerenia... found another vet to prescribe)
How do you know if your cat has pancreatitis? Her lab work via the vet was negative. I did notice that when I put her labs into the spread sheet her lipase was elevated according to the feline diabetes parameters.
If she does have pancreatitis what is the treatment other than what I’m doing now?
Advice appreciated.
Thanks!
 
Was Spec fPL measured and what was the value?

Panc is hard to diagnose aside from that test, and even though, if you have symptoms and other signs you might not exclude it because of a borderline test.
 
Cats often have a triad of gallbladder, pancreas, and duodenum acting up at the same time (triad). Ultrasound can be useful (for Quintus it showed us gallbladder issues we then were able ne to treat). But US can also make you think there are scarier things than there are, so take care with interpretation! (See Erica’s thread)
 
Hope you can figure it out soon. Is she doing any loafing?

Jones' tell is he will meow very loudly and ask to be held over the shoulder so his tummy is all warm. I can tell then that his tummy is not feeling good even with the cerenia.
 
Hope you can figure it out soon. Is she doing any loafing?

Jones' tell is he will meow very loudly and ask to be held over the shoulder so his tummy is all warm. I can tell then that his tummy is not feeling good even with the cerenia.

I noticed she had little appetite for one feeding and then was retching/ nauseous about an hour or so later. Hard to tell about pain.. cats are so stoic.
Her numbers are in blue today!
She’s dropping ever so slightly.
I’ve been adding a bit of 15% to her regular 6% so she doesn’t dive.
What is a safe number to shoot? Thinking ahead.....
 
Was Spec fPL measured and what was the value?

Panc is hard to diagnose aside from that test, and even though, if you have symptoms and other signs you might not exclude it because of a borderline test.
Was Spec fPL measured and what was the value?

Panc is hard to diagnose aside from that test, and even though, if you have symptoms and other signs you might not exclude it because of a borderline test.

Spec fPL wasn’t done, vet didn’t see the need
Her pancreatic enzymes were “normal”
 
So glad she is eating better for you. Like Tracey was saying, one sign of them in pain is to "meatloaf.

Since you are following SLGS you no shoot number would be under 90. However with more data under you belt with shooting lower numbers, many of the people here following SLGS make that number lower in time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top