2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125 PMPS 152, +2 203, +4 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36796

Posting this very late, as I have been busy today. Todd has been doing well all day. I was out of the house for a couple of hours this evening. I just got home and did his +10, which is 125. He was acting fine, aside from some light shivering, but I think he is cold. It's 68 in the house, but even I'm cold right now! Plus he's shaved. So I assume he is cold. But he's eating right now just in case.

-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152

He's at 152 at shot time this PM. I gave a slightly reduced dose of insulin, just to be safe.

I'm still kind of baffled by his numbers. He's not going crazy high anymore, but he's unusually low from time to time these last few days. I'm very scared about leaving him alone for long. Like I've said though, he acts fine when low.. Maybe he's getting better?? Not sure

Any thoughts? Also, please remember he also has kidney.. I hate to say failure, because I think he's doing pretty dang well with that. He eats Hill's k/d dry (refuses ALL canned food) and he gets between 100ml and 150ml of Sub-Q a day.

-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152

I had a chance to check for ketones tonight. Just a few minutes ago, actually..

Put some plastic over the litter pan and waited. he was NOT happy about that. Anyway.. those color strips can be a bit hard to read. He is either negative or he has a trace. I did two tests and I'm leaning towards negative. The color wasn't pink (the lowest "trace" amount). It was more flesh tone, for negative. Which is good.

He took a couple of small licks of some canned NF, but was much more interested in the k/d dry. I think the problem with the canned food, is he just doesn't like the feeling in his mouth. Anyway, I'm going to do a +2 in a half an hour. Will also try to drag myself out of bed for a +4 or +5.

Thing is, he seems to be acting fine, but I think that because I am so worried, I am hyper focusing on little things that are normal. Like I keep thinking.. hmm. is he drinking more water than usual? Is he shivering or is that just him purring (he kinda shivers when he purrs), maybe he's eating less, and that is why he has low numbers?? (I think me may be eating a bit less, actually) he's bright eyed, walking around, chatty and such. Hard to say. I don't want to rush him off to the vet needlessly. It gets him upset. :(

-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152, +2 203

hi Sarah,

good morning!
a bit quiet here overnite, but I see you cross posted over to health
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=36888
so thats good.
hopefully you'll get some feedback thru the day on what's happening.
take care and try not to stress too much.
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152, +2 203

I hope so, Ronnie. I'm trying my best! It's so hard to keep calm and not drag him off to the vet. Usually when I have that "omg we need to go to the vet NOW" feeling, I have been right. But I'm not so sure right now. I don't want to push him when he appears ok and it's just the numbers that are off. And I guess one thing I have to keep in mind, he's old, has diabetes and kidney disease. he's not gonna run around bouncing off the walls like our 4 younger cats. he's gonna want to eat, pee and sleep.. mostly sleep. I guess that is what worries me, he sleeps so much. I suppose that is normal for any cat though. heh

-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152, +2 203

Kitties usually eat less when their BG numbers are better, which Tiger's are getting. When they have high BG, their body can't use the food properly to make energy, so they feel they are starving and eat more.
So, eating less when in better numbers is normal.
I would continue to get the ketones tests when you can. I wait until J.D. is in the process of peeing and then hold a little plastic cup under his tail, get a bit, and then say "Thank you".
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152, +2 203

oohh.. I didn't actually know that about BG and eating. Interesting.. so really, he may just be getting better?.. hehe That would be great news! Although, then I worry about his weight, since he is so skinny. :/

Time for his +4. brb heh


-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125, PMPS 152, +2 203

Once he gets enough insulin, his body will be able to use the food properly again, and he should gain some weight back.
Keep up the good work.
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125 PMPS 152, +2 203, +4

Gosh I hope so! I know much of the weight loss is due to the kidney disease. It really did a number on him. But I am hopeful we can get him AT LEAST back up to 11lb or 12lbs. We're getting closer to 10lbs right now.


He seems kinda.. meh, right now. But it's probably because it's 3:40am and I keep bugging him with ear pokes, noise and the lamps being on. He's probably tired.

I just did his +4 and it's 240. I think I need to head to bed though. I guess the next one I should try to get up for is maybe +6 or +7?.. I am leaving a bit of canned food and dry for him. He's not much of a grazer, but I don't want him needing food while I am asleep and I'm not there to help.

-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125 PMPS 152, +2 203, +4

With the rise, I think you can go to sleep for awhile.
Have you tried mixing the dry with the wet? He should eat it, once he's hungry enough. Then maybe, once he's used to eating a little wet mixed in with the dry, you can start to add more wet, and take away a few kibbles each day from his meal, until the meal is almost completely wet. Just my thoughts.

Have a good day...er, good sleep :-D
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125 PMPS 152, +2 203, +4

I've tried that. It doesn't work. I think the texture of wet food bugs him. If it's REALLY soupy and watered down, he'll lick it up. But when he gets to the actual meaty parts, he takes a bite, makes a face and walks away. Doesn't matter what food it is. :(


Anyway, sleep time!


-Sarah
 
Re: 2/15 Todd AMPS 302, +4 294, +10 125 PMPS 152, +2 203, +4

Sarah:

Have you seen Dr. Lisa's (Lisa Pierson, DVM) site on feline nutrition? She has a section on kidney issues. One of the best things for a cat with kidney issues is canned food due to the high level of moisture in the food. For a kidney cat, water is a good thing. The dry food is no doubt keeping Todd's numbers up. K/D is 35% carb -- it's very high carb.

The other thing that may be effecting Todd's numbers is changing doses too frequently. Lantus likes consistency. Any change in dose has an effect on the shed and can cause numbers to be a bit wonky.
 
+7 296

Won't fit in subject header..

+7 296

I'm gonna go pass out again. heh I'll be back in a while..

-Sarah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top