2/15 Shishi PMPS 289 tylosin/zeniquin questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35349

Hello all

Been a while since I last posted, lots of vet visits and work to make up for visits.

Recap of last 2 weeks
-Went to vet and confirmed small intestinal bacterial imbalance
-confirmed kidney infection via ultrasound
-Prescribed medication( Tylosin 100mg 2x daily ) ( Zeniquin 25mg 1x daily )
- tylosin for intestines
- zeniquin for kidney infection
- Shishi's BG in the yellows again after starting Zeniquin

Following protocol again and increasing the dose every 6 cycles, but not seeing any blues yet. Asking if anyone has experience with Tylosin and Zeniquin.

When Shishi was on Tylosin alone, I could at least see blues, but since starting the zeniquin, BG's have been rising and insulin seems to not do much at all.

shes on both medications now, and by the way, Shishi is on 5 units now see SS for more details.

Thanks again all.
 
Re: 2/15 Shishi PMPS 289

Hi Will

welcome back
I'm sorry about the results you've gotten, as for the meds, try adding "tylosin/zenequin questions" to your subject line to get the attention of those who have some knowledge on it, and also, try a cross post into the health forum.

lots of good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 2/15 Shishi PMPS 289

Hey there, good to be back again.

Thanks for the tip, will modify title to get better attention.
 
Good Morning: Tylosin and Zeniquin are both antibiotics. In small animals, tylosin has been used for its anti-inflammatory and antibiotic properties to treat colitis. I don't know what Tylosin contains that makes it an "anti-inflammatory. Perhaps if you call the vet they can tell you. If it contains a steroid it could cause the BG to rise. Hope this is helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top