2/15 - Sami - PMPS 299; +2 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning, Sami is still up in the 300's this morning, I am really hoping that she comes down back into at least the BLUE today.

Glad you got some rest. Wobbling is very normal during a bounce. What you want to watch for is if she goes way back up or if she becomes flat yellow. Either one of those is a signal the bounce is going to break.

When you say goes back up, what do you mean exactly? Last night she was down in the mid 200's, but this morning she is back up in the 300's. Is this a sign that she is going to break the bounce?
 
It can vary by the cat, of course, and Sami might not do it. But you might see yellow and then a pop up into pink..and then clearing. Or it might be flat blue, pop up into yellow then clear.

Because her PS and +2 are about the same, maybe today, she will break. Remember you are still learning her patterns and gathering data because she's new to blues and green this time around.
 
I am pretty disappointed in the last couple of days. Sami is still in the upper 200's. With her previous clearing of the bounces, I would have thought that she would have cleared this one by now. Any thoughts?
 
Last edited:
This dose has gotten Sami into greens and blues, so we know it's possible!

We all understand your frustration. This disease can drive you crazy with all it's nuances, but all we can do is keep on going. When it comes to diabetes, the cat is leading the dance...all we can do is follow
 
I'd wait and see where she is when the bounce clears to see if she comes back to green. Hang on another couple of cycles. Looks like Sami's slowly sliding down today, maybe she'll keep going down tonight.
 
Yes...you don't want to increase when they are bouncing. There's no way for us to know when the bounce will break, and if you increase on the same cycle that the bounce breaks, they can come screaming down fast.

We've also seen it enough times to be very careful when a cat has a flat yellow cycle or two right in a row...a lot of times that's a signal that they're about to drop
 
Well, she hasn't moved all afternoon. It concerns me that I got the same reading at PMPS as I did at +11 so I tested both my husband and myself to make sure the meter wasn't faulty. I know I am a little neurotic that way. I hope she does make a move tonight. I really don't like seeing those higher numbers.
 
Looks like Sami is starting to ease down from her bounce tonight.:)

Yes...you don't want to increase when they are bouncing.
That's not exactly right. You don't want to increase on a cycle when they are breaking a bounce, because the added momentum of bounce breaking plus an increase can cause a really exciting cycle. Libby wrote a really great post on Tight Regulation Protocols: Myths Debunked (&Bouncing). See post #17 which specifically addressed the myth of Don't Increase the Dose During a Bounce.
 
I did explain that, although you're right that my first sentence should have been better

There's no way for us to know when the bounce will break, and if you increase on the same cycle that the bounce breaks, they can come screaming down fast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top