2/15 Pearl AMPS 120...PMPS 180, +1.5 193, +3 147, +4.25 119

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning, all.

I'm hoping Pearl is turning a corner today. Her appetite is returning and she is content to eat the 0% food, which she hadn't been really able to stomach since the Pancreatitis episode started on 2/12 PM. I've still got her on sub q fluids, Cerenia, and Buprenex. We maaay go get some bloodwork this week, but that may also be pointless since I've got a good grasp of her issues and am already doing as much supportive care for several issues as is possible at home.

I don't know what to do about her BG numbers and insulin. Prior to the Pancreatitis attack, her NADIRs were in the low 70s to mid-50s, so I did not feel that I could increase. With the attack going on, her pattern is wonky, complicated also by the fact that she had more of the 3% food during this time for appetite (she is incredibly carb-sensitive). I also don't know how the Pred is playing into things. I had been forgetting to administer the Pred (during Pearl's good BG streak), so I don't know how adding it in again once every 3rd day will affect. SO!! I don't know what any of this means for holding steady or increasing. And if we WOULD increase, her pre-Pancreatitis numbers of 54 and 59 make me leery to increase a whole 0.25. Any advice on all this?

THanks and happy Monday!

Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-4-99-question-at-bottom.243118/#post-2741239
 
Last edited:
I can't advise to dosing but that is such good news about Pearl's progress - paws crossed she's turning a corner for sure :bighug:
 
I hope she’s feeling better and getting through this now.

She looks like she could use a bit more insulin but I’d see what she does tonight. Because you are there and testing, if you are sure she would eat, I might try to ease her dose up to 3.25u in the morning if you get a mid blue AMPS.

There is no harm in holding the dose another day if you want to give her just a bit more time to feel better send to readjust to the pred.
 
I hope she’s feeling better and getting through this now.

She looks like she could use a bit more insulin but I’d see what she does tonight. Because you are there and testing, if you are sure she would eat, I might try to ease her dose up to 3.25u in the morning if you get a mid blue AMPS.

There is no harm in holding the dose another day if you want to give her just a bit more time to feel better send to readjust to the pred.
Hi Marje, Thanks for your message! I don't know how much better she is feeling, but she has started to eat more of the 0% which is good. That started today. I am worried that if/when this pancreatitis episode subsides, her BG numbers will go back down - is that to be expected or no? Would there be any value in increasing her 1/8 unit instead of 1/4? I have calipers so I can do any fraction. (My worry is that she had gotten down into the 50s before).

I contacted my vet today to take her for bloodwork tomorrow. Just to make absolutely certain I am not missing anything that could be affecting her - perhaps an infection, etc. So I will hold her current dose until Wednesday morning, and pray she starts to show some improvement during this time on her BG numbers.

I'm also kind of kicking myself wondering if me forgetting that Pred has anything to do with this Pancreatitis flare. I hope I can keep that dose every 3rd day, it didn't seem to really affect her BG at this rate. I also have read that Pancreatitis kitties can be insulin resistant. Is her dose getting high enough to start wondering about this, or would I see no patterns of improvement like we have seen with dose increases if indeed she was insulin resistant?

Hope you have a nice evening and give some pats to the foldies for me! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Marje, Thanks for your message! I don't know how much better she is feeling, but she has started to eat more of the 0% which is good. That started today. I am worried that if/when this pancreatitis episode subsides, her BG numbers will go back down - is that to be expected or no? Would there be any value in increasing her 1/8 unit instead of 1/4? I have calipers so I can do any fraction. (My worry is that she had gotten down into the 50s before).

I contacted my vet today to take her for bloodwork tomorrow. Just to make absolutely certain I am not missing anything that could be affecting her - perhaps an infection, etc. So I will hold her current dose until Wednesday morning, and pray she starts to show some improvement during this time on her BG numbers.

I'm also kind of kicking myself wondering if me forgetting that Pred has anything to do with this Pancreatitis flare. I hope I can keep that dose every 3rd day, it didn't seem to really affect her BG at this rate. I also have read that Pancreatitis kitties can be insulin resistant. Is her dose getting high enough to start wondering about this, or would I see no patterns of improvement like we have seen with dose increases if indeed she was insulin resistant?

Hope you have a nice evening and give some pats to the foldies for me! :bighug:
Her BG might go back down a bit. Often with pancreatitis, they go up due to pain. She’s gone up a bit but really pretty minimally.

We usually find it’s better to increase by 0.25u so I’d rather see you give her a few more cycles and it might be more clear. I don’t know that missing the pred caused the pancreatitis. Try not to worry about that. I also don’t see any insulin resistance at this time. We’d be seeing BGs going much higher with no dips in green. We’ve got time to let her go another day although if you see any yellow, it’s time to increase.

I’ll check back tomorrow. Foldies patted for you with purrs in return. Vines for Pearl.
 
Her BG might go back down a bit. Often with pancreatitis, they go up due to pain. She’s gone up a bit but really pretty minimally.

We usually find it’s better to increase by 0.25u so I’d rather see you give her a few more cycles and it might be more clear. I don’t know that missing the pred caused the pancreatitis. Try not to worry about that. I also don’t see any insulin resistance at this time. We’d be seeing BGs going much higher with no dips in green. We’ve got time to let her go another day although if you see any yellow, it’s time to increase.

I’ll check back tomorrow. Foldies patted for you with purrs in return. Vines for Pearl.
Got it, and thank you! Wouldn't you know that little stinker...AMPS 60, +1.25 51. First time seeing green this the attack started. I'm hoping this means she is now "back" to her green self.
 
The old threat works!
That is some kind of strong magic for sure! But don't know if we're out of the woods yet....Her pattern today was really weird. Low in AM (first green AM preshot ever), then climbing a bit tonight.

I did not take for bloodwork. I will try to ride it out a bit longer since today there was some improvement. Talked with my vet, she wants Pearl to stay home on more Buprenex and Cerenia for awhile unless she declines, then we will need to do bloodwork asap.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top