2/15 Marley AMPS 180, +2 160, +7.5 77, +8 99, PMPS 351, +2 197

Only just seeing your posts from yesterday.

Also I was really only joking about the jinxing. Its lovely that you notice and acknowledge he is doing well and you do that often with no change to his BG. Just wanted to make that clear I dont think we jinxed it really!!
Of course, I know that. Don't worry about it :-)

How did it go with your nephew?

Watch Marley closely this morning. He might give you greens again. Start with a +2 and feed higher carbs if needed, to keep him over 40. You want to use carbs to avoid a reduction and keep him on this dose as long as you safely can.
 
Ok copy that!!

Mir went well with my nephew. He didn’t manage a test or injection but I think he pushed the lancet needle too far in and so he couldn’t get the ear to bleed but Marley was patient for a while so I think that should go well tonight.

it’s just my nephew is having a baby in April so I don’t know how free he will be. As soon as I have him up and running I’m going to try to get another nephew on board .!!


It’s getting desperate now. I am at the edge of my big overdraft!!’
 
A lot of petsitters cannot test. Bandit is a really gentle cat but I don't think she lets my sitter test either. He is able to give her the shots and fluids. So if you are able to find someone to shoot Marley twice a day and set up the feeder, that is enough. We will keep him on a vacation dose so he is safe without tests. That's what a lot of folks do when they travel.
 
I dont want to jeopardise his potential remission! A vacation dose kind of is right?

How long would he be safe on a vacation dose for?

The thing is my work is always really random and changeable to its one day here and there maybe a week here and there, or it might be ongoing.

I could def be home sat and sun, and then Mondays I teach yoga so am there on and off



but as I understand it, you have to go on the lower dose a few days before? So he would basically have to be on it the whole time.

How safe is that?
 
Thats really strange to me that Bandit is fine with injections by sitters but not tests. Marley I think is far better about tests than he is about injections.

Maybe its something to do with the sensitivity of their ears? And sensitivity of their skin.

Marley get upset when I am finding the spot to inject and so so gently im hardly touching him!

He doesnt seem to mind the actual test. but it has to be on his terms, and if he feels im imprisoning him or rushing him hes off. Its a real collaborative effort and he has to give his permission at every stage. If break that rule, hes very unforgiving. Its like he demands respect. Rightly so. One soul to another is how I see it!!! He's teaching me so so so much!!!

When it comes to injections I haven't mastered that yet in our relationship!
 
Yes, a vacation is usually for a few days and would have to be started at least a couple of days before so that the depot can adjust to the new dose. If it's the odd day here and there, you can always give a token dose or have the sitter feed him carbs to keep him safe.
 
Yes I think a token dose will be the way forward. So for instance if I cant get anyone to come in during the day - I could give a token dose and then whoever is dosing at night could give a normal dose as long as I am back by the latest +3.5

Do you think that could work?

But if I could get someone to come in at +3.5 in the morning to test . No need?
 
I haven’t taken anymore tests as he’s right beside me sleeping and hasn’t esteem his +3 or 4 yet. If he’s low he’s always hungry and looking for food so I’ve decided to leave him in peace when I can!
 
351!!!! So upsetting. And I was over an hour late giving him the shot tonight, he was so freaked out...and it was just me. My nephew is poorly and I think I'm coming down with something as I got really cross with Marley for taking so long and being so freaked out which is not at all like me. God knows wha† is going on for either of us. I am hoping for an early night tonight.
 
Back
Top