2/15 Gus AMPS 90, +5 77, +7 77 PMPS 61, +1 72, +3 65, +5 65, +7 70

77 @ +7 ( he was pretty insistent that I fed him - so I tested)

They call him ‘Pancake - hold the syrup’ now
 
Last edited:
Nice and flat. So far. Bewitching hour approaching.
61 @ PMPS… shall we go ahead with 1u and see if he earns himself a reduction?

it’s funny.. 3.5u and id shoot this number np but now I’m questioning .. :confused::rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Yes. Shoot. Get a -1. Good luck. When you were shooting higher doses he wasn’t on the downward trend. He must be watching the racing on the way Olympics and trying for a gold medal.
 
65 @ +5

ETA: I just did a urine test with a strip that has glucose on it.. usually I just use ketostix… anywho, zero glucose… I wasn’t sure how long took in the greens for that to happen. I know renal threshold is around 250 - but his pee still has the same appearance that it had with glucose .. he doesn’t like to cover .. Ruby’s doesn’t have that sticky look to it..
 
Last edited:
Pancake without the syrup, indeed.

Bandit the bouncer gets no sugar in her urine if she's been below the renal threshold for a few hours and then sugar again when she's higher bouncing. Renal threshold is again an ECID thing, I believe. Anywhere from 200 onwards.
 
I really want to check Ruby’s glucose for the sake of one test.. no symptoms. But she’s a spicy one.. and I don’t think that she’ll tolerate an ear poke (and I’m not about to fight for a one time test) I think she’ll let me do her pad though. That’s my mission for the week.
 
Pancake without the syrup, indeed.

Bandit the bouncer gets no sugar in her urine if she's been below the renal threshold for a few hours and then sugar again when she's higher bouncing. Renal threshold is again an ECID thing, I believe. Anywhere from 200 onwards.

Interesting, wondered if it was a short term thing while levels were high.. guess I could have taken more urine tests but with all the meter testing I had an idea where he was at - was more worried about ketones at the time and I think the brand ketostix is more reliable than whatever brand I bought that can test like 8 different things was
 
Interesting, wondered if it was a short term thing while levels were high.. guess I could have taken more urine tests but with all the meter testing I had an idea where he was at - was more worried about ketones at the time and I think the brand ketostix is more reliable than whatever brand I bought that can test like 8 different things was
There is no real value in testing Gus' urine for sugar when you are testing as much as you do. Sugar in the urine just means that at some point since he last peed, his blood sugar crossed the renal threshold and spilled into the urine. He could have sugar in his urine and test in normal numbers because at he time of the poke, his sugar is normal.

But yeah, for Ruby you could do the pee test - but she could be high but not over the renal threshold.

We've managed to test Budge once a year after we have girded our loins for a week before the actual poke. LOL.
 
I really want to check Ruby’s glucose for the sake of one test.. no symptoms. But she’s a spicy one.. and I don’t think that she’ll tolerate an ear poke (and I’m not about to fight for a one time test) I think she’ll let me do her pad though. That’s my mission for the week.
Oh this is so random, but I tried our dog last week because she's been having bathroom problems. Oh my goodness SO dramatic, you'd think I took off the whole leg/ear (and I KNOW I didn't hit a bad spot I watched 500 videos)
 
There is no real value in testing Gus' urine for sugar when you are testing as much as you do. Sugar in the urine just means that at some point since he last peed, his blood sugar crossed the renal threshold and spilled into the urine. He could have sugar in his urine and test in normal numbers because at he time of the poke, his sugar is normal.

But yeah, for Ruby you could do the pee test - but she could be high but not over the renal threshold.

We've managed to test Budge once a year after we have girded our loins for a week before the actual poke. LOL.

I wasn’t too concerned about the glucose urine test for Gus… and I can never catch Ruby using the litter.. she likes her privacy I guess. Typical girl - Gus is like, oh you’re here, let me show you what I can make.

I’ll see what I can come up with for Ruby. Honestly for a one time deal, I think the paw pad is the way for her .. I’d try harder on the ear if it was a daily ordeal - finger crossed that will never be the case!
 
Last edited:
Oh this is so random, but I tried our dog last week because she's been having bathroom problems. Oh my goodness SO dramatic, you'd think I took off the whole leg/ear (and I KNOW I didn't hit a bad spot I watched 500 videos)

Lol. Aww.. puppers. I can totally visualize this, dogs are big sucks. Cats are hard coded not to show you pain.
 
Beautiful cycle! Maybe this time he will earn a reduction by being normal for 7 days.
I was just counting the days like 20 mins ago! :D:D Didn’t know that was a thing until Wendy said it the other day… those 2 sneaky blues where on NS days :banghead: lol
 
I was just counting the days like 20 mins ago! :D:D Didn’t know that was a thing until Wendy said it the other day… those 2 sneaky blues where on NS days :banghead: lol
Sorry to burst your bubble, but it's 7 days on a dose. Not 7 days in green across doses. So he has completed 3 days on this dose. 4 more to go! I'm inclined to think he won't last 7 days on this dose. Fingers crossed!

Why are you still awake and online? :rolleyes:
 
Sorry to burst your bubble, but it's 7 days on a dose. Not 7 days in green across doses. So he has completed 3 days on this dose. 4 more to go! I'm inclined to think he won't last 7 days on this dose. Fingers crossed!

Why are you still awake and online? :rolleyes:

I’m not awake or online :rolleyes::smuggrin: I’ve been hacked!!

Wendy said yesterday that ‘…Cats can earn a reduction by going a week in green. Some cats do that. Gus might be one of them…’

I don’t know which it is but maybe we won’t need to find out :cat: You know Guster and his shenanigans best

ok, I’m really going to bed now .. I mean… the hacker is signing off.. ;)
 
Wendy said yesterday that ‘…Cats can earn a reduction by going a week in green. Some cats do that. Gus might be one of them…’
This is what she meant:

REDUCTIONS:

Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.

Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
 
Back
Top