2/15 Gizzy AMPS 409 - When can I up his dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
Every time I test him I feel like I got kicked in the gut! And then I start questioning everything...do I need a new meter, am I giving him his shot wrong, WHAT IS GOING ON??? Why aren't these #'s coming down - it's been almost a month! I'm pretty sure he needs more insulin - would you agree? Can I up his dose tomorrow?

I'm a worrier - can you tell?! When he was first diagnosed, I had him in full remission OTJ within a month and a half, so I guess I'm anxious. I'm preparing myself that he may never come off insulin this time because a lot of damage is being done while he is in these high #'s. Makes me sad...

In hindsight, I wish I would have left him at the 2u dosage and just watched him like a hawk. He was already on it for 2 days, it would have been interesting to curve him after another couple days to see where he was at....oh well, we'll get there!

Sorry for being Debbie Downer this morning...just a lot on my mind! Thanks for listening and of course, thanks for helping me and the Gizman! ;-)
 
I believe part of the problem may be dose hopping. Lantus likes consistency. Changing the dose frequently creates bouncing. I'm sure others will be along and offer their comments. I have copied and posted the dosing guidelines below. Hope this helps.

"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Good morning guys .. I don't really have any advice as far as moving the dose but I do know that even though gizzy's numbers are high and have been high for awhile doesn't mean he won't ever come off insulin again .. there are kitties here who have gone OTJ twice .. Jill and Alex I believe are one of them .. it just takes a lot of hard work (as you know) But don't give up on him just yet .. he might surprise you!
 
Good morning! Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36746
We like to link the previous condo to the first post of each day so that it is easy to just click and see what transpired the day before.
It is so true that Lantus likes consistency and for us Beans patience is what we need a good supply of...
Happy that you are here on the forum....Gizzy will be doing better soon. The inflammation might be getting better as Sienne said yesterday. You are doing a good job...doing all the right things. hang in there!
This is the 5th cycle on this dose, right? Some kitties take the full 6 cycles to see changes....wonder what you will see with the numbers today.
 
Lantus also takes time and patience. The one thing I have to constantly remind myself is that I'm not in control of this process -- Gabby is. She's the one leading in the sugar dance. I just get to follow along.

Barbara posted the modified guidelines that we often use. If you look at the Tilly Protocol, you could increase dose as soon as after 4 cycles. You could conceivably increase by 0.25u tonight.
 
I kept him at 1.5u tonight as I honestly didn't read your post until right now! Oops!! :)

So in the morning, you think I should just increase by .25 and not a full .5? Even though his #'s seem to be remaining in the 300's at nadir?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top