? 2/15 Fistuk AMPS 65, +3 88, +6.5 61, +9.75 68 PMPS 59, +3 97::HOLIDAY DOSE?

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-14-fistuk-happy-meowlentines-day.298352/#post-3245776

Happy Caturday :):coffee::coffee::coffee:

26th cycles on 1.25U. Fistuk is looking not so bad :) He's had less lime teasing because -DH made that assumption and I think he's right - Fistuk had digestion discomfort probably bc of the AB.

The second course of AB helped dry his eye tears which means probably reducing the inflammation until we get the dental surgery. But it looks like even though it didn't cause diarrhoea it did cause him some discomfort and for about three days he had me real worried.

He would eat his snacks but the big meals morning and evening he looked like he would rather move house than eat. I had to syringe feed him and he was his enthusiastic self as if normally is when seeing the syringe. He ate, cooperated, didn't push me away but it was obv he wasn't feeling great.

Since yesterday he's eating normally again, by himself and the full amount so I'm hugely relieved:joyful::joyful::joyful:

Also, I noticed he goes less to the toilet. Or more accurate he pees less because we need to take him to the toilet unless it's for baked goods he doesn't go by himself.

It's not a dramatic change but there's a change - he used to pee after breakfast, after nadir snack and after supper or before bed. Now he pees only twice a day. No meow pain or anything else unusual. Last urine test (taken directly from the bladder by the vet) came with no bacteria.

I have for a couple of times the cranberry extract that helped him in the past. because it causes soft bakery I give 1/2 a capsule every other days or every two days. I discontinued because he wasn't eating and had nausea face so I wanted to eliminate the reasons. I will keep him off it for the time being.

What I think we need is good PB and that's still a pain in the booty to find a sugar free and good one in Switzerland.

We're travelling to Bilbao On the coming Tuesday And I want to give him holiday dose, especially since yesterday's nadir he decided on a 50's retro again :bookworm:

I'm wondering if 1U would be good - @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee would appreciate your guidance.

A friend will be staying here. I'm teaching her how to take care of diabetes. She's working a few days during the stay and on those days the cat sitter will come for +3 and +7. Otherwise Sunniva is home. Testing will be more or less normal.

But I'd like to make it easier for Sunniva and also to be stress free as much as I can be when I'm away :banghead: Not an easy one for me even when DH is with him....


Wishing you all a peaceful and boring Caturday
In the pic Prince cleaning Fistuk. He always hated it and didn't let him do that as soon as he grew a little bit.
upload_2025-2-15_11-10-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-15_11-10-3.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-15_11-10-3.jpeg
    82.1 KB · Views: 158
Good luck with your trip! Let me know if you find any good tips for training others to do tests and the shots. That has proven difficult for us. I’m going to speculate that you could even do a lower dose than 1 unit. Let’s see what the folks say :bighug:
 
If your friend will be able to test I think 1.0 will work and if the bf starts to go down into low 50’s often go down to .75 until numbers trend up. Let me think about this and I’ll get back to you.
 
If your friend will be able to test I think 1.0 will work and if the bf starts to go down into low 50’s often go down to .75 until numbers trend up. Let me think about this and I’ll get back to you.
Today I had a sense that he might visit the 50'2 again so I tested at+6.5 to get ahead of the nadir and sure enough if I had waited to +7 he would have gone to the 50's
 
Good luck with your trip! Let me know if you find any good tips for training others to do tests and the shots. That has proven difficult for us. I’m going to speculate that you could even do a lower dose than 1 unit. Let’s see what the folks say :bighug:
Thanks, Tim :) I'm going regularly to Bilabo since one of my training centres are there and it's nice that DH can join me this time.

I taught many cat sitters so far. I have too. There are very few who know how to do it.
I'm not sure what you mean about tips. I just teach them what I know. Some pick it up quickly, others take more time.
The most important thing is that Fistuk likes them. Then everything is ok bc he's very pokable.
I normally teach testing first. When they've got it I teach jabbing. I give them the picture of the sweet spot and show them how to look for the bevel in the lancet.
If you share something more specific you've found challengin I'd be happy to see if there's something from my experience that can help :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
9 days!!! Good for you.
Do you think he'll eat well for the sitter? How much longer is the course of AB?
Since you have a few days, I might start the vacation dose of 1 unit at next shot time so you have some cycles to review allocating for time for the depot to readjust before you leave making it easier to determine if you may have to go lower.
 
9 days!!! Good for you.
Do you think he'll eat well for the sitter? How much longer is the course of AB?
Since you have a few days, I might start the vacation dose of 1 unit at next shot time so you have some cycles to review allocating for time for the depot to readjust before you leave making it easier to determine if you may have to go lower.
That's great advice. Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree with Angela. You always want to start the vacation dose a few days before you leave. If you think he won’t eat well, try .75 although it’s harder to measure it would be less than 1.0. The sitter could also lower the dose if needed while you are away.
 
Hi Shelly,

sorry to read Fistuk was not eating well. I started giving the antibiotics with omeprazol (30 min. before the antibiotics) and felt it helped Binie to cope with her tummy problems. I also give Cerenia on some days.

Finding a pb without sugar is really a problem. I was not successful so far. I wish we could buy visbiome here. I give one with maltodextrin now because I have to give something.

So glad you have people knowing how to take care of Fistuk while you are away. I hope you have a beautiful time in Spain! Hope you find a good vacation dose for him.

The boys in the box are super cute, thank you for the sweet pic! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Do you think he'll eat well for the sitter? How much longer is the course of AB?
Yes 9 days is now bar at all.
And I’m truly blessed that my friend was happy to come over and take care of Fistuk.
After this evening, where she’s had her first time testing feeding and jabbing mostly by herself, I feel she’ll be fine and he’ll eat normally his usual feeding portions.
 
I agree with Angela. You always want to start the vacation dose a few days before you leave. If you think he won’t eat well, try .75 although it’s harder to measure it would be less than 1.0. The sitter could also lower the dose if needed while you are away.
We’re down to 1U as of tonight. So I’ll have 5 cycles before I leave.
We use a ruler so she can easily measure 0.75 if needed. I’ll check in here again to post how he’s doing and see if another reduction is needed.
Thanks for your support :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

sorry to read Fistuk was not eating well. I started giving the antibiotics with omeprazol (30 min. before the antibiotics) and felt it helped Binie to cope with her tummy problems. I also give Cerenia on some days.

Finding a pb without sugar is really a problem. I was not successful so far. I wish we could buy visbiome here. I give one with maltodextrin now because I have to give something.

So glad you have people knowing how to take care of Fistuk while you are away. I hope you have a beautiful time in Spain! Hope you find a good vacation dose for him.

The boys in the box are super cute, thank you for the sweet pic! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike :)
Happy to see you here. I looked for your last update and it must have been a while ago since I couldn't find one.

I try to refrain from giving Fistuk too many medications. I'm happy the AB is over and that he was able to get through whatever digestive discomfort he was challenged by.

I did a search for omeprazol because I didn't know what it is and in the results there was a recommendation for a digestive enzyme product by Sunday Natural - are you familiar with that brand? There's based Germany and I order from them regularly.

I was curious about this product and wonder if it could be used as an alternative to the medication. Have a look:

https://www.sunday.de/en/digezyme-capsules-150mg.html

At the moment I'm not going to make any changes as we're leaving in a couple of days. But Im curios to try when we're back.

It does, however, contain maltodextrin which is made of sweet potato starch and not maize. Maize is really akin to poison for cats.

I wish too we could have bought Visbiom here. Switzerland has strong protection on their local pharma scam economy :( Luckily we have good natural products here but probiotics is a huge blind spot.

I'm looking forward to our travel. We're going for training so it won't be just a holiday but not that I'm complaining ;)

I hope that you and Binie are well :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's great that she could come early, too. You really have an amazing group of people around Fistuk
I hope you can enjoy your time away.
The photo of your babies is beautiful.
Hi Cecile :)

You know, when you wrote that I have an amazing group of people to support Fistuk (and us!) I like paid attention to it anew, as if for the first time.
I'm truly grateful that we do have quite a few people that when we need are happy to be here for us.
Even our neighbour that felt a bit daunted when I asked her to help again is willing to do so.

I'm afraid that the fir grains you sent me didn't survive :( I used them for a while. I think I start in the summer, and it produced so much that I didn't know what to do with it all. I tried to stop and kept them in the fridge with some fermented milk to keep them alive but they didn't.

I'll look to get some more because I want to try and give it to him again when we're back. I think it did him good.

Thank to a conversation with a consultant from Animalbiom which I used to test his gut a year ago, I learned that I shouldn't be concerned if at first he meow with discomfort, Sh told me that when the new bacteria colonises the gut it can create gas and she instructed me how to help him release the gastric gas.
Sending you a big hug :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You can try to revive them, I thought mine died but I was actually putting too many grains in milk (or not enough milk, maybe!), I think they are almost impossible to kill.
My daughter took some with her to Montreal, one of her roommates is from Russia and he is very happy to have them :-)
 
Hi Heike :)
Happy to see you here. I looked for your last update and it must have been a while ago since I couldn't find one.

I try to refrain from giving Fistuk too many medications. I'm happy the AB is over and that he was able to get through whatever digestive discomfort he was challenged by.

I did a search for omeprazol because I didn't know what it is and in the results there was a recommendation for a digestive enzyme product by Sunday Natural - are you familiar with that brand? There's based Germany and I order from them regularly.

I was curious about this product and wonder if it could be used as an alternative to the medication. Have a look:

https://www.sunday.de/en/digezyme-capsules-150mg.html

At the moment I'm not going to make any changes as we're leaving in a couple of days. But Im curios to try when we're back.

It does, however, contain maltodextrin which is made of sweet potato starch and not maize. Maize is really akin to poison for cats.

I wish too we could have bought Visbiom here. Switzerland has strong protection on their local pharma scam economy :( Luckily we have good natural products here but probiotics is a huge blind spot.

I'm looking forward to our travel. We're going for training so it won't be just a holiday but not that I'm complaining ;)

I hope that you and Binie are well :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Shelly,
omeprazol is usually for humans and it helps to keep the acid down. I don't like giving it because it has a rebound effect but it seems to help while she has to take antibiotics so I use it. I looked up the product but I was not sure if it is doing the same thing. It breaks down the nutrients for better absorbtion but I am not sure, if it helps to keep the acid down. But anyhow it looks like a useful supplement.

If I ever find a good probicotic here I will let you know. Thanks to you Binie gets kefir now (and me too).

Going away for training also sounds nice. I hope you have a wonderful time! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You can try to revive them, I thought mine died but I was actually putting too many grains in milk (or not enough milk, maybe!), I think they are almost impossible to kill.
My daughter took some with her to Montreal, one of her roommates is from Russia and he is very happy to have them :)
Ohhh such a shame, I should have asked you before I already threw them away :(
 
It's OK, they multiply so fast! I'll bring some with me when I go to see my mom this spring, if you want some. Lyon to you is way shorter than Minneapolis to you ;-)
 
Back
Top