2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261 +4 244 +7 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63686
Eleanor was fine all night, higher than I had hoped but at least I wasn't scared to death :smile:
Will see what happens the rest of the day. PU/PD really bad but she feels good. After I started the Lantus she acted like she didn't feel well, but today she is her old self.
Tomorrow will be a week and I'm wondering if she needs a dose increase.
I see a couple of you checked in on me in the night. I'm sorry I didn't get on to keep you posted, I was so darn tired I was trying to get some sleep in between chasing Eleanor around to check her blood. Thank you though.
I keep putting SLGS Approach in my signature but it is not showing up.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

no worries - just wanted to check in and see how you were doing. Eleanor comes first!

that's a pretty good start to the day - better than punkin's was, that's for sure! here's the details on how to create a profile.

following SLGS, i'd like to get some more opinions on it, but i think you should hold the dose. the curve you did yesterday (following step 3 below) was flat and almost looks like it might be a portion of a bounce. i'm saying that because on 2/11, on the same dose, eleanor got down to 99. by that evening, she's in the 300's in response to that 99. since then she's been dancing around in the 200's and 300's. i think that would indicate that you should hold the dose the same for another few days. i'm looking at the part i bolded in the quote below. the general idea is that if you see a lower number, like the 99, on a particular dose you will see it again when everything settles down. so you wait until you see it again now, and then re-evaluate.

Start Low Go Slow
Step 2.
Don't increase the dose until your cat has been on it for at least a week. If you have reason to be concerned about hypoglycemia, or if your cat won't eat, do decrease the dose and contact your vet. Do test your cat's urine frequently during the regulation process using Ketostix or Ketodiastix, and contact your vet immediately if the cat tests positive for ketones. Do be consistent in the timing and type of food. Do give the shots at about the same time every day.

Step 3.
After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat's normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):

If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
Step 4.
Repeat the cycle of curving and waiting 1-2 weeks. As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change). Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

for your signature - you can only have a certain number of characters in your sig line. i wonder if you might be at the limit. does it give you any kind of a message when you try to edit it? you might try to to edit out the part on what kind of food she was fed before DX and see if that frees up enough space for you to put SLGS in it.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

Hi Julie:

I'm glad everything was ok last night....I was worried :-D

Here's the link to create a profile: Creating a Profile

If you have any problems at all, please PM me....you can even PM me your phone number and I'll walk you through it on the phone. It seems like alot
of steps but it's not.....I just broke it down. I can also create some of it for you if need be.

I agree with Julie (Punkin) in that you probably have too much in your signature. Once you create the profile, you can take alot of it out on foods and put it in the profile because you'll need the space to link to your profile as well as put the "SLGS Approach".

I also agree with Julie that you should hold the dose. I reviewed the SLGS Approach Info with an experienced member and because Miss Eleanor has gotten into the 90s, as Julie said, I'd give it more time at this dose.

When you do a test, could you please update your subject line and let us know the results? That way it is easier to follow her; if, for instance, I saw a test that was a lower number, I could hop right into your condo and see if you needed any help. If the AMPS is there all day, we would assume everything is ok....which it was yesterday. :-D

Thanks so much!! Have an awesome day and let me know if you need any help with that profile.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

Thank you for all this Julie and Marjorie! I'll keep her at the .5 dose.
I'll test her a bit later. You know the shots are very late in the AM and the PM! And when I do I'll update the subject line.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

i was having this sense of deja vu and went back and looked - marje posted this yesterday in your condo. i'm copying it here so i can remember it! :lol: i should've looked harder before i posted an answer to you. sorry about that.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Yes...she is flat. That's why it's important to watch her tonight and tomorrow.....she might clear that bounce soon.

I consulted the members experienced with the SLGS approach and if/when Eleanor has her lowest point in a cycle that is below 90, then you will want to decrease her insulin to .25u on the first cycle following a number below 90. Until then, just keep shooting the .5 u.

I'm not going to be awake for your PMPS.....tomorrow is my one day a week that I work. i'll check in with a few folks to see if they can keep an eye out for you. Her PMPS will be about midnight tonight? Is that correct?

i'm used to the TR protocol, so just want to make sure i'm giving you accurate advice.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

It's okay, it's really hard for me to remember everything. I have so much printed out but after awhile my brain just shuts down.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

oh yeah. i hear ya on that. i don't know what it is, but i seem to have developed a teflon brain in the last few years. let's blame hormones! :lol:
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261

My lounge floor was carpeted in FD printouts for weeks after diagnosis :lol: you can only take so much in at a time so don't be concerned if you can't remember something and need to ask again (however many times) we are here to help :smile: Glad everything's okay, you sound much more relaxed which is excellent - you needed that sleep!
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261 +4 244

Doesn't look like Eleanor's quite ready to clear that bounce yet. If I were you I'd go for a +7 instead of a +6 today to get a number in that area. Also it's clear that she won't go too low between now and then.

Do you have ketodiastix to test her urine for ketones? You can pick them up from any pharmacy.
 
Re: 2/15 Eleanor AMPS 261 +4 244

Hi, Julie -- you're doing great and so is Eleanor. Ditto on the pages and pages of FD info. It can be overwhelming to take it all in. I have to review the protocol regularly.

Eleanor is so pretty! When you do her profile, I for one would love to see a few more pics of her. :-D
Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top