2/15 Checkers pmps 455 +2/376 +3/349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88953&p=952699#p952699


Good Morning LL

Checkers wasn't thrilled with breffis,(not unusual), but ate a little FF. He was just being picky, I think.
He inhaled the Pill Pocket with med in it. Clancy was happy to help Checks eat his fud. :-D

The minute I see any hint of problem with the 5mg of Meth, I'll let vet know....he told me to, anyway.
I wish we could check this ourselves, like the glucose. Not to adjust dose, just to know how it's working.

Thanks to all, who helped me, and gave advice yesterday.
Ella, I will check the links you gave, when I'm brave enough; right now, I'm scared of what I'll see. :oops:
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274

(((Barb & Checkers))) Glad that all is behind you now...wow! Hoping for good luck with the meth...
I have Graves disease and was hyper too. Have been on Methimazole for awhile now...(and am now doing the Block & Replace therapy where I take Synthroid along with the Methimazole instead of doing the RA131 treatment. Hoping for the best....)
It might take awhile until the meds really start working on the thyroid Barb....but at least having the dx is a good start to dealing with it. Good luck with the other issues too....sending hugs to you both... :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245

Good Morning, Barb & Checks,

No need to be afraid of what you will see on those links I sent you. They were not meant to scare you. Start with Dr. Peterson's web pages. He is the world's leading cat endochrinologist. He has a very nice blog for cat owners and a different, technical, blog for vets. And his pages on hyper-T are very informative.

Have a good Friday. Checkers: eat your fuds!

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Stu was started on 5 mgs of methimazole by his vet and it seemed to be way too much. Everyone here on the Board cautioned about too high a starting dose. I did cut him back, but probably by too much (there was so much going on then that I wasn't thinking straight). Perhaps talk to your vet again about the dose.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245

Nice sunny yellow , but on new meds they are nice and safe. Paws crossed this will help w/ the appy issues too.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245

Hey Barb,
I'm sending you and Checkers BIG.." do well with these meds" vines and prayers.
Hey Checkers sweetie... not so picky with the fuds,ok? everything can't taste like a pill pocket.. munch munch munch...
hugs to you and scritches to Checkers.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245

Hi Barb - I am so sorry I have missed you the past couple of days, and all that has gone on with Checks. Wow... I send mega healing be well vines his way. It is never easy to deal with older kitties, or ones that have multiple health issues. Been there... udnertsand what you are going though. It is wonderful that Checks took his meds. I so hope that continues!! I too would love to be able to check at home on these meds - see how they are working... Good luck with everything!

It looks like a nice even go with the flow day for Checkers. Surf well buddy!
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245

Checkers had been yellow, up until +8. which was pink. He had eaten hamburger meat, which I was suspicious about before, but dismissed, 'cause it's all protein.
Maybe it's that time of day, to worry mama.

For anybody with hyperT cat..how do I know if the dose is too high?
Guess it's time to check those websites.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245 +8/327

I'm taking 5mg of Methimazole, and it's noticeably affecting my appetite. Not sure what a good dose is for a kitty, but I hope you're able to figure it out soon. No more stinky pinky, please, Checkers!
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245 +8/327

Wow Courtney, the same dose for a kitty and human?

I need to learn a whole lot, before questioning my vet about something I read on the internet :lol:
My vets are very well aware of what this support group means to me, so he won't be surprised, though.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers amps 253 +2/274 +4/245 +8/327

Hi Barb, you've been going thru a lot with Checkers lately. Sending lots of good vines for the meds to work and learn the right dose. Lots of good Beans feedback here. Gosh I don't know too much about Hyper T, Barb but know you will handle it all well when it comes to Checkers.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Oh good Lord, I took civvies off kibble, and now let Checkers get Tux's normal food. Don't know the carb, but it's not low..

Just smack me now, and get it over with. DUH!
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

I hope Checkers recovers quickly from the higher carb food. Barb I looked but can't find any notes from the vet telling me how to tell if the Methimazole is too high of a dose. I can't remember what the vet told me. I hope you can find the information online somewhere.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Thanks Carla.
I've been reading too much. I'm so scared that I won't do this right.
I joined the Yahoo Group, but haven't gotten to it yet.
And now I have to sit and wait for his glucose to come down, when I was already wondering if I should raise his dose tomorrow.
I've never felt so alone. I can't stop crying.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Hey Barb, breathe, try to stop the tears, but I know how you feel when they go high on higher carb foods, he'll come down, just takes a bit. I don't know anything about Hyper T but I'm sure someone will be along with good ideas. You're doing great! Don't get discouraged this dance is hard and lots of little things play into it. Keep your chin up - sending healing vines and calming vines. You'll be ok!

Jo
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Hi again, Barb,

Please don't stress about this. It is just something you have to find out. I went back over Stu's old condos and found the one where all the very knowledgeable people with regard to Hyper T chimed in about dose of Methimizole (Tapazole is the brand name). They all recommend starting low and gradually increasing until you reach the therapeutic dose. Apparently it is very hard on the kidneys to do otherwise. Here is the URL to Stu's condo of August 13th 2010. Linda (Bear Man), Cassandra (Sasha), Ele (Blackie), and others gave me great advice. Keep in mind that Stu had also been diagnosed with CKD (Chronic Kidney Disease=CRF)

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22282&hilit=Stu

I hope this condo will be of some help. In looking over it, I agree that your present dose of 5 mg is way too much.

Have a good evening and try not to worry. Checkers will be fine.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

(((Barb)))....I know it's scary, especially since we're so used to being able to test for BGs, and we can't do that for the thyroid stuff. You're doing great!!!

Personally, my vet felt that a BID dose was much better for kitties, again because they metabolize things much faster than humans, and a BID dose kept things much more stable. So, we dosed Mario twice a day, in the same time frame as Trix's shots. And, when we took Mario to the vetty for BW, the vet liked to see him at his "+6", since that was mid-cycle for his meds.

I have to admit that I did join the Yahoo group, but wasn't active at all, partly because that format is so hard to follow, partly because without the vetty's BW we couldn't do anythin any way, partly because he was diagnosed the same time Trix was, and I was so totally overwhelmed. He was HyperT for 2 years when he crossed, and his thyroid had nothing to do with his passing.

I think I did mention it the other day that you'll want to have Check's BP checked, since HyperT and high BP can go hand in hand.

Again...you are doing great by Checkers!!!
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455 +2/364

Thank you Jo and Ella
First things first...negative ketones. My hand was shaking, sticking the strip under him. Took 3 tries, to hit the stream :roll:

Doc wants to recheck in one month. Is that too long to wait to talk to him about dose?
I'm not anxious to admit I trust people on the internet over him.

Heading off to look at Stu's condo. Thanks Ella
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Thank you Amy. I don't think Check's bp was checked this time.
Just looked at the bill. I wasn't charged for bp check, and they would not have skipped a chance to charge.
They did his bp last summer and were worried that Checks wouldn't let them......he's not very nice at vets. It was normal at that time. but so was his thyroid.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

He's not "not nice"...he's full of life and feistiness. Just how a kitty should be ;-) !

The BP thing is just something to keep in mind.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Barb, I found this article about the side effects of too high a dose of Methimazole/Tapazole. http://www.ehow.com/list_6745290_signs-feline-overdose-tapazole.html I hope this gives you an idea of what to look for with Checkers. Hang in there. Hyper-T can be managed along with Diabetes. Once you get Checkers on a good dose for him, things will get better.

ETA: I think the 5 mg. sounds too high for a starting dose too. Maybe you could call your vet and say you've been reading up on Hyperthyroidism and saw starting with a smaller dose may be easier for Checkers to deal with.
 
Re: 2/15 Checkers pmps 455

Hi Barb, sorry, can't help with the dosing question. I've missed the last couple days with Checkers and i'm so sorry you've had all these things on top of one another. I hope Checkers will be getting much better in a hurry. Dont worry, I am sure you can find your way through this for Checkers.
 
Thank goodness, his bg is coming down.
My head is swimming with hyperT info. Thank you all for great links.

I'm headed to bed and hope I don't have nightmares.
Today was worse than yesterday, as it all just sank in, that I have something new to contend with.

The sun will come out tomorrow :cool: .....for you guys out West. :lol:
 
((((Barb)))) It does just seem overwhelming at times. I'm sorry Checks and you are going through this. Thank goodness you are here and can get help from others. Stu's condo that Ella linked to is awesome. :-D Sweet dreams and hopefully things will look better in the morning.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top