Donna & Buddha
Active Member
Well, after last Sunday's bg plunge to 50 at +3 and +4, I cut back drastically on Buddha's insulin, going from 2u to 1u, bid. Big mistake. His bg was high, and he was saturating the kitty litter, an all around unhappy kitty. So by midweek, we were back to 2u. The last couple of days have seen yellow amps and I've decreased the dose by .1u and .2u. Buddha's been a happy cat the past few days and litter wetness seems back to normal.
Buddha was at 220 this morning, and I shot him with 1.8u. This morning from +3 to +4, his bg once again was in the upper 40s. I kept cool this time, fed him only his normal 1/2 more can of fancy feast. 1/2 hour later (+3.5) bg dropped from 49 to 46 and he ate another 1/2 can. At +4, he was at 91.
I don't understand why we have such an early and low nadir. Guess I should have cut back further to 1.4u or 1.6u this morning. Or should I wait for bg to go higher before I shoot the normal amount? Or do I feed a higher carb food at lower numbers and keep time of shot and amount of insulin constant?
If his bg is HI tonight is it safe to shoot 2.1u, which worked to lower it a couple of days ago? Or do bg's in the 40s require a dose decrease no matter the ps bg?
Buddha was at 220 this morning, and I shot him with 1.8u. This morning from +3 to +4, his bg once again was in the upper 40s. I kept cool this time, fed him only his normal 1/2 more can of fancy feast. 1/2 hour later (+3.5) bg dropped from 49 to 46 and he ate another 1/2 can. At +4, he was at 91.
I don't understand why we have such an early and low nadir. Guess I should have cut back further to 1.4u or 1.6u this morning. Or should I wait for bg to go higher before I shoot the normal amount? Or do I feed a higher carb food at lower numbers and keep time of shot and amount of insulin constant?
If his bg is HI tonight is it safe to shoot 2.1u, which worked to lower it a couple of days ago? Or do bg's in the 40s require a dose decrease no matter the ps bg?