2/15- Boots: AMPS 343; +2.25 417; +4.25 398; +6.25 389; +8 366; +10 381; PMPS 363; +2 299; +4 317; +5.75 302- Dosing advice needed pretty please!

Dessi

Member Since 2026
Hello,

New to this so hope I did the subject correctly. I'm just a bit concerned. Boots will be entrusted into the care of a competent yet inexperienced pet sitter for a couple of weeks. She will NOT be able to do a curve but I'm *hoping* can at least test every time. She *may* also have to give the dose early- one @7am & the other at 5:30-5:45pm ish. There may be no way around it.

My concern is that his numbers only seem to be increasing since starting glargine rather than decreasing. The 1st curve was taken the first day of starting insulin. Taking one today as it will be my last availability to do so for a while. His dose is .5 currently. Started lower than vet recommended 1unit as per suggested to get him used to a vacation dose.

Any help/observations/ recommendations for dose adjustments if necessary would be greatly appreciated 🙏🏽
 
Wanted to add! A few days ago I did change him strictly over to Friskies extra gravy chicken pate rather than the fancy feast that he was switched to around the time of his vet visit. He didn't seem to like FF & would only lick the gravy off. He does similarly with this but at least eats more of it. I think I saw on a list that it should actually be low carb even though it has gravy 😪
Screenshot_20260215-113324_Walmart.jpg
 
It seems the food you posted has 3% carbohydrates. Based on my experience with my diabetic cat (who's had it for three years), foods with sauces send his blood sugar through the roof, so I try to only give them to him when his blood sugar is low. I've tagged someone with more experience to see what they think.
 
It seems the food you posted has 3% carbohydrates. Based on my experience with my diabetic cat (who's had it for three years), foods with sauces send his blood sugar through the roof, so I try to only give them to him when his blood sugar is low. I've tagged someone with more experience to see what they think.
I've read that too.. but I feel like I read that because this doesn't have a particular gluten as the thickening agent for the gravy (I think) that it may still be low carb. Only thing is he kind of won't eat without the gravy on it 😕 sometimes I will sprinkle some of this on it (pictured) but it's expensive and I'd like him to get used to eating without it if possible
Screenshot_20260215-121507_Samsung Internet.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20260215-121510_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20260215-121510_Samsung Internet.jpg
    248.6 KB · Views: 13
What country are you from? I'm from Spain and they sell it here, so I doubt you can find it in your country. There's an Excel spreadsheet here in the forum files where they list foods according to their carbohydrate content and where to find them. Have you taken a look at that spreadsheet?
 
I'm not having any luck finding information on the Friskies Extra Gravy Paté With Chicken In Savory Gravy. I did find a thread from 2021 here with some people talking about it and how perhaps this is another one of those foods where the gravy isn't like the typical high-carb gravy foods.

Maybe you could reach out to Purina and see what they can tell you?
 
I was able to find the food on Chewy. Using the carb calculator, here is what came up.

Carbohydrates (as-fed): 2.5%
Carbohydrates (dry matter): 13.9%
% ME Protein (est.): 51.22%
% ME Fat (est.): 34.55%
% ME Carbs (est.): 14.23%
Calories per 100 g (est.): 62 kcal
Calories per ounce (est.): 17 kcal

Based on the dry matter, I’d say it’s MC.
 
What country are you from? I'm from Spain and they sell it here, so I doubt you can find it in your country. There's an Excel spreadsheet here in the forum files where they list foods according to their carbohydrate content and where to find them. Have you taken a look at that spreadsheet?
I think so! I'm also on the FB group so to be honest I can't remember whether it was on that site or this site or just online really. And I'm in the US. I will try to navigate to find the spreadsheet here
 
I'm not having any luck finding information on the Friskies Extra Gravy Paté With Chicken In Savory Gravy. I did find a thread from 2021 here with some people talking about it and how perhaps this is another one of those foods where the gravy isn't like the typical high-carb gravy foods.

Maybe you could reach out to Purina and see what they can tell you?
Thank you for checking, maybe so! And maybe this was the site I found that info then? 🤔 I can't remember, bur given the ingredients it seemed to make sense in my mind, although I can't claim to know much about any of it. Maybe will ask purina
 
I was able to find the food on Chewy. Using the carb calculator, here is what came up.

Carbohydrates (as-fed): 2.5%
Carbohydrates (dry matter): 13.9%
% ME Protein (est.): 51.22%
% ME Fat (est.): 34.55%
% ME Carbs (est.): 14.23%
Calories per 100 g (est.): 62 kcal
Calories per ounce (est.): 17 kcal

Based on the dry matter, I’d say it’s MC.
Oh really?? This is for the friskies?? OK that is high if so... and sorry, what is "MC", medium carb? Sorry lol still learning and thank you for checking
 
I'm in Spain, and I've found some of the food I need here. It was on that spreadsheet; take a look and see if you can find it in your country by searching on Google. Also, keep in mind that all cats have had food issues. We've always tried to adapt to them and tirelessly searched for low-carb food that they also like, which is quite difficult. But little by little, you'll learn to manage what your cat likes while also finding low-carb options. Be patient; I'm sure you'll find both soon enough.
 
I'm in Spain, and I've found some of the food I need here. It was on that spreadsheet; take a look and see if you can find it in your country by searching on Google. Also, keep in mind that all cats have had food issues. We've always tried to adapt to them and tirelessly searched for low-carb food that they also like, which is quite difficult. But little by little, you'll learn to manage what your cat likes while also finding low-carb options. Be patient; I'm sure you'll find both soon enough.
Thats comforting. Thank you very much 😌
 
The subject line of your post should also include your cat's name. The format is <date> <cat name> <blood sugars><any questions>.

Sorry I can't help with the food. You could reach out to the manufacturer to see if they have As-Fed or Dry Matter Basis numbers.

Regarding dosing, are you giving insulin at night? The spreadsheet shows a dose the night of 2/10, but none after that. The dose should be in the units column. If you skip or don't give a shot, please enter either "NS" for no shot, or "skip". That way we know you missed the shot instead of just forgetting to enter the data.

Can you regularly get a test before you go to bed at night, or at least 2-3 hours after the PM shot - if you are giving one. Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, so we need to see some night time data. A test 2-3 hours after the PM shot will be enough to tell us if he's going lower at night. If he is going lower at night, what you could be seeing is bouncing.

Lantus takes 5-7 days to initially build it's depot. That 5th day you are seeing higher numbers, could be because the depot is build and he's going lower at night.
 
Oh really?? This is for the friskies?? OK that is high if so... and sorry, what is "MC", medium carb? Sorry lol still learning and thank you for checking
This is the one I found, I think it’s the right one.

1771178591433.png

Here is the breakdown that I used in the calculator.
1771178659534.png

My apologies Yes, MC is medium carb.
 
You need to take into account what Wendy told you. It's very important to have more information about your cat to help you with the dosage. You have to keep very good track of the glucose readings, including the times you take the insulin; that's very important. You can look at spreadsheets from more experienced people to see how they do it during the cycle and understand how your cat reacts. I know starting is difficult; we've all been there. I've had my diabetic cat for three years, and I still need help because I'm a forgetful person, and I also have many problems in my life. Don't get overwhelmed. Read the forum's advice carefully; it will help you understand many things, and don't hesitate to ask anything. We're all here on the forum to help in any way we can. Hang in there!
 
Also, look at the dosing methods; there's TR or SLGS. You need to follow guidelines. Most people on the forum ignore the advice of veterinarians. You'll find much more information here. I see your spreadsheet, and you're only administering one dose of amps at night. Aren't you giving your cat insulin? Keep in mind that Lantus is an insulin that lasts about 12 hours. If you only administer one dose in the morning, the insulin reservoir will never be full. You should seek advice from the people on the forum about insulin administration and take many notes. Keep a notebook just for advice about your cat; it will be useful during the period of diabetes for future reference.
 
Also, look at the dosing methods; there's TR or SLGS. You need to follow guidelines. Most people on the forum ignore the advice of veterinarians. You'll find much more information here. I see your spreadsheet, and you're only administering one dose of amps at night. Aren't you giving your cat insulin? Keep in mind that Lantus is an insulin that lasts about 12 hours. If you only administer one dose in the morning, the insulin reservoir will never be full. You should seek advice from the people on the forum about insulin administration and take many notes. Keep a notebook just for advice about your cat; it will be useful during the period of diabetes for future reference.
Oh no I do it in the morning too! It's not showing up on the chart? I thought I tracked it right... I do .5 at about 6:30am & .5 at about 6:30 pm
 
You need to take into account what Wendy told you. It's very important to have more information about your cat to help you with the dosage. You have to keep very good track of the glucose readings, including the times you take the insulin; that's very important. You can look at spreadsheets from more experienced people to see how they do it during the cycle and understand how your cat reacts. I know starting is difficult; we've all been there. I've had my diabetic cat for three years, and I still need help because I'm a forgetful person, and I also have many problems in my life. Don't get overwhelmed. Read the forum's advice carefully; it will help you understand many things, and don't hesitate to ask anything. We're all here on the forum to help in any way we can. Hang in there!
Thank you very much 😊
 
The PMP dosage numbers aren't showing up on your spreadsheet. You also need to know which method you'll be using with your cat. Look at the photo; there are two methods: SGLS or TR. We need more data on how it works for him during the day and night. Your cat's glucose is very high, and besides food, we need to know if the dosage needs to be increased based on more collected data.
 
The subject line of your post should also include your cat's name. The format is <date> <cat name> <blood sugars><any questions>.

Sorry I can't help with the food. You could reach out to the manufacturer to see if they have As-Fed or Dry Matter Basis numbers.

Regarding dosing, are you giving insulin at night? The spreadsheet shows a dose the night of 2/10, but none after that. The dose should be in the units column. If you skip or don't give a shot, please enter either "NS" for no shot, or "skip". That way we know you missed the shot instead of just forgetting to enter the data.

Can you regularly get a test before you go to bed at night, or at least 2-3 hours after the PM shot - if you are giving one. Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, so we need to see some night time data. A test 2-3 hours after the PM shot will be enough to tell us if he's going lower at night. If he is going lower at night, what you could be seeing is bouncing.

Lantus takes 5-7 days to initially build it's depot. That 5th day you are seeing higher numbers, could be because the depot is build and he's going lower at night.
Ahh okay. Yes, I have been doing it in the evening as well! I must have missed the slot to add the numbers. I can check again at night for a couple of days until I leave. Will check tonight. Hopefully it's just a "bounce" like you said. I've read a little about that, will have to read more. But yes 0.5 6:30am & 0.5 6:30pm is his current schedule which will unfortunately change slightly when the pet sitter takes over for a couple weeks. Thank you so much!
 
The PMP dosage numbers aren't showing up on your spreadsheet. You also need to know which method you'll be using with your cat. Look at the photo; there are two methods: SGLS or TR. We need more data on how it works for him during the day and night. Your cat's glucose is very high, and besides food, we need to know if the dosage needs to be increased based on more collected data.
Ok just added the PM dosage. I've only done 1 curve thus far the day we started insulin. I'm doing one today before I leave him in the care of a pet sitter for around 2 weeks who will not be able to do a curve. This evening I should be able to report more data to show nighttime responses, and perhaps for a few more days before I leave
 
This is the one I found, I think it’s the right one.

View attachment 76950
Here is the breakdown that I used in the calculator.
View attachment 76951
My apologies Yes, MC is medium carb.
Hey there, I just noticed that this is just a tad different from what I bought- mine is extra gravy but the extra gravy pate! I'll attach the picture & info from Chewy- wonder if that makes a difference??
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20260215-144436_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20260215-144436_Samsung Internet.jpg
    267.1 KB · Views: 19
  • Screenshot_20260215-144428_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20260215-144428_Samsung Internet.jpg
    227.5 KB · Views: 16
Here’s what the calculator spit out with the guaranteed analysis you provided. Much better!!! 😁

Carbohydrates (as-fed): 0.5%
Carbohydrates (dry matter): 2.8%
% ME Protein (est.): 38.75%
% ME Fat (est.): 58.82%
% ME Carbs (est.): 2.42%
Calories per 100 g (est.): 72 kcal
Calories per ounce (est.): 20 kcal
 
Here’s what the calculator spit out with the guaranteed analysis you provided. Much better!!! 😁

Carbohydrates (as-fed): 0.5%
Carbohydrates (dry matter): 2.8%
% ME Protein (est.): 38.75%
% ME Fat (est.): 58.82%
% ME Carbs (est.): 2.42%
Calories per 100 g (est.): 72 kcal
Calories per ounce (est.): 20 kcal
Oh thank you SO so much! Man cus I wasn't gonna be able to return all of those to Amazon lol. Thank you so much for doing that for me!
 
Back
Top