2/15 Akane PMPS 215, +1.5 264, +7.5 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

dosgatos

Member Since 2010
Good morning!

Yesterday

He did not drop much but did not go up to red either. I will be home today.

Yesterday he purred a lot! When I dosed him AM, I got this beautiful, deep, double sound purr.. double I mean purr from around his throat and from his back (or chest). How happy I was to hear it before leaving for work! I am such an anxious bean but yesterday I was free from worry during work because of that purr.. And in the evening we had about 2 inches (5cm) of snow. It started to melt quite soon and snow on the roof started to fall down with a thud. I opened the window because he asked and he stayed there for an hour trying to catch that moment and listened carefully to unusual sounds in neighborhood. He was so alert and quick in his movement.

He loves watching leaves falling, too, in autumn. There is a tree that has big leaves and he knows the season and if the time is nearing, he comes to the window often to see if the leaves have already started to fall this year. And if it begins to fall, he would stay by the window and watch it forever.. I was so happy to see him like that again last night. I stayed there with him and listened to the sounds together. He kept purring last night, too.

I hope he likes the new dose and hope I could see some better change in numbers soon..
 
Re: 2/15 Akane AMPS 313, +3.5 265

Nice whole cat report! It's nice to hear that Akane is purring and showing interest in the activity outside! It was warmer here today and I opened the windows for a while, Mr Tinkles enjoyed the window time too.

I hope you will see some better numbers from the dose increase soon. He's heading in the right direction this morning!
 
Re: 2/15 Akane AMPS 313, +3.5 265

that's great that he is purring so much. When Lucy was so sick, her purring was one of the first signs that she was feeling better. I know how good it must make you feel. Good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 2/15 Akane AMPS 313, +3.5 265, +6.5 227

What a beautiful description of Akane. It read like poetry. It sounds like getting Akane's numbers to be flatter is allowing him to feel better. No doubt, those big swings just didn't feel goo.
 
Re: 2/15 Akane AMPS 313, +3.5 265, +6.5 227

Thank you everyone for stopping by! He still seems to be busy watching outside today and seeing him not sleeping all day makes me feel happy, too. I love that flatter curve in yellow!

I have been trying to learn by reading some kitties' threads with low numbers and also reading information about how to handle low numbers. As we do not have the same food you have in US (and we do not have many choices..), I would like to learn a bit more about what kind of food is appropriate for the situation so that I can look for a suitable canned. I have honey and liquid glucose for emergency.

High carb means canned food that contains over 15% carb AND gravy? Is it better to have gravy in it? I have bought ready-made raw with 20% carb. Is it too much carb? I have also got a canned food that has 13% carb, but with rice. Is it OK?

I have got time today and am relaxed (it has been a long time since I felt like this..), I am doing a bit of study.
 
Re: 2/15 Akane +11.5 221, PMPS 215

I dosed him full without confirming he is rising..

He woke up after I tested at +11.5 and came to eat grasses and his meow sounded uncomfortable. (He is still complaining ..) I just found out that he vomited? spitted? tiny amount of liquid where he was sleeping. He has been eating well and fine all day. I hope it was OK I gave the full dose... nailbite_smile

ETA
He has eaten 2 tbs of food and went to bed. Stopped complaining.
 
Re: 2/15 Akane AMPS 313, +11.5 221, PMPS 215

Looks like you did ok, what time is it? lol
I don't see any checks for the evening cycle, but maybe you haven't entered them yet. Will check back later today.

As for the carbs and gravy, gravy would be best and quicker, honey(karo) is much more quicker, or quickest, ~O) oh my I can't seem to write well.
I'm not too sure about raw with 20% carb,...maybe others can help with that, post that again if you want...... do they sell any cat food in pouches over there? Often times, those are in a gravy mix.

Hope your Tuesday goes well! Or maybe it's wednesday already for you :lol:
 
Re: 2/15 Akane AMPS 313, +11.5 221, PMPS 215

:lol: Thanks. Yes, we have pouches but I have not tried them. I will check tomorrow if I can find a good one. What's are in gravy?

It is 20:05 and I just tested him +1.5 and it rose to 264.

So 20% will be too high? Low carb is below 10%, is it?
 
Re: 2/15 Akane +11.5 221, PMPS 215, +1.5 264

What a great report on akane ... I love hearing about his purr .. he sounds pretty happy that's for sure ..
 
Thanks :) Hope to report it again..
I may want to get a different meter.. He was 339 at +7.5 but a min later retested and read 299. I took 299.. This is not unusual and has happened often. Grr.. In any case, he does not seem to have dropped. Will I see him lower in 4 hours at pre shot..? :roll: I will go to work tomorrow... Thank you in advance for any input to my food questions above. will get back to sleep..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top