? 2/14 Simon PMPS 73, he's running low today - still shoot? I'm stalling!

KarrieK

Member Since 2019
Good evening, I know I am not complying with the TR dosing guidelines to the letter as it seems Simon continues to drop and I am just afraid of him going to low when I can't be here to manage the situation. Now this evening he's at 73 preshot, and acting kind of "off" (not dramatically - just like he's a little spooked or something). I'm stalling now and hoping for some advice. Thanks!
 
Hi Karrie
How is Simons appetite?
Have you retested again yet?
Looking at the SS it says 91 as the PMPS?? Am I looking in the wrong place?
Do you have plenty of hc food and strips and able to test the whole cycle if needed?

You have shot low numbers before. Is there any reason why you are concerned tonight about shoooting low?
 
Hi, thanks for your reply. His appetite has been so sporatic lately it's hard even to describe. I just retested and he was the same so I shot him. I do have plenty of HC food and strips, and will be able to test and monitor him often throughout the cycle (I have to work tomorrow but I have learned to function on little sleep). Guess I was concerned about shooting low this evening because he's been acting a little "off" today. He's supposed to get his heart meds every 12 hours, and I give them to him in food, but he refused to eat that a little while ago as well. Ugh. Guess I'm just feeling a little down and frustrated this evening!
 
Hi, thanks for your reply. His appetite has been so sporatic lately it's hard even to describe. I just retested and he was the same so I shot him. I do have plenty of HC food and strips, and will be able to test and monitor him often throughout the cycle (I have to work tomorrow but I have learned to function on little sleep). Guess I was concerned about shooting low this evening because he's been acting a little "off" today. He's supposed to get his heart meds every 12 hours, and I give them to him in food, but he refused to eat that a little while ago as well. Ugh. Guess I'm just feeling a little down and frustrated this evening!
It is hard if they are not well or not eating.
I would get a +1 and a +2 to see how things are going and offer a small snack with each test.
If you can keep the SS up to date and also the subject line, that would be very helpful thanks

Was the preshot 91?
 
There is little that concerns me more than when my kitties don't eat. You would think I would be used to it having 2 seniors with multiple health issues - but I'm not. I definitely will get a +1 and + 2 (and probably a 3 and 4, etc) as I'm on guard now. Also stressed as he hasn't eaten the food with his BP medication in it.

Will keep the SS updated and his preshot was 86 so very close. Someone (on here) told me that if it's within 5 it's essentially the same. Should I have noted that?
 
I agree. I hate it when my cats won't eat.
I would write down all the numbers you got preshot. Just stack them in the PMPS column and the time.
Yes it's true that if the numbers are close, they are issentially the same.
I hope Simon eats for you.
 
Senior kitties sure know how to scare us, don’t they? Have you ever used gel capsules for the meds? It helped me a lot to make sure Max got his BP medication and I was able to put several things all into one. I’d give a treat of baby food after and if he wouldn’t eat then I’d chase it with a syringe of water. He seemed to eat Gerbers 2nds ham when he wouldn’t eat his food. I had a long list of meds like you do so I get it. I hope he eats for you tonight.
 
Oh they sure do! (know how to scare us). He did eat most of his heart meds a little while ago, as I topped the existing mixture with some of the new Fancy Feast savory centers stuff. That was recommended as a good low carb/low phosphorus one and thankfully he seems to like it. So far.

I haven't tried gel caps with him yet. Problem is, one of his heart meds is a huge capsule! He only gets half of it, but still - it's the size of a human vitamin. Guess I may end up having to crush it, mix with water and syringe. Thanks for the tip on the Gerbers food, I appreciate all the help I can get when it comes to masking pills. He used to take them just fine with Hills a/d....until a couple of days ago.
 
Yes, Vetmedin pills aren’t huge. I only gave a few before I lost Max and I hated how big they are. Couldn’t gel cap them. Do you think he’s nauseous? Have you tried Cerenia or ondansetron?
 
Yes, Vetmedin pills aren’t huge. I only gave a few before I lost Max and I hated how big they are. Couldn’t gel cap them. Do you think he’s nauseous? Have you tried Cerenia or ondansetron?
I have been wondering if he is nauseous as the past few days his appetite is greatly diminished. I do have Cerenia but it's a couple of years old. Thankfully haven't needed it much. It's so wierd, though, as sometimes he approaches his plate with gusto and starts....and then walks away after a few nibbles. Another concern I have is that his teeth are bothering him. It's been a while since he's had a dental. Between his diabetes, heart issues and CKD I doubt whether our vet would consider putting him under for a dental. But I intend to ask.....
 
If he’s approaching the food then walks away that sounds like nausea and cats won’t eat when nauseated. The other thing it could be is pain from his teeth. I would ask for some fresh cerenia and ondansetron ( both antinausea meds and can be given together as they work in different pathways.) And get his teeth checked. Eating with bad teeth is no fun.
 
It does sound like nausea. With heart disease and CKD I doubt he’s a candidate for anesthesia. Has he ever had pancreatitis? Not that I wish anything else to be wrong but it’s pretty common with CKD and diabetes. It caused Max to become diabetic. He became inappetent and listless when he had episodes and nausea medication helped.
 
It does sound like nausea. With heart disease and CKD I doubt he’s a candidate for anesthesia. Has he ever had pancreatitis? Not that I wish anything else to be wrong but it’s pretty common with CKD and diabetes. It caused Max to become diabetic. He became inappetent and listless when he had episodes and nausea medication helped.

Our vet lead us to believe that a dental would be too much of a risk with his other issues. I'll talk to her about it again, but I understand they need to be cautious with that. It's so discouraging. He ate a little while ago, better, and I did drizzle his food with extra water to make it soupy. That may be the way we have to go from now on.
 
If he’s approaching the food then walks away that sounds like nausea and cats won’t eat when nauseated. The other thing it could be is pain from his teeth. I would ask for some fresh cerenia and ondansetron ( both antinausea meds and can be given together as they work in different pathways.) And get his teeth checked. Eating with bad teeth is no fun.
Thank you. I do need to freshen the meds I have in my supply basket. Thankfully I have not needed cerenia much lately. I have given slippery elm for nausea, which is effective, and I like that it's gentle. Also, neither of my cats mind the taste (I've taken it myself on occasion) but it has to be given at least 2 hours apart from other meds so sometimes it doesn't work. I do plan on asking our vet about the dental again, as I want him to be comfortable as possible.
 
Back
Top