2/14 Mickey amps 297 +8 295 pmps 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
Happy Valentine's Day!!
I am starting to move shot 1/2 back for the next 4 days to accomodate my dayshift 6a-2p shot time 5:30 a/pm I am now on 10p-6a for 3 more days...oh hum...lol
I am not getting excited yet but, I think this is the best #wise since June 2010. I will not be doing + until I wake up this afternoon.
 
Re: 2/14 Mickey amps 297

What bright sunny colors to see on Mickey's spreadsheet, Peggy. It looks like he's taken quite nicely to the Levemir. He's not bouncing much, and he's already settled into a yellow PS.

Given your swing shifts, maybe you can note your shot times and work times in the last column on your SS. :smile:
 
Re: 2/14 Mickey amps 297

Looks good, Peggy. The settling process on lev is nice and slow - don't want to rush the process especially with your changing shot times and changing schedule.

One adage to keep in mind as you make changes is to remember that:
Shooting early = a dose increase
Shooting late = a dose decrease

remembering this will help when you see unexpected numbers after making a time change - and also is an important factor when you are moving the shot earlier. Once you get him to a good working dose, it will probably be a good idea to reduce it slightly when moving earlier. The amount of decrease will depend on his dose and how much you move the time.

Make sense?

Moving later is a slightly different process. You can't just shot a bigger dose later. Vicky and I are working on a plan for you - not sure if she posted it on your other thread or not. I didn't see it if she did.

I certainly don't envy you your working schedule or having to try any regulate a diabetic cat on insulin with a changing schedule, but we are hear to help you sort it out.
 
Re: 2/14 Mickey amps 297 +8 295

Thank you all.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie,
I don't totally understand this yet, but I am getting it. I think.

"One adage to keep in mind as you make changes is to remember that:
Shooting early = a dose increase
Shooting late = a dose decrease
So, bumping back a half hour doesn't help much? My thought was to bump it back 30 mins each day until I get to 5:30 am/pm on dayshift Feb20-25th 6a-2p here comes the problem I'm off on the 26th and start 2p-10p on 27th where I need the shot time to be between 10:30 and 11:00a/pm. So this is when I want to increase/decrease? Sorry.

Venita, I added shot times on my ss. :smile:
 
I am so sorry Peggy, I completely forgot about posting the schedule yesterday that Sheila and I agreed on. I blame the weather! 5 days ago it was below zero, yesterday it was 45!

The thing is that moving shot times by a half hour every day probably won't work. There is certainly no harm in trying that though, I just want you to be prepared for that. It may work well, you really don't know if you don't try. Every cat is different. I based this schedule on what I would do if I had to do this for Gandalf's shots. Mickey may be completely different. You will eventually figure out what works best for him, but please look this over to see if you want to use this as Plan B at some point.

Starting with 1st shift 6AM to 2PM.
Shots would be 5AM/5PM for days 1 through 5
Day off - split doses at 5AM and 8AM/8PM and 11PM (a split dose is half the regular dose)
Shots would then be 11AM/11PM for days 7 through 11
Day 12, day off, shots 11AM/reduced dose 11PM
Day 13 reduced dose 9AM/regular dose 9PM depending on BG, reduce again if downward trend.
Day 14 through Day 17 9AM/9PM
Day 18, day off, 9AM/reduced dose 9PM
Day 19 reduced dose 7AM/reduced dose 7 PM (don't reduce it again, just stick with same reduced dose)
Day 20 reduced dose 5AM/reduced dose 5PM
Day 21 start all over at 5AM reduced dose is necessary/5PM maintain regular dose, but again go by trend.

The reduced doses would be reduced by about 15%. That is so you don't create too much overlap. Even by moving shot times back by 1/2 hour every cycle you could possibly create too much overlap if the dose is not reduced. That's my main concern.

Some other thoughts from discussion: Essentially by reducing the dose you're preventing the shed from overspilling but to compensate during days 18, 19 & 20 you should use reduced dose each cycle during that period as you're moving your shot time back by a total of 4 hours within 3 cycles so that's shooting 2 +10's, which I try to avoid more than 1 +10 in 3 cycles. Sheila suggested +11 on both day 20 cycles but that's 2 +11's as opposed to 1 +10 and one +12. Probably 6 of one half dozen of the other at that point. I try to maintain as many +12 cycles as possible.

You probably should determine a cut off preshot BG where you could give 1/2 the dose if he's below 150 or 200, for example.

Does this make any sense at all? If it's tomorrow during the day when you see this, maybe someone else can try to help as I will be at work.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Starting with 1st shift 6AM to 2PM.
Shots would be 5AM/5PM for days 1 through 5
Day off - split doses at 5AM and 8AM/8PM and 11PM (a split dose is half the regular dose) <-- moves shot later
Shots would then be 11AM/11PM for days 7 through 11
Day 12, day off, shots 11AM/reduced dose 11PM
Day 13 reduced dose 9AM/regular dose 9PM depending on BG, reduce again if downward trend. <-- moves shot earlier
Day 14 through Day 17 9AM/9PM
Day 18, day off, 9AM/reduced dose 9PM
Day 19 reduced dose 7AM/reduced dose 7 PM (don't reduce it again, just stick with same reduced dose) <-- moves earlier again
Day 20 reduced dose 5AM/reduced dose 5PM <-- still moving earlier
Day 21 start all over at 5AM reduced dose is necessary/5PM maintain regular dose, but again go by trend.
Just trying to clarify a bit (with bold above). The less you move it the better, but you have a huge jump to make from the 9a/9p back to 5a/5p to start the whole thing over. That is why Vicky has it done over two days, but I am wondering if that works for your schedule?

Ask questions! I know it's confusing.
 
Sheila and Vicky

WOW, that is sooo impressive!

And confusing, the split dose I get. Cut it in half.

The reduced dose-"The reduced doses would be reduced by about 15%" 0.50- 15% I get 0.075?? I looked on the photos in the sticky. I see .1 .2,etc -I am confused here - I am sorry it is 4:00am. :oops:

Tonight I am on day 15/16 etc. That takes me from 6a-2p the one day off I give 4 shots at half dose

Ok, so I am only confused by what the reduced does is. :mrgreen:

Nice work ladies!! And thank you so much :mrgreen:
I would have never thought to split doses x4 a day..
 
Peggy- I'm happy that you and Mickey made the switch to levemir. I hope your numbers continue to improve. It's also great that there are helpers here to help you figure out how to change your shooting schedule with your work schedule. I have no advice for you as I'm a newbie to lev just like you are, but I've got my fingers crossed for you. And Charlie has his paws crossed for Mickey!

Claudia
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top