2/14 Leo PMPS 372, +4 295 & vet report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:

Happy Valentines Day LL!

Oh Leo 432?!?! Really??? Bouncing off of 140? That's not even that low!

We had a good test, shoot and feed this morning and breffis was consumed with much gusto :-D I was really humming and hawing about taking Leo in to the vetty today, worried that it'll stress him (and me) out too much. I thought maybe Leo will let me collect a pee sample to take in to the vet. I washed out a little tupperware container and bleached it out and put him in the lb and VOILA! he peed in the container for me!!!!! :-D :-D :lol: Now i just need to convince Dr. John that its a good sample! Leo your mama is so clever and very pleased with herself.

Wish us good luck at the vetty, we'll be there at Leo's +5 or so, will update when we get home.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432

Oh Leo! Mamabean is going to have to tow you to vetty kite style! Good luck. I hope the vet appreciates your urine collecting abilitiy.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432

Generally, you want a sample that the vet collects via cytocentesis since it's a sterile means of collection. Even with cleaning the container, there's still a lot of sources for contamination and a false positive culture. (Sorry!)

And what's up with that red?
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432

Dear Leo, please change out of your red Valentine's suit into a more appropriate yellow or blue one. You are stressing your mama bean out! She has begun to package up your pee in tupperware containers. Thank you. Your Auntie Melissa

Hope the vetty visit goes well! Sounds like there has got to be some medical reason that his BG's are so high. I have tried the tupperware trick and the vet said he needed a sample via cytocentesis to make sure there was no contamination. Sorry!!! :YMHUG: Good vetty vines coming your way for both of you.

Have a wonderful Valentine's day Tracy & Leo!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432

:shock: Leo? Seriously? Red? Come on down there - the other floors are much more fun! I hope he comes down soon for you Tracy. Right Leo? It will make your mama very happy. :-D

Too fun on the pee sample. I can't believe he actually peed in the container. Way to go Leo. Anything to avoid the vetty, eh leo?

Enjoy your day Tracy. I hope Leo finds the lower floors soon.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432

Leo, we want you to have a good visit to the vettybean today. Be nice to him. When you get home your mamabean will have some treats for you.

Hi Tracy, We hope all will go well today and that Dr. John will be able to give you a reason why Leo's bgs are acting the way they have been. I guess to be sure that all is right with his urinary tract you will have to have the cystocentesis. (But you got good practice this morning in collecting a "free catch"!)

Check back with you later,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432

Tracy, good luck to Leo and you at the Vetty. Leo, no swatting the Vet, okay. Your Bean will give you a nice treat if you promise no swatting. I hope all goes well, Tracy. I know how nervous and scared they get when out comes the carrier. Happy Valentine's day.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286

Whew! Leo bypassed red and pink and went straight to yellow :-D

The receptionist just phoned and there was an emergency and Dr. John will see us at 2 this afternoon instead. I did speak to him and told him about the pee sample i collected this morning *****ahem, still pretty happy with myself **** :lol: He said "oh, good job! did you put it in the fridge?" Well of course i did! So he told me "bring the pee and the cat too this afternoon and we'll go from there". :lol:

I'm sure Leo is pretty disappointed we won't be going to the vet until this afternoon. Yeah right huh? :lol:

Leo read your memo Melissa, he's changed out of his valentines day suit. And this was just a one time pee collection!!!!! It's not some new crazy cat lady thing i've started. :lol: :lol: :lol: I really did LOL when i read your post.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286

Hi guys .. oh leo .. what to say about this morning's number?! Glad you came straight down to the yellow floor and hope you come down even more .. good luck at the vetty's today .. hope you get answers as to why his numbers are so high .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286

LOL....I don't blame you for being proud of that pee sample - beautiful teamwork going over there :lol: !!! Looks like Leo wasn't thrilled about his bounce, either - nice clearing, but no bouncing off that big drop, either, Leo!!!

Good luck with the vetty visit...we're thinking of you!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

We're back from the vetty! Good news.....nothing is wrong with Leo, no signs of a UTI or any kind of infection!!! Leo slapped the vet tech and Dr. John, they took him away into the next room for the cysto and i can hear him meowing normally, then i hear this god-awful meow and i think "that can't be my cat" yep, sure enough it was. They said he didn't mind the needle at all, it was when they flipped him onto his back that made him angry.

Dr. John says considering how big Leo is, 4.00u dose is nothing to worry about. He says that a kitty's BG equilibrium can be thrown out of balance at any time and is quite normal. He said the bad thing about lantus is, is a long-lasting insulin and can take days for a kitty to work his way into a dose and build up a shed, the good thing about lantus is, its a long-lasting insulin. So, all in all, i'm happy all is well with my guy and Leo is happy to be home from the vetty.

Off to physio!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

Great vetty report and glad Leo is coming down. I'm just curious, though, because to do a C&S requires that a culture be grown and so results are not immediate....just so you know :-D :-D

Jill has said before that sometimes kitties just lose regulation for no known reason. So just follow the protocol back up until he gets a breakthrough again.

Nice that he's coming down!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

A bean diabetic at work has also warned me that Vyktor's numbers are going to go haywire sometimes for no apparent reason. I guess sometimes we just have to hang on for the ride. Glad Leo got a clean bill of health, but I thought those urine samples had to be cultured over a few days too???
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

Good news from the vet and Leo is coming down from his morning high. Hooray for Leo!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

Yay for a good Vetty report for Leo. Oh my, Leo, I guess that little talk we had about no slapping didn't work. :lol: No sweat as you can still have a treat. :-D Tracy, I bet you are relieved.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

Wonderful vetty report!!! Tarragon's numbers have done the same thing a couple of times and up we go in dose. He reaches that magic dose, pancrease kicks back in and down we go. Whiplash. Glad you took Leo in and can focus on dose now.

Hope physio went great and you have a snugly night with your big valentine.

Hey Leo! You gotz the vetty smell??? I'll be over and help you get rid of it. K? See you soon! - Tarragon
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

Glad to hear the vet visit went well and the vet and tech weren't too badly beaten up by Leo. Happy Valentines day night!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo AMPS 432, +3.5 286, +6 214 & vet report

That vet tech...boy oh boy if Leo's looks could kill she would have been dead :lol:

They did take him in the back for the needle into the bladder (that is a cysto...no?) and ran a urinalysis, Dr. John said nothing about running a culture, he came back in 15 minutes later and told me there was no bacteria in Leo's urine and no signs of infection, no high white blood cell count, he did have glucose in his urine which didn't really come as a surprise. That is what he told me, pretty much word for word.

My valentine is hungry and was happy to see me back from physio.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

Sigh, i guess i can chalk this 372 to vetty stress, he was yellow when we left and headed down to blues.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

The purpose of doing a cysto is usually to do a c&s...culture and sensitivity. Yes...they can look and see if there is any bacteria but the best way to do it is to grow the culture. Perhaps he felt that since he looked at it there and there did not appear to be any bacteria, that it would save some $$ for you. That's a good vet who cares about your $$.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

Good report from Leo!

One time, I was in the waiting room at the vets waiting for them to take a sample from Tom. I heard this blood curdling scream and I KNEW it was him. It was really busy that day and the waiting room suddenly got totally silent. Even the dogs stopped and got this worried look on their faces. I said "that must be my Tom". It was. And then he peed on the vet tech :roll:
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

funny-pictures-when-cat-is-done-with-you-you-will-need-medical-attention.jpg
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

YA!! A good vetty report! all is well - that is good.

Leo - I think this calls for a party - you passed vetty!! and btw: good job slappin' them vetty people... I mean dude! A needle!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

Great news from the vet!

Last year, Mario let out one of those blood curling screams, too, while he was in the back getting a blood draw. Scared the you-know-what out of me. The vet tried to hide her reaction, but she was startled, too (she was busy examining Trix). Fortunately, it was just Mario being feisty...apparently he kicked over a bottle of alcohol, but so far he has not peed on anyone. More power to the kitties is all I can say...I just wish they wouldn't give us heart attacks at the same time :lol: !

Have a great night!!!
 
:lol: :lol: great kitty vs vetty stories! I especially love hearing Tom stories, for some reason hearing stories about him really warms my heart and always has.

I'm still mad about the vetty visit, they touched me and i didn't like it! :evil: They listened to my heart with dat thingy and tried petting me all nice but i knew!!! I mean who do they think they are?? I showed dat vet tech!!
 
Re: 2/14 Leo PMPS 372 & vet report

Good vetty report. What my vet told me is that they can tell if there is any bacteria in the urine with the in house test. If there is no bacteria the C&S is not needed. What the C&S does is identify the bacteria so the proper antibiotic can be prescribed. So you saved the cost of the extra test. Our vet did the same for us the last time we had Tess tested.

That vet tech is long gone now Leo, you can come down anytime! :lol:
 
Whew....I bet you and Leo are both glad that is over! Nice to see his numbers coming down too.

Paws crossed things keep moving in a better direction even more! :-D
 
aw, poor leo! what a traumatic day for the little guy. first mom's collecting pee in tupperware, then there's a trip to the vet and a NEEDLE in the tummy!

we're sending over the KTSS with some chicken soup and a lotta kitty tongues to wash off the vetty smells!

ps - glad he's ok! we love our leo. perhaps a mouse would make up for the day's traumas.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top