2/14 Jude | AMPS 333; +5 300; PMPS 104; +3 69; +5 72 πŸ€·πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ

Mary & Jude

Member Since 2024
yesterday's condo

I'm not sure what's going on with this high number. I'm trying to rule out the usual suspects: fur shot? FIC flare (started him on meds last night)? I did open the windows yesterday, and there were PEOPLE outside that frightened him--could it be that causing a flare? I also accidentally left the insulin vial out of the fridge for a couple of hours two days ago?? I wouldn't think that would be long enough to be an issue. πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

I'm going to try to capture a urine specimen this weekend in case this persists, and I'll get him to the vet office on Monday.

Have a happy Valentine's Day, everyone! ❀️ I hope your sugar babies are just the right amount of sweet today!!

Update: with the drop to 300 at +5, I'm pretty sure he did not have a furshot last night (which is when his numbers began to climb).
He's sleepy from the meds and eating; since he shares a box with Hazel, I'm not absolutely sure, but I'm pretty sure he's pooping; I'm trying to keep an eye on the urination to make sure that he's going. Otherwise, he seems fine. But Jude is the most stoic cat I've ever had--he is rarely symptomatic (outside of bg numbers going up), and when he is, he's quite sick.
 
Last edited:
yesterday's condo

I'm not sure what's going on with this high number. I'm trying to rule out the usual suspects: fur shot? FIC flare (started him on meds last night)? I did open the windows yesterday, and there were PEOPLE outside that frightened him--could it be that causing a flare? I also accidentally left the insulin vial out for a couple of hours two days ago?? I wouldn't think that would be long enough to be an issue. πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

I'm going to try to capture a urine specimen this weekend in case this persists, and I'll get him to the vet office on Monday.

Have a happy Valentine's Day, everyone! ❀️ I hope your sugar babies are just the right amount of sweet today!!
I hope it’s nothing that’s a big deal Mary. You’re on top of all of the usual suspect possibilities.

I hope sweet Jude comes back down quickly πŸˆβ€οΈβ€πŸ©ΉπŸ’•
Wishing you and your gang lots of sweet Valentines wishes πŸ’“β€οΈπŸ’•πŸˆβ€β¬›πŸˆπŸ˜»
 
I hope it's nothing serious. The two hours the vial was out of the refrigerator shouldn't be a reason for that number. Keep a close eye on it and let us know how it goes. 😘
 
Hi Mary and kitties
Hopefully it's just a small hiccup. You know him best and you're watching him so closely. I have faith he'll be fine in few days amd back to normal. You're such a great mama to Jude and all your kitties.
Happy caturday and sweet Valentine's
πŸ˜»πŸ«β€οΈπŸˆπŸˆπŸˆβ€β¬›πŸˆβ€β¬›πŸˆβ€β¬›πŸ€—πŸ₯°πŸ’
 
yesterday's condo

I'm not sure what's going on with this high number. I'm trying to rule out the usual suspects: fur shot? FIC flare (started him on meds last night)? I did open the windows yesterday, and there were PEOPLE outside that frightened him--could it be that causing a flare? I also accidentally left the insulin vial out of the fridge for a couple of hours two days ago?? I wouldn't think that would be long enough to be an issue. πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

I'm going to try to capture a urine specimen this weekend in case this persists, and I'll get him to the vet office on Monday.

Have a happy Valentine's Day, everyone! ❀️ I hope your sugar babies are just the right amount of sweet today!!
Mary, I’m sorry you’re seeing that higher number, I know how frustrating that can feel. πŸ’› It really could be any of those β€œusual suspects,” and sometimes they just like to keep us guessing!!!
Hopefully this is just a temporary bump and he’ll slide back down to better numbers soon. Sending calming vibes your way! πŸ’•

Happy Valentine’s Day to you too, may our sugar babies be sweet and steady today! ❀️
 
I had to stop in when I saw those non-Jude typical numbers. I'd add "went somewhere low between AMPS and +5 yesterday" to the list of possibilities. You'd still smell Lantus on his fur if you did a fur shot.

Come on down Jude!
 
PMPS: 104 | I'm certainly happy with that number, but perplexed as to what is happening. Maybe it was a bounce, as Wendy suggested??? I captured a urine specimen this afternoon--it was fairly pink tinged, which suggests blood (can be present in both UTIs and FIC flares), but I'm certainly no expert--I have seen his urine much paler in the past. Also, this afternoon (and I think this morning too), he had some pudding-consistency poop--pretty forceful on exit, and we had a mess on his bottom to clean up. I've got him on a probiotic.
 
PMPS: 104 | I'm certainly happy with that number, but perplexed as to what is happening. Maybe it was a bounce, as Wendy suggested??? I captured a urine specimen this afternoon--it was fairly pink tinged, which suggests blood (can be present in both UTIs and FIC flares), but I'm certainly no expert--I have seen his urine much paler in the past. Also, this afternoon (and I think this morning too), he had some pudding-consistency poop--pretty forceful on exit, and we had a mess on his bottom to clean up. I've got him on a probiotic.
Oh sweet Jude, I hope he’s feeling ok. Sorry to hear about the loose poops and tinged pee.
Does the antibiotic help with the poops or do you use S. Boulardii to help with that?

Glad his BG came down Mary πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€
 
Oh sweet Jude, I hope he’s feeling ok. Sorry to hear about the loose poops and tinged pee.
Does the antibiotic help with the poops or do you use S. Boulardii to help with that?

Glad his BG came down Mary πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€
Thanks, Staci!! We aren't giving him an antibiotic yet. It's complicated. Jude has both FIC flares (not treated with antibiotics) and UTIs (treated with antibiotics). I never know which one we are dealing with unless/until I get a culture/sensitivity test ($400 each time). So, what I've been doing is giving him gaba and prazocin (anti-spasmodic for the bladder) when his numbers jump, assuming we are dealing with an FIC. If it's an FIC flare, then those drugs should eventually help him to feel more comfortable as he goes through the flare, and flares eventually end, and the numbers drop. Since the end of last year when he has had an increase in numbers (and when the culture/sensitivity showed zero bacteria), the gaba and prazocin have worked, which makes me assume that he has been having FIC flares these last few bg increases, and not a UTI. If/when the gaba and prazocin don't work, I'm assuming we are dealing with a UTI, so then I need to have the urine cultured, etc. I'm not sure what is happening right now to drive up his numbers. I want to go ahead and get the urine specimen ready in case the gaba and prazocin aren't what he needs--i.e., he has a UTI. Yes, I use s.boulardii for the loose poops--I have no idea why he is having loose poops. πŸ˜΅β€πŸ’«
 
Thanks, Staci!! We aren't giving him an antibiotic yet. It's complicated. Jude has both FIC flares (not treated with antibiotics) and UTIs (treated with antibiotics). I never know which one we are dealing with unless/until I get a culture/sensitivity test ($400 each time). So, what I've been doing is giving him gaba and prazocin (anti-spasmodic for the bladder) when his numbers jump, assuming we are dealing with an FIC. If it's an FIC flare, then those drugs should eventually help him to feel more comfortable as he goes through the flare, and flares eventually end, and the numbers drop. Since the end of last year when he has had an increase in numbers (and when the culture/sensitivity showed zero bacteria), the gaba and prazocin have worked, which makes me assume that he has been having FIC flares these last few bg increases, and not a UTI. If/when the gaba and prazocin don't work, I'm assuming we are dealing with a UTI, so then I need to have the urine cultured, etc. I'm not sure what is happening right now to drive up his numbers. I want to go ahead and get the urine specimen ready in case the gaba and prazocin aren't what he needs--i.e., he has a UTI. Yes, I use s.boulardii for the loose poops--I have no idea why he is having loose poops. πŸ˜΅β€πŸ’«
Got it. Sigh.
It’s so complicated and expensive πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
You do such a great job, Mary πŸ™
I’m glad your protocol works for Jude. Let’s hope he rides out the flare and returns to much better BG very soon β€οΈβ€πŸ©Ήβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ήβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ή
 
Happy Valentines day! 😻
Very relieving to see his numbers coming down! Hoping it continues and his poops firm up as well. They are such little puzzles all the time πŸ€—
 
Back
Top